We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colina da Lapa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Rio Arade Manor House(Estombar)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Hotels Riverside(Lagoa)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas(Lagoa)(Great Value!)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
244
156
26
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
156
26
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinebed apartmenthired a carself cateringpool areawater towersemi detached villasbedroomed villafree buslarge kitchenon site restaurantfridge freezertennis courtstop marksminutes walk awaylocal beachpatio doors
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2010

2 bedroom apartment turned out to be a semi detached villa, spacious, well equipped, clean and lovely!!!! We had to book in at last minute as our originally booked hotel was no good. The manager went out of his way to help us and find room for us at a time when everything was fully booked. The pool area was lovely, everything very clean, restaurant staff really great - really impressed. It is in quite a quiet area, so ideally you would need car, but hotel did put on activities ie water polo, football etc and did offer a minibus service to beach. I would really recommend this for families with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We have just returned from our fifth visit and will be returning for a sixth next year. All the usual good things to say about the complex and surrounding area. However this year, the restaurant/bar is lacking in atmosphere and service, so we created our own atmosphere having met up with friends from last year. There are new proprietors at the bar who are not paticularly accomodating, turning the lights off at night and leaving you to fend for yourself in the dark; no last orders or "good nights" at all. The shop is not open now so you need to get the basics before you arrive as there is no way of buying them unless you take a walk to the small supermarket up the road. We have been informed that they will not have the lease next year so hopefully things will be better next year. Assume that you won't get clean towels as we only had them changed twice in 11 days which is not a problem because there is a washing machine in the apartments and washing dries very quickly. Don't forget to take a washing line and pegs!
Lots of good fun in the pool when Elsa turns up with her "...friendly games". Monday, Wednesday and Friday afternoons. If you have footballers who want to play football with her, take old trainers and socks as they get covered in green fibres from the pitch and it does not come off! The management are in the process of some repainting but it does not affect the holiday and the workmen are very discreet.
The park and ride in Carveiro is not available any more so you need to park at the road side. The hills are very steep so make sure that your handbrake is good in your car, ours wasn't!
We ate at "Ele and Ela" in Carveiro twice as it was so good. Try their Black pork. A meal for four consisting of two portions of bread and butter, one salmon starter, four main courses, four soft drinks, one bottle of water and two coffees came to 78 eur. It is expensive. Other good places, "Stone Steak" in Monte Carveiro, "California" in Carveiro, "Oasis" next to "Ele and Ela" do fabulous ribs. "O' Barril" in Ferragudo is really good and you can sit away from the square as it is up a quiet alley way.
Guia on the N125 towards Faro is a good place for a little shopping expedition.
Everyone knows about the mugs, pillows, mosquitos and loo rolls that I have written about but none of these have put us off returning again and again. The children love this complex so much and theother visitors are so friendly that it is an ideal holiday in a lovely country. We met new friends this year who have said that they will be returning after only three days. In fact most people who visit, return again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to the Algarve. The Colina da Lapa apartments are clean, well equipped (large kitchen with washing machine, microwave, kettle and toaster) and extremely quiet. The pool is lovely (clean with lots of sun loungers) and the beautiful grounds are well maintained. Some reviews have not rated the restaurant's food but we found it to be good and no more expensive than in the restaurants in Carvoeiro. We ate there on our first evening and returned again the next evening (as well as buying drinks and snacks when by the pool). We had planned to try out the Island Cafe which is opposite to the entrance to Colina da Lapa but when we arrived at 10pm it had closed (Sunday). We therefore went to the Island Cafe the next day for lunch. The food is fabulous and imaginative (not expensive) and we ended up eating lunch there most days. Carvoiero is an attractive little town with a clean beach, good restaurants and bars. As we enjoy walking we didn't mind the distance from Colina da Lapa although we did use taxis in the evening at a cost of approx. 7 euros each way. The taxi driver recommended a Portugese restaurant (tables inside and out on the street) on the opposite side of the road to the taxi rank and a little further up the hill; this was excellent. Caneiros beach is lovely and if you do not use the shuttle bus, costs approx 6 euros each way by taxi. There is a rather swish beachside restaurant/bar. Although in a beautiful location we found the staff there very unfriendly which spoilt our visit and, instead we bought food from the snack bar next door. The staff at Colina da Lapa speak English and are very helpful. They booked taxis for us, confirmed our transfer to the airport and allowed us to check out a couple of hours later than the check out time. If you are looking for a sunny, quiet and relaxing break we would definitely recommend staying at Colina da Lapa.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yasmin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Having just arrived back in the UK from a week at Colina da Lapa, I can recommend this accommodation to anyone with a family, who wants a large villa (we had a two bedroom villa) with all of the ammenities of home. As stated in previous reviews, you do need a car to get anywhere as the complex is quite a distance from anywhere. With a two year old girl we were very happy to find that the complex does not do entertainment, but that said the the distance from the restaurant/bar/pool complex to our apartment was quite a distance and it would have been unlikely that any noise would have been able to reach us anyway.

For a day trip I for anyone with kids I would recommend the Zoomarine, our two year old was engrossed with the dolphin show for the whole 30mins........ take your swimming costume as there is a pool and sunbathing area on site.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewieGriffin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I just got back from a very relaxing and enjoyable week at the Colina da Lapa, and thought I would share with you my thoughts, which may be of help.
First off I went without any car hire and wondered if I had done the right thing. The truth is, for us it was no problem. We found there were sufficient restaurant choices for us within walking distance, indeed we did not use them all, and we also went into the town by taxi two nights.
The complex is very good with a great pool and pool area with plenty of beds. It was very quiet, which we really enjoyed, as we were able to relax at the pool reading and sunbathing whilst having the odd dip to cool down. The bar makes a nice cup of coffee and a large beer which at 2.50 euros is good value. There are also tennis courts, a kid's play area and volley ball court.
We stayed in an apartment and they are larger than average and importantly spotless clean. The pillows, whilst not as good as our own were acceptable, and the air conditioning a godsend. The kitchen is well equipped and includes a washing machine, so take less clothes and do a wash whilst you are there helping with the ever decreasing baggage restrictions. We didn't but it would be useful for a family.
There are some steps to the apartments but they should not be beyond most. The grounds are well landscaped and there are lots of birds and other wildlife. At night the complex was really quiet so if you want singing and dancing it would not have suited you. This may change as the season kicks in. We really enjoyed returning from a late meal to a nice quiet complex.
There is a really nice restaurant directly opposite the entrance to the complex called the Island Cafe, I would really recommend this. If you like American style barbecue ribs these are amongst the best I have eaten, including in America.
Approximately 10 minutes up the road when heading left out of the complex you will find a decent supermarket besides which, there is a cafe which does delicious coffee and if you want it an English breakfast. At nights they do pizza and pasta, I didn't try it but it looked good. On the opposite side of the road, a further 2/3 minutes further along, was a great Italian restaurant, Da Donato, serving excellent pizza and pastas for 7/9 euros. They do some other dishes as well. We ate here twice we liked it so much. Note the wine is great value everywhere.
Another night we dined on the recommendation of a resident in a restaurant called, The Original. This was a 30 minute walk but was well worth it and after all you are on your holidays and you see some fantastic villas along the way. Get someone to give you directions, it is worth it. The lady in the shop selling beach and fishing gear is very friendly and she will direct you.
There are two other very nice looking restaurants 3 minutes further on from the Italian on the opposite side of the road but again I did not get around to these.
We had an excellent meal in the town of Carveiro in El and Ela's, do not miss it. A taxi into the town will cost about 7 euros.
The complex provide a shuttle bus to Caneiros beach at 10.30 returning at 15.00. The beach is very nice and there is a great cafe / snack bar selling good quality food at reasonable rates. The shuttle will also take you into Carveiro at 10.45 and 11.30 returning at 16.00. It would be good if there were other timings.
The restaurant in the complex is not up to much. Do not go half or full board, sorry guys.
The staff are all very helpful and friendly.
All in all this is a very good place if you want a quieter location. You can survive no problem without a car providing you don't mind a walk. If you want more nightlife then I don't think it is.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ernest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews