We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vale d'eu Rei - suite & village resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale d'El Rei Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vale d'eu Rei - suite & village resort”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just come back from a weeks stay at the vale d'ei rei. This is a four star hotel and therefore we didn't expect it to be excellent. I have to say the hotel and staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. The location although a little remote was perfect for us, relaxing and tranquil. The only negatives I would mention are the food was served warm, although once reheated was very nice and there were some hidden costs, for example the gym was 10 euros per hour, tennis courts 10 euros per hour etc. It would have been useful to have know this up front or just have these included in the price would be the preferred solution. That said we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel.

Mr & Mrs Pearson

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Scott P,
Thank you very much for your visit and kind words, as mentioned we will consider the tennis included. Kind regards, João Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    163
    42
    11
    1
See reviews for
137
311
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a week here at the end of August. Staff brilliant. Rooms excellent. The grounds are ideal for chilling out. Only improvement would be the evening shuttle going an hour later in to town and cheaper hire of tennis courts. If the price was reduced to 3-5 euros they would be used far more. I only saw them used once in the week. I would have used daily but did now want to pay the 10 euros per hour per day. Retaurants in town to recommend would l'orange and A'.Gale.

Lindsay

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Lindsay G,
Thank you very much for your preference and for your very nice review. We'll take your remarques into consideration and probably going to accept your suggestions, gym and tennis court free of charge. Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regrads João Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

First review on Trip Advisor - had to share the fantastic experience that I had at this hotel! I stayed for a week with my Mum and we were both totally amazed by all aspects of our holiday. The hotel it's self is so luxurious and clean with the most professional, kindest staff I have known. Every staff member genuinely seemed to enjoy their work.

The rooms are modern and well maintained with daily, thorough maid service. The pool area is clean with many comfy sun loungers and the gardens are so spacious for sun bathing you almost feel as if you have the place to yourself!

We paid for half board and were delighted with the variety and quality of food available,both for breakfast and dinner. The dinner menu was different every night! Such fresh food!

The free shuttle bus to the village and beach was prompt and such a good idea to help guests make the most of their holiday.

As 2 women travelling abroad we never once felt uncomfortable around the male staff, they were all so courteous and polite - even when serving drinks whilst we were sunbathing in bikinis they did not make eye contact or indulge in any unwanted conversation. Just little things such as this show that the staff have been trained to the highest standards.

I would particularly like to say thank you to Marcio, the cocktail waiter, who made the most delicious drinks and became like a friend! And also to the spa therapist who was so lovely and brilliant at her job.

I would 100% recommend to anyone and will definitely be returning my self - CANNOT RATE MORE HIGHLY!!! :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room at the back of the hotel. Preferably a corner room if you require a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Zoe B,
Thank you so much for your review. We will share your comments with the Team, we look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards, João Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have never posted a review before, and am doing so as we were very impressed with this hotel.
Having just read the few recent negative reviews, it just reminds you how people's expectations and perceptions differ wildly. One person's "it's in the middle of nowhere is the next person's "it's a peaceful oasis".
We traveled as a family, with our 2 sons aged 8 and 11. We found the staff courteous, professional and very helpful, Yes, you wait a little occasionally, but so what, we're on holiday. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The pool was never crowded and the garden's provided extra space to sit around and chill out. Our boys enjoyed the table tennis, the tennis court, the pool table and the lovely pool.
OK... the evening buffet was fine, rather than great, but meals in the upstairs restaurant were very good and more reasonably priced. If you're looking for a boozy, party environment with nightly Karaoke, wall to wall kids clubs, football shirt clad fellow revelers, then think again.
I'd go with the vast majority of reviews for this lovely hotel, which are positive.
I would say the Vale De'l Rei would struggle to satisfy teenagers, party animals, or true foodies. For us it was special and just what we all needed.......... we intend to return. Thanks Anna and all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear R E,
Thanks very much for having chosen us for your holiday. We take all reviews as a learning tool and a way to improve. We look forward to having you again. kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Out third time at Vale D'El Rei, the first in summer as been at Easter for last 2 years. We fancied trying it in the warmer weather and once again had a townhouse which is ideal with 3 children aged 6, 10 & 12. Were here for 10 days and hired a car which, although quite expensive, (about €300 for an almost brand new Peugeot 308 4 door) was definitely worth it as it meant we could get out and see the Algarve as well as visiting the numerous beaches in the area.

We had breakfast included and made our own food for lunch & dinner which suited us. The resort was full but always lots of tables for breakfast and the pool was never too busy. Also never a problem getting a sun bed in the morning after breakfast.

We had town house 23 which is directly opposite the smaller pool and has parking right in front of the house so saves a walk! Great place, very relaxing, personally I would go for the hire car as I like to come and go when I please but there is a free bus to the beach and Carvoeiro.

We went to the Medieval Festival n Silves which is just up the road and is highly recommended if you are there when it is on (10 days in August I think).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scortonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Scortonphil,
Fantastic! 3rd time, please let us know when you'd return for the 4th time, we will be very pleased to give you a special treat. Thanks very much for your fidelity. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clitheroe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

10 days in a Town House set in the grounds of this lovely hotel 10 mins outside of the main town provided just the escape we ere looking for. A free shuttle bus is available to take you in to town and to the local beach. The accommodation was great, with large open spaces on two levels. Air con in all the main space help keep the temperature comfortable.

The grounds offer two pools, and plenty of space to get away from it all. The food was varied and well presented.

The staff were all very welcoming, and were able to offer us everything that we asked for during our stay.

The Portuguese night was nicely presented, and attracted a good turn out from the hotel. Local food, drink and music set in the surrounds of the hotel provided a great backdrop.

The cocktail bar provided a nice end to the day. A pianist plays most nights.

The taxi ride back from town later in the evening cost about 10 Euros. You can end up waiting up to 30 minutes for a taxi at busy times.

The only observation I would make is that we all suffered from bites as a result of sitting out side to eat. It seems to be an established problem. So take some inspect repellent with you.

Room Tip: Choose a town house over looking the small pool if you can. We were in TH 28 and our view of the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Phil b,
Thank you very much for your review. Due to an exceptionally warm Summer we've noticed a higher rate of mosquitos, we do have a lot of frogs in the water stream though and it works...:-) looking forward to seeing you back with us. kind regards, Joao Costa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Have just returned home from a 7-night stay at this hotel and was very impressed. I would echo what others have said about the lack of heat in the “hot” buffet food, and the noise around the larger pool, but this can be easily avoided by slipping away to the smaller pool which seemed to attract a quieter clientele. Food in the a la carte restaurant was lovely and I’d highly recommend a 5 minute walk ‘through the back gate’, which leads you to a nice little restaurant (Brasserie Rosal).

The staff at the hotel were all fabulous and very attentive – with a particular mention to Jose Pedro (buffet) and Marcio (Calabash bar) who couldn’t do enough to be of service. The bars were both very well stocked and I particularly enjoyed trying out each of the bars’ cocktails of the day, which would be offered at a discounted price.

We tried out the spa on one of the days, which was lovely and on checking in received a 10 Euro voucher off all treatments which was an extra bonus.

All in all a very relaxing and peaceful holiday was had and I wouldn’t hesitate to return – but next time I’d pack some mosquito repellent for the evenings!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Hollie C,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, we really appreciate our staff and your review is a very nice reward for all of them. Hope to see you again in the Algarve. kind regards Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
3.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
3.0 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'El Rei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'El Rei Resort

Property: Vale d'El Rei Resort
Address: Quinta Vale d'El Rei, Lagoa 8400-421, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale d'El Rei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a typical Portuguese rural landscape and just 60 km west of Faro Airport, Vale d'El Rei Resort is near to the village of Carvoeiro, south of Lagoa on the way to the famous Marinha beach. Surrounded by flourishing vineyards, and endless stretches of Atlantic coastline, this is a unique place where nature imposes a slower pace life. A relaxed atmosphere, supreme comfort and authentic Algarvian hospitality ensure that each visitor enjoys a genuine "home from home" experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Vale d'El Rei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`El Rei - Suite & Village Hotel Lagoa
Vale d`El Rei - Suite And Village Resort
Vale Del Rei
Vale D'El Rei Resort Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing