We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel in a peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in a peaceful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a beautiful peaceful location for a beautiful peaceful hotel. My husband and I just loved it from the moment we saw it. Then we loved it even more when we met the lovely people who work there. Everyone was so professional, efficient, helpful and friendly. They all spoke perfect English, but were very patient and encouraging when I tried to speak a sentence or two in newly learned Portuguese. We were on a half board offer, but had the amazing luck to be there in the week when they offered us the a la carte menu. We really enjoyed the food. Our suite was spacious and comfortable. The bed was enormously wide. But we spent most of our time outside, as the grounds and the pool are just stunning. Even in early April we had several really hot and sunny days, so we could swim, and then lounge by the pool. We also used the bikes to bike to the beaches and the town of Carvoeiro. but when we didn't feel quite so energetic, the minibus shuttle took us comfortably there and back. The spa is amazing and my regret is that I didn't organise my time better to fit in a massage. We hope to be able to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    161
    42
    11
    1
See reviews for
137
306
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 day trip to Vale d'El Rei. The hotel was quiet but fully operational (many hotels close certain facilities when they are quiet but not this hotel). The staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We felt totally spoiled.
We had some treatments at the spa and we were given exclusive use of the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Garca the therapist is very friendly and could not do more to make our stay special.
Although the hotel is 2 km from the nearest beach you can get there easily by bike (free at hotel) or minibus shuttle (provided for free by the hotel). The walk along the coastline is well worth it as it is scenic and breathtaking (but you must wear appropriate walking shoes!)
A 'must' if you are on half board is lunch at Pescador restaurant at the nearby Benagil praia. Amazing fresh fish cooked from the daily catch. Try one of their many G&T's too as they have a great selection of gins.
Overall, the suite were spacious and comfortable (just bring your own hairdryer as the one in the bathroom is very basic), the people very friendly, the hotel immaculately clean and our overall experience excellent.
We would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a look at the villas but for two people the suites are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned today from a 5 day stay Half board. The suite was nice and spacious looked just like in the photos ( even the wallpaper) Very early in the season for them so the hotel was quiet and the gardens are being worked on so not seen them in their potential glory but still pleasant to walk around. Staff were helpful and attentive, nice to see they were also training young people for service in the restaurant. Food was great, limited menu 3 choices every night of main course, but each dish was freshly prepared and tasted great. Liked the wine menu, wines ( mostly local produce) were not too expensive and the descriptions were simple and accurate not the usual pompous rubbish. Used the spa quite often the 45 min relaxation session. Steam room Sauna and Jacuzzi plus some relaxation beds. Nice way to spend the time. Hired a couple of electric bikes from the hotel to go exploring the local area. The hotel is kind of away from everything but these little bikes are great for going down to the local beaches or in to Cavoeiro. The have enough battery power for several hours riding. The hotel also arrange regular shuttles to these locations if you don't feel that adventurous . Says something about the ethos of the hotel. The shuttle bus had broken down one day shortly after delivering us into Cavoeiro. For the return journey the manager came out in his own car to collect us and the next day he repeated this until the shuttle was fixed. The only suggestion my wife made was maybe there could be a mirror by a power socket so she could use her hair straighteners. (They would not work from the bathroom shaver socket).

We had a great relaxing break helped in no small part by the staff of this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exportmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

So, we have just booked for our third year in a row for our summer 2014 holiday, so you will see that we (a family of five love this place) but I will be objective for this delayed review of our 2 week Summer 2013 stay last August. Please read my last review as I am not going to repeat the same information. Thankfully not much had changed since our last visit, which is really good apart from one thing. The main issue which remains is the hot buffet type food (breakfast and dinner) which simply does not keep the food hot enough. I read from other reviews that the hotel were trying to sort this for last summer season but this had not worked. Hopefully it will be fixed for 2014. On the flip side, we visited the a la carte restaurant for the first time, fantastic value, good food but service extremely slow, even by Portugese standards! My sons have made two more requests too, different sausages at breakfast and more chocolate deserts for pudding please!!!! We made use of the hotel's mini bus this year to the beach and Carveiro, and it is fantastic, just wish they ran it more often, including in the evening. Having a captive "audience" for their food prevents this I guess! Hotel arranged airport transfers too this year and these could not be faulted. We all cannot wait to go back this summer, it suits our family so much and if the minor niggle with the hot buffet was resolved, it would score 5 stars.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Paulf1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My partner and I took advantage of a Valetine special promotion and we were not disappointed.
I have never been to a hotel where from the front desk to the bar to the ladies who cleaned the rooms have we seen such happy faces and kind gestures.
We arrived on the friday evening to be greeted by a charming front desk who could not do enough for for us. Later that evening a bottle of champagne and strawberries arrived and at dinner our waiter from the Alentejo gave us service that was a exemplary, the food part of the package was ver very good and we chose a local wine with help from our waiter that complemented the food.
Our stay included a spa treatment within the hotel, if you stay here take the time it was an amazing relaxing experience.
Thank you hotel Vale del Rei you turned a nice time into a wonderful experience and although we only live 30 minuets away we would recommend it to any one and stay again ourselves.

Room Tip: Include a spa treatment you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kingles12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We returned on 14th November, after a superb 4 night stay! We were upgraded to a villa! A huge bonus to start our break, it was beautiful. The hotel was quiet cause it was end of season! Never the less the staff were very attentive, nothing was to much trouble! To top it all the weather was amazing! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting the Algarve for over 25 years and so am very familiar with the region....not stayed here before but would certainly re visit....peaceful and well looked after, this was an ideal location for a few days rest on my own. Having booked just a double room within the main hotel, I was delighted to be upgraded to a delightful villa which was super and well equipped. Very friendly and helpful staff and although desperately quiet at this time of year, the somewhat remote location was perfect for me. A car is recommended of getting around and Carvoeiro is just a few minutes away for those needing a beach and a choice of restaurants and bars. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
3.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
3.0 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel

Property: Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel
Address: Quinta Vale d'El Rei, Lagoa 8400-421, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a typical Portuguese rural landscape and just 60 km west of Faro Airport, Vale d'El Rei - Suite & Villas Hotel is near to the village of Carvoeiro, south of Lagoa on the way to the famous Marinha beach. Surrounded by flourishing vineyards, and endless stretches of Atlantic coastline, this is a unique place where nature imposes a slower pace life. A relaxed atmosphere, supreme comfort and authentic Algarvian hospitality ensure that each visitor enjoys a genuine "home from home" experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vale d'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`El Rei - Suite & Village Hotel Lagoa
Vale d`El Rei - Suite And Village Resort
Vale Del Rei
Vale D'El Rei Suite & Villas Hotel Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing