We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip to the Algarve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vale d'El Rei Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick trip to the Algarve”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

having visited this hotel briefly in 2005 when very new, we were pleased to see that the standard had been maintained. very clean hotel. easy to find. Shame we only booked for a few days. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    188
    48
    14
    1
See reviews for
169
344
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed 10 nights in June with husband. First impressions of hotel were excellent. It is in a quiet area so sleep guaranteed. Beds were comfortable. Shuttle bus into Carveiro has 8 seats and needs to be booked, it will also go to nearby beach. However last shuttle into Carveiro is 5.30pm! Taxi to Carveiro cost between 6-10 euros to& from hotel, depending where you get dropped off/picked up. Room was clean but tea and coffee were not replenished every day. Fridge in room. Rooms are well decorated and maintained, towels changed daily. Hair dryer is the usual which makes my hair frizz and 'flyaway'! Pool area was lovely as we're gardens, the professional photos show with accuracy what the hotel and grounds looks like. Pool towels are initially provided free but you have to pay 2euros each for clean pool towels. There are plenty of pool beds and more in the gardens. If you go half board you can swap dinner for lunch, which we did as some evening menus were not what we wanted. Lunch is cooked to order but you may have to wait as staff do not 'rush' themselves. However holidays are supposed to be relaxing.. Wine choice was excellent we thought. We were expecting 'A-la-Carte at dinner but were told on checking in that restaurant was closed and we would have to eat at Buffett restaurant for dinner- disappointing..the menus are displayed in foyer and lift so you can choose to swap for lunch. You have to book for lunch and eat by 3pm for it to be included in half board. Due to lack of staff this hotel could not cope with everyone using A-la-Carte but they could include one night in 7 in half board deal as other hotels do for 'all inclusive' -just a suggestion. Food selection at breakfast was very good. Dinner selection was poor in general most evenings, there was always meat, fish, vegetarians prions but food luke warm. Yes there is a poor selection of English speaking tv channels but that was not a concern for us. The hotel bar area is a little like a waiting room but the barman was pleasant.
Would I go back ? Probably as it was quiet and relaxing. A car would have been useful. I love eating local food so due to lack of choice at hotel I would probably not book half board and eat at local restaurants in and around Carveiro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diamond46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Diamond46,
Thank you very much for your review and we apologize for what it went wrong with the food service. I've discussed it with our Chef and we will improve the negative aspects pointed. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we look forward to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Ana Bentes-Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Usually write detailed reviews but short on time so this one will be more brief.

Stayed 8 days/nights. Had high expectation because previous reviews were good.

Highlights: carvoiero was lovely. Felt very safe with our toddler. Loads to do! Wonderful, wonderful beaches. Portugese were friendly and helpful. Val d'El Rei was in a very peaceful location, out of town, as expected. Quiet at night so undisturbed sleep. Nice pool area (not too cold despite previous reviews). Ample sun beds and pleasant gardens. Opportunity to meet and chat to the lovely people staying there. Good choice of breakfast and snacks. Bar and food prices fair. Clean accomodation with regular cleaning by maids who were also very helpful. The Hotel Manager helped us resolve a communication problem we had and went the extra mile to help. She also arranged a gift for friends who were celebrating a Birthday, which was very kind.

Areas for improvement: evening dining arrangements terrible. No A-la-carte as advertised (advised not available day after arrival) leaving only evening buffet. Food was cold and bland (not great when you are trying to get a toddler to eat on holiday!) the bar was understaffed and there was a serious lack of atmosphere despite the World Cup football being televised. Shuttle service into town stopped at 5.30pm which was too early for us and we had to get a taxi into Carvoiero every night to have dinner. Obvious lack of experienced and therefore confident general staff in the bar, restaraunt and reception (with the exception of the manager) who were, at times, a little inflexible and short-sighted in terms of customer service, although they were always polite. Washing machine and dishwasher in the apartment were unreliable and a little complicated (yes, we do have both at home!)

We haven't ruled out going back to this hotel (we know what to expect this time) but we were very, very disappointed by the food on offer and the dining arrangements. If we didn't return this would be the only reason. Overall we did have a really fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul-SarahDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed June 17th to June 26th with wife, daughter and our daughters friend (they were at university together) joined us for 6 days of our break.I will not go into detail about most things already covered by other reviewers, I will just give a brief overview. If you want peace and quiet this is the place. Breakfasts lots of it and typical European breakfast fruit, bread, cheese, hams, salad and scrambled and fried eggs. lots of different breads and cereals. Had the buffet on 2 occasions - both fine but would not go half board because we preferred the variety that eating out provides. The minibus - it is free but you need to book a transfer slot at reception - never a problem, but had not seen this mentioned before. We had a townhouse - massive!! Fully equipped, big rooms clean. Some have mentioned lack of English TV channels- didn't bother us as I do not go on holiday to watch TV.
Last but definitely not least - the staff!!! Absolutely brilliant. All of the staff are fantastic, friendly, helpful and nothing is ever too much of a problem. there are no words to describe how good they are. Muito obrigado to you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was there in the past summer and it was perfect. I didn't have to worry with anything. The pool was excellent, the spa, the rooms and food.
If you prefer beach instead of the hotel pool they have free transport to the nearest beaches so you dont have to drive.
I will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here last week for 10 days we read the reviews but it's nothing like it. Not a four star terrible food cold Buffett even the hot food if your half board be warned you can only have the awful buffet every night not the al a carte which is not much better but it's hot the service is so slow just two of us at the pool bar wanting two drinks sat everyday for at least 15 mins ignored then another 15 mins to get the drinks why???? The reception staff are good but the restaurant staff think there funny all the time comments like can I have some beans at breakfast answer no then just kidding REALLY AND I SIGN FOR THE DRINKS REPLY ITS OK I NO WHERE YOU LIVE the cleaners moaned about mot having enough time to clean the rooms so they didn't do a good job and some days it was 4 pm before they came after complaining it's also to remote Caverio is full of English pubs awful you have been warned

Room Tip: The classic rooms are so small book an upgrade when you get there it's cheaper and most people d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, General Manager at Vale d'El Rei Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lou504,
Thank you very much for your review and we regret you haven't enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Joao Costa-General Manager Details Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just spent a lovely week at this beautiful hotel and I must begin with the positives.It is quiet peaceful and spotlessly clean. The whole site is immaculately maintained and the staff,to a man,are perfectly charming and helpful. We were upgraded to a villa/townhouse which was spacious, furnished in very good taste and comprised two floors,two large bedrooms,a large sitting room, three bathrooms all with showers , and a fully fitted kitchen. It was in fact too big for just two people but we were not complaining!
Now with great reluctance I must mention the negatives! We were informed that a day or two before we arrived the dining system was changed from a 'la carte to buffet.It has not been a successful transition. The evening meals are unimaginative and dreary. The cooked selections are invariably lukewarm at best and stone cold at worst. Although we were staying on a half board basis we opted to change our dinners for lunches (which are better because they are cooked to order) on two days. Many other guests were equally disappointed with the food. I do hope the management are able to take notice of this and act on it as this otherwise a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scholarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
5.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,149 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
14.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
983 reviews
5.5 mi away
Agua Hotels Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale d'El Rei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale d'El Rei Resort

Property: Vale d'El Rei Resort
Address: Quinta Vale d'El Rei, Lagoa 8400-421, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale d'El Rei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a typical Portuguese rural landscape and just 60 km west of Faro Airport, Vale d'El Rei Resort is near to the village of Carvoeiro, south of Lagoa on the way to the famous Marinha beach. Surrounded by flourishing vineyards, and endless stretches of Atlantic coastline, this is a unique place where nature imposes a slower pace life. A relaxed atmosphere, supreme comfort and authentic Algarvian hospitality ensure that each visitor enjoys a genuine "home from home" experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vale d'El Rei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale d`El Rei - Suite & Village Hotel Lagoa
Vale d`El Rei - Suite And Village Resort
Vale Del Rei
Vale D'El Rei Resort Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing