We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Lovely - will go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really Lovely - will go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Suites Alba for three nights from 5th to the 8th of May, having got a great price on a Flash Deal on Bookings.com. Loved our time there and am looking at going back for a five night stay in September.

Yes a car is essential it is far away from everything but very self contained. We ate at the restaurant two nights, high end dining with a huge wine list, but be aware that portions while delicious are small so it you were spending your day out and about walking the cliffs and come to dinner ravenous you would be sorely disappointed.

With this in mind, on our next visit I would ask to have the kitchen stocked so we could self cater the odd night.

Room Tip: Our room had very steep steps, if you have any mobility issues I would put that on my booking.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank kdy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    127
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
143
235
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Its got to be the best kept secret in Portugal.
From the moment you arrive to the very time you leave the place is so perfect, the staff are so lovely and very professional.
Its a beautiful place, the villas, gardens, pool and even the beach is like a postcard.
But don't tell anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Alba suites is nicely located near the beach in a quiet area. Beautiful view from the outdoor pool and terrace. The suites are ok. The living room was quit dark (limited natural light) and the kitchen didnt have any kitchenware. We asked the reception, but what they provided was still limited. Internet is very very slow. The indoor pool is small and the changing rooms could use some refurbishment. The slippers they provided were for children, like a size 35.
Nice playground for kids.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Numansdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

On a great location you will find Alba Suites.
Very nice people at the reception and the suites are great.
A living room, kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a bathroom all very clean and nice decorated.
The cleaning is great and also breakfast is very nice.
We didn't had very nice weather ... its early in the season but swimmingpool and beach with views are terrific.
I found the beds much to hard and it gave me trouble sleeping thats the only comment I can give.
You need a car and there are lots off places to visit and great restaurants to dine.
Will come again...... if they change the matrasses ;-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanDelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

i almost don't want to write this because I don't want word to get out about this place. It is really so awesome. Rooms are big, bathroom floors are heated, furniture and all decor is pretty, tasteful and upscale. We had a sunny suite, moved our little table and chairs from the back to the front and spent our days hanging out watching people go by and enjoying the amaxing views. Food was excellent .. Portugese steak delicious! The daytime chef is incredible too, she even made us special Tomato soup one day and we had a beautiful meal in our suite. Every person we encountered at this hotel was helpful, gracious and professional. Alba Suites is off the beaten path (you need a car) but close drive to town, to the store to a bunch of beaches. The beach below the hotel is gorgeous and there are tons of walking trails around the area all with amazing views. Probably one of the nicest properties I have ever had the pleasure of staying. Congratulations to everyone who works at Alba Suites for doing such a fantastic job. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jingerrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We wanted a short break to destress and get some autumn sun on our backs. We couldn't have picked a better place. It's a small resort in a remote idylic location so don't book if you want to be "in amongst it". It was so peaceful. The food was good. There was a play ground and indoor, outdoor pools to occupy my son and the staff were very helpful.

There's a real feeling of space and the grounds, coast line and beach are ideal for relaxing.

We read the other reports on this page before going and found them really helpful. Yes the nearest town is a 12 Euro cab and the kitchen has not utensils. The beach is down steep steps (but this is a rugged coast line!), the outside lights aren't fitted on any appartment and if you want to pick minor faults you could.

Know what you are booking and you wont be disappointed.

Would strongly recommend you sign up for the wine tasting!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick M, General Manager at Suites Alba Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for your kind words about Alba Villas. Whilst effectively the small kitchenettes are not equiped with utensils, they are readily available on request for the people who prefer cooking for themself. We will make a note in your profile to ensure that on your next visit, the kitchen is set up.
We hope to welcome you back again!
Frederick Maclean - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Overall Comments: In the middle of nowhere, but nice rooms with great beach. More like an apartment complex with some management.

Room: Excellent, apartment style, without any kitchen utensils, but well furnished and modern. Great bathroom with huge spa bath.

Location: Very secluded and quiet. 15 minute taxi ride to nearest town.

Facilities: Limited…one restaurant (good food though). Poor gym with terrible quality equipment. Indoor and outdoor pools and spa.

Food: Great but limited choice as only one restaurant.

Service: Friendly but limited, not really hotel standard service.

Parking: On site outdoor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodJunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick M, General Manager at Suites Alba Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property, and I am glad to hear you have had a pleasant stay with us. I think our remoteness is definitely an asset as we are surrounded by beautiful mediterranean lanscape and right (almost) on top of the ragged coastline of the Algarve. I do agree with you that the gym requires some equipment upgrades and we will be planning this for 2012. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you back at Alba Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
1.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
5.3 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
20.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Alba Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Alba Resort & Spa

Property: Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Address: | Praia de Albandeira, Lagoa 8400-403, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Suites Alba Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the top of the cliff of the Albandeira beach, surrounded by unspoiled typical Mediterranean and Algarvean vegetation, Suites Alba offers a unique spot in Algarve's worldwide awarded beach. Direct public beach access through a path from the hotel (beach about 150 meters from the resort). A very quite and calm environment; the resort comprises 50 Suites in total, being 31 Villa category units, 10 Partial Sea View category units, 6 Sea View category units and 3 Alba category (1 bedroom and Jacuzzi + kitchenette), all of them offering a spacious 85 sqm of building space. Includes also 1 restaurant, 1 bar and Spa. The facilities and the romantic setting make the resort the ideal retreat for couples and with its all-suite accommodation and location just a short stroll from a great beach, Suites Alba provide all the ingredients for an excellent family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suites Alba Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Alba Hotel Carvoeiro
Suites Alba Resort And Spa
Suites Alba Resort & Spa Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing