We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suites Alba Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Myself and my girlfriend have just returned home from the Suites Alba. It is a fantastic facility with a chilled out atmosphere. The pool area is extremely spacious, with a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean (beach is located 5 minute walk from the complex).

Our apartment was spotless and was cleaned every morning. The apartment comes with everything you need (kitchen, tv, living room etc)

I would recommend you rent a car from Faro, as Suites Alba is about a 10-15min drive to the nearest town (Carvoeiro or Albufiera) and would be too far to walk

The staff in Suites Alba are fantastic, and make you feel welcome from the second you arrive, to the sad occasion when you leave. I would recommend this location for a relaxing stay to unwind, and soak up the sun

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    126
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
142
232
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place is absolutely gorgeous and I'd recommend it to anyone. The website actually doesn't do it justice. We stayed for a week and had a lovely time. It was our first time in Portugal and definitely will not be the last.

This is a place where you can stay on your own, in a couple, or with a family.

Upon arrival at the resort, you're given a tour in a golf buggy of the facilities which include outdoor infinity pool, spa with heated indoor pool and jacuzzi, restaurant, wine cathedral and bar. It is quite a large resort so the tour was helpful and we didn't spend hours trying to find our way around. There is an incredible feeling of space absolutely everywhere.

From the outdoor pool (the infinity is not always on) you have a beautiful, panoramic view of the sea and immaculately landscaped gardens. The pool is freshwater, cold and not for the faint hearted! I only went in there twice: the first time because I didn't know any better and the second time because I was sunburned! There is also a small paddling pool for children.

We used the indoor pool, jacuzzi and spa a few times, which you must wear a swimming cap to use, and again it had lovely views of the garden and the sea. The indoor pool again is not very large, probably 10 by 5 metres. Children were permitted with a supervising adult, which is fantastic if you are with children and not so much if you aren't (which we weren't). On one occasion we left the indoor pool because it became impossible to swim or relax in it due to four or five very young children all arriving in the pool all at the same time, which for me wasn't what I was looking for when I was trying to relax in the spa area (no offence parents - just my personal preference).

Our deal came with a Cleopatra bath and a back massage, both of which were lovely, particularly the massage.

The suites themselves are a good size, very clean and in good repair. Two bedrooms; one with a king sized bed (really two singles pushed together) and the other a twin, a kitchen big enough to accommodate a 6 seat dining table, going out onto a lovely little balcony with a view of the gardens, and a living room with 2 x 3 seater sofas plus an armchair, with TV and DVD player (TVs were also in both bedrooms). Every day the place was immaculately cleaned and fresh towels left in the room. I've seen previous reviews that there are no cooking facilities - this must have been rectified as there were pots and pans, knives, plates, cutlery and glasses in the kitchen along with a dishwasher, small hob and microwave.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and this is a buffet style - cereal, toast, pastries, bacon, eggs, etc, along with smoked salmon, cheese and cold meats, fruit. My boyfriend was not impressed with the breakfast but I thought it was nice, although we did choose different things. There is sparkling wine available at breakfast, although I got the feeling from staff that they didn't really want to open a new bottle of it. But as soon as the cork popped pretty much everyone would get up to go and get some!

The restaurant, as other reviews have said, is expensive and was never more than a quarter full. Service was OK, nothing to write home about, and varying in quality depending on who your waiter was. That being said, the food was very good although we only ate there two or three times. On two occasions we were given a small taster dish compliments of the chef. There is a 37.50 euro 3 course deal but this is not compulsory: a main costs anything from 18 euros for a risotto to 25 euros for a meat dish. Starters and desserts are around 8 euros each. You will automatically be brought couvert and charged for this unless you specify that you don't want it. A bottle of house wine is about 18 euros. There was football on in the restaurant every night, although the TV was muted and due to the shape of the place you would only see it if you sat on one of about six tables. There is a snack menu which you can order from and a room service menu which is considerably cheaper (although we did not order for this as we completely forgot about it until the day before we left).

The grounds are beautiful, and one day I spent hours happily just sitting in a sun lounger reading a book.

The beach is about a five or ten minute walk from the resort, past cliffs with a spectacular view, and down some steps to two small bays on Albandeira beach. Both were surrounded by cliffs which you are advised not to sunbathe directly underneath because of the possibility of falling rocks (although this did not stop people). The beaches were lovely and clean, with never more than 20 or so people on them. However the beaches don't have toilet facilities, and the ground to get to them is rocky, so this beach is not a place for people with mobility problems or people who need to take small children in a pushchair. I'd recommend the easily accessible beach in Carvoeiro for people who would have trouble walking to Albandeira beach.

The resort is very secluded and in a lot of ways, this is both a pro and a con. It is very relaxed, away from the world, and attractive and large enough to make you want to be there for long periods of time. However Carvoeiro is a beautiful village/town and we went there a lot during our week long stay. There are lots of bars, restaurants, beautiful views etc, and you can hire a boat for 17.50 per person to take you round the coastline and caves. The resort is not accessible by public transport, and taxis to and from Carvoeiro ranged anything from 12-19 Euros each way. We chose not to hire a car, although I would recommend doing so if you don't mind driving abroad or don't want to have a drink. The roads leading up to the resort are extremely narrow, some of them only wide enough for one vehicle, and more than one taxi driver needed to do an emergency stop due to a car coming round the bend in the other direction.

This resort only uses one taxi service who charge more to take you into town than it costs to get back from town from the taxi rank. I gave a card to reception for a different taxi service (because it was 7 euros cheaper) but when we asked reception to order one for us, the same company as before turned up with a story about how the day before was a holiday and that's why it was more expensive (although this was not the case on the return journey on the same day with a different firm). You also cannot book a taxi in advance which at one stage left us waiting half an hour for a taxi, making us late for all of the activities we had booked for the day, and as we had booked another taxi to collect us after the activities, we were then charged for making them wait. So the resort's policy on only using taxis from one place who don't always pick you up promptly and then charge you more than anyone else is irritating, but unavoidable if you do not book your own cabs.

The Reception staff are very helpful and friendly and will happily book you trips over the phone; we took advantage of this and went horse riding through the mountains (amazing).

Free wifi is only available in the reception area, and it is quite slow. You can purchase wifi cards for other areas in the resort if you want to.

My main gripe is that we booked this holiday for my birthday, and a few days after booking and paying for it we received a call from our booking agent telling us that the resort had made a mistake with the booking, and had to change the dates meaning we left two days before my birthday.

All in all a fantastic place which if you are after peace and quiet is ideal, but if you are looking for lively and varied nightlife, then it is possibly not for you! The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because of the mix up with the dates and the exclusive use of the overpriced and sometimes unreliable cab service.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room which doesn't face the car park, as the sun does not hit the balconies th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littleblondefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safed, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I have just returned from a fantastic vacation at alba suites - the location of the complex is incredible with a panoramic view to the ocean - the rooms are very comfortable and clean - the small kitchen includes basic utensils as well as a refrigerator and automatic coffee machine - the staff was very helpful and polite during all the week of our stay - we were cellebrating with my wife 25 years of marriage and we could not think of a better place to cellebrate - the spa is well provided and comfortable - we rent a car and travel all the algarve area which is very interesting with small villages of fishermans and big towns for shopping - Portugal is a fantastic country and algarve is even more fascinating -- highly recommended for fish and wine lovers !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sergio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a perfect place to get away from it all, although a little isolated this suited us. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the suites are clean and comfortable. It was a welcome change to not have to set an alarm to reserve sun beds as there are plenty available as well as the 2 outside our suite.

Room Tip: Hire a car or bring some cash for a taxi to town ( about 13 euros each way).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauldonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed here or nearly a week alone with the kids and we had a wonderful experience. The staff could not have been more friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. The beach is picture perfect and secluded and the kids loved the indoor pool.

The food was great and reasonable priced, but do wonder out for a meal to experience the Portuguese peri peri chicken.

We went to the Marine Zoo and the pirate ship half a day sailing which was great and quite. I assume that this changes in the summer.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adreskitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This small resort might not be for everyone but for us it couldn't have been more perfect. Really great quality accomadation spread thought the beautiful grounds. Immaculate housekeeping and every request carried out to perfection. We had a complicated package that included some evening meals and some spa treatments along with many other items we had to pay for. I requested a print out the morning of our departure and it was 100% correct, that was a first for me. If I had any small point to make the outdoor pool although stunning to look at was freezing. I can understand that operating the pool heating would be expensive but it did leave the pool as a beautiful but rather pointless ornament. We had picnics made up for us most days which we took along the cliffs or down to the fantastic small beach. The setting is totally remote with breathtaking views and walks along the cliffs.
Restaurant food and service were very good. We ate twice for evening meals at €37.00 for 3 courses per person. The presentation was first class but without any simple dishes in the evening just too much for us every night. We used several local places for food in the evening, all inland and totally charming. Room service in your own dining room was also excellent.
From our telephone booking to final departure the front of house staff couldn't have been more helpful.
I'm afraid if you want discos or arranged entertainment this is not the place, if on the other hand you want a totally relaxing quality experience this could well be the place for it.

Room Tip: The sea view suites offer a a more private area for soaking up the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLGNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this small resort. It was our first time in the Algarve and I'm glad we stayed far away from busy tourist centres. It was quiet and relaxing and the staff so lovely! We enjoyed the buffet breakfast with lots of selection (including vegetarian) and had good meals in the restaurant a few other times as well. The spa services were discounted from what was advertised on the website which made our couples massage very affordable. The gym is well equipped and the pools are beautiful. We enjoyed hiking along the cliffs (though I would be scared to take a child, some parts are a bit frightening and it's all very open). It was a perfect place to relax and we could see the ocean from our suite in the corner. Car needed but its worth the trip!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppiesandchevre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
1.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
5.3 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
20.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Alba Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Alba Resort & Spa

Property: Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Address: Praia de Albandeira, Cx. Postal 377 X, Lagoa 8400-403, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Suites Alba Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the top of the cliff of the Albandeira beach, surrounded by unspoiled typical Mediterranean and Algarvean vegetation, Suites Alba offers a unique spot in Algarve's worldwide awarded beach. Direct public beach access through a path from the hotel (beach about 150 meters from the resort). A very quite and calm environment; the resort comprises 50 Suites in total, being 31 Villa category units, 10 Partial Sea View category units, 6 Sea View category units and 3 Alba category (1 bedroom and Jacuzzi + kitchenette), all of them offering a spacious 85 sqm of building space. Includes also 1 restaurant, 1 bar and Spa. The facilities and the romantic setting make the resort the ideal retreat for couples and with its all-suite accommodation and location just a short stroll from a great beach, Suites Alba provide all the ingredients for an excellent family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Suites Alba Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Alba Hotel Carvoeiro
Suites Alba Resort And Spa
Suites Alba Resort & Spa Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing