We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here with my partner and it was simply amazing! The villa's here are more like houses; the amount of space is phenomenal!!! The small beach located just meters from the resort is basically your own private beach! One thing I was not impressed with, nor was my partner, was the food served at dinner time. I really did not enjoy the meals. They were overpriced and over-sauced (not a word, but should be!) There was faaaaar too much sauces and dressings on the food that simply did not need it. Make sure you have transport arranged as the buses are quite infrequent and taxis cost a BOMB (it cost us €150 for a return trip!) There is a shuttle bus I think, but research before going over. Also, wifi is not free here, which I though was slightly unusual, but it is not that expensive. Aside from that, it was the perfect place. Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EOG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    129
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
145
239
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We booked a 7 night special deal for a break by the sea. It would be worth, if visiting, to take co-ordinates for easier location of property and remember toll charges on A22 from Faro airport. Car hirers from Faro can provide a gizmo at a cost to help with tolls.
We arrived by car and in the dark, so good directions and a satnav really helped. We could see even at night that the Suites Alba resort was very stylish and elegant. Our 2 bedroom suite was beautifully decorated and clean with may facilities including 3 TV's. We needed a kettle and this was brought to us immediately. The kitchen had dishwasher, microwave, fridge - no freezer, and a two 'ring' ceramic hob. We thought perhaps a few more pieces of kitchenware could have been handy, but to be honest we ate 3 times for dinner in the restaurant and the food and wines were astounding. Not crazy prices but not cheap and certainly not cafe/pizza prices. The chef is a genius and the service was exemplary. Breakfast too is varied and fresh. We couldn't fault this resort at all. If you're lucky enough to see the most amazing sunsets, you're in for a treat.
All members of staff speak really good English and are polite and helpful. We visited the Spa and the Cleopatra bath was a beautiful experience. The resort seemed to suit couples and young families alike and only a short, bit steep walk to two beaches. The cliff walks are a bit precarious, but the views are worth it. Just wear sensible shoes!

Room Tip: I'd pick a first/top floor suite only because of the noise of people above and flushing of loos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were very pleased with the standard of accommodation and facilities here - very suitable for relaxing family holiday. Beautiful beach just stroll away - staff very helpful.
Warmly recommended as a great location in the Algarve.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea-view suite on the ground floor - meaning you are in the quietest block, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Alba Resort for 3 days in early October 2013. We had a great time and would highly recommend this resort to anyone that wants to enjoy a luxurious and secluded vacation on the Algarve Coast. It reminds me of Sedona in Arizona with the beautiful red rocks except that here you also have the beautiful blue/green Atlantic Ocean as part of the scenery.

Some travelers have said that it is difficult to find and that there are dust roads to traverse. Not so. We followed the directions provided by the hotel, namely to turn off the N125 at the International School of the Algarve (a large white building) and follow the signs for the Alba Resort for 2 kilometers. All of these roads are tar macadam, although they are narrow in places. You need to drive slowly/carefully at times, and it is easier to do this at night when another car's headlights give better warning of oncoming traffic. Realistically, I think you would need to have a rental car to stay at Alba Suites unless you plan to stay on site for almost most of your stay.

On arriving we were given a warm welcome and were taken to our unit in a golf cart and given a brief tour of the property. Our unit, an upgraded suite with sea views was beautiful and exactly as per the website pictures, being well equipped with a kitchenette and expensive/comfortable furnishings. We also very much appreciated the complimentary champagne and chocolate strawberries as it was our 40th wedding anniversary this year.

The breakfasts were incredible. Such a range of really good food! In addition to all the normal food such as fresh fruit, fresh bread, hot food, etc, there were large trays of smoked salmon and other treats! Several reviews have commented on the coffee not being that great/warm. We did not find this to be an issue. There were two alternative sources of hot coffee at the serve yourself buffet and, in addition, a young lady came around offering lattes and other types of custom-made hot coffees.

The grounds of the Resort are beautiful with landscaped gardens and fountains. There are plenty of loungers and umbrellas including at the sea water infinity pool. I also used the gym facilities which were more than adequate.

At the south of the Resort property lies the Atlantic with two "private" beaches where it is possible on one of these to swim in the ocean and snorkel. Given the secluded nature of the Resort there are no crowds. But the most beautiful part of the Resort is the walk westwards along the shore/cliffs to enjoy the beautiful Algarve Coast with its red, orange and creamy yellow rocks. There is a path (you can get a map from reception) that you can follow for about 45 minutes with beautiful views and several secluded beaches to visit.

Lastly, it is important to note that the service at the Alba Resort is quite excellent and the office is truly open 24 hours a day. Many thanks to you, Wilson and to your team for looking after us so well (:

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odys47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Irleand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Greeted by very pleasant receptionist who gave us a tour of the resort, had a fantastic 2 bed villa which was somewhere I would have no problem living full time!

pool was great except too cold in May, indoor pool was sued also as was the fitness centre and both were excellent also. Staff in the spa extremely nice too.

Breakfast was great everyday with a buffet of fruit/ hot food cereals etc.

Restaurant was quite fine dining from 7pm and was a very expensive. If you want more normal food (pasta, steak etc) go before then when they have a snack menu and resonably priced.

A rental car is a must as there is nothing within walking distance and finding the place can be a little tricky too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at the Suites Alba. It is a small resort, overlooking the sea, with really nice accommodation, well kept grounds and a laid back atmosphere. We were very lucky with the weather, as it was hot and sunny every day, so it's relatively remote location was not a problem-though it might have been if the weather had been less fab, as a car would be absolutely essential. The resort is great if you are looking for a peaceful location, less good if you are looking for nightlife and easy access to shops! The infinity pool is great-though cold!- and there is a small indoor (heated) pool (we didn't try it as the weather was so good) and if you are looking to spoil yourself, the spa is worth a try. Food is good, though relatively expensive in the restaurant at night, but we had some wonderful fish dishes, especially the 'fish stew' which didn't sound particularly appetising, but which turned out to be a real treat (if you love fish, which we do!)-we were so glad that we took a chance and tried it!
I took the advice of previous reviewers and took tea/coffee making stuff, which proved very useful given the distance to supermarkets.
Staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional. Would we go back? Yes, we certainly would!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthshireKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

we stayed at Alba Suites the first week in october 2013. The complex is amazing the Apartment blocks are beautiful and the area although a bit quiet has a small beach a five minute walk away with a bar/restaurant "The Pirate" which serves the most amazing pizzas you ever tasted. The staff in this bar are most helpful with local information and are very friendly. The Staff at the Alba Suites are all lovely and extremely helpful especially the young ladies at the reception desk. The apartment we occupied was amazing and can be viewed at Alba Suites interner site. We had a very large sitting room a seperate kitchen/dining room, a beautiful bathroom and two double bedrooms, the nicest apartment I ever stayed in. All was beautifully furnished, 10/10

Room Tip: I would think all the apartments would be equally beautifully situated, the complex is in a quiet ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 432patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
1.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
1.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
602 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Alba Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Alba Resort & Spa

Property: Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Address: | Praia de Albandeira, Lagoa 8400-403, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Suites Alba Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the top of the cliff of the Albandeira beach, surrounded by unspoiled typical Mediterranean and Algarvean vegetation, Suites Alba offers a unique spot in Algarve's worldwide awarded beach. Direct public beach access through a path from the hotel (beach about 150 meters from the resort). A very quite and calm environment; the resort comprises 50 Suites in total, being 31 Villa category units, 10 Partial Sea View category units, 6 Sea View category units and 3 Alba category (1 bedroom and Jacuzzi + kitchenette), all of them offering a spacious 85 sqm of building space. Includes also 1 restaurant, 1 bar and Spa. The facilities and the romantic setting make the resort the ideal retreat for couples and with its all-suite accommodation and location just a short stroll from a great beach, Suites Alba provide all the ingredients for an excellent family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Suites Alba Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Alba Resort And Spa
Suites Alba Hotel Carvoeiro
Suites Alba Resort & Spa Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing