We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt water pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. 8 years old it was still in perfect shape with well groomed gardens; large, well appointeds rooms and very clean all over. A few bikes are available for free, and electric bikes can be rented. Outstanding restaurant with a pleasant terrace overlooking the sea. Lovely sand beach with surrounding cliffs close by, and there is a nice foot path along the shore going towards Carvoeiro.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs may have a sea view, but not important here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We are just coming back from heaven. Amazing! Beautiful apartment, outstanding service from everybody, very good breakfast, incredible swimming pools. Easy access to the beach from the resort ( 2min walk ). It is very peaceful and relaxing 15min from Portimao or 35min from Faro Airport. Carvoeiro, a very small typical fishing town is just 10min drive from the resort. There, you will have all kind of restaurant and bars. I could never recommend enough this resort enough. Also for families with one kid like us. Also, pictures on their website are exactly what you will have!

Room Tip: If you like to have an easy access to the beautiful garden, ask the ground floor. Also, if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julienchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just stayed one night, but next time we will book definitely more days!

Great resort, helpful staff, nice biking area, free bikes from the resort. We both booked a lovely shiatsu massage.
We had see sight room with the double jacuzzi bath which made the (large) room and stay special.

Room Tip: We loved the double jacuzzi bath ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sietze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a fabulous holiday here just last week. A friend got married in the grounds of the resort. Excellent hotel and really beautiful place to stay. Quite remote so I would advise a hire car. Food was nice but preferred to eat out (for quality and price). Staff are lovely, in particular to see if it a charming waiter who seemed to know you were thirsty before you did!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Suites Alba is a lovely collection of suites and villas with restaurant, spa etc. The area is beautifully kept with two pools and great views from the cliff top. The location is not good to get to and is quite remote and badly signed. Although the address is Carvoeira you have to approach it from Lagoa. The restaurant did not change its menu all week so resorted to room service which had a good choice. Unfortunately the weather was atrocious despite the weather forecast the week before and the villa was quite chilly! Left two days early but still had to pay for the two nights!!! I am sure it would be gorgeous in the summer but the Algarve did not impress in February.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom villa which was very spacious and had a big kitchen dining are and large lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalyfanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had an excellent value for money deal with Voyage Prive, which included flights and hire car. A car is a must , as this is a quiet little cliff top spot, away from the main tourist towns in the Algarve.The suites are really excellent value and well thought out in the style of Villas, all set around a town square.We had a suite with two bedrooms, although only used the master double room. A good bathroom with shower over bath and twin sinks, toilet and bidet.Comfortable lounge area with two sofas and armchair and an adequate kitchen and dining area.
The breakfasts are substantial with all sorts available in a buffet style with eggs, bacon and hot choices and also loads of pastries which were delicious including fresh Pastel de Nata every day, yummy! loads of fresh fruit and yoghurt's and plenty of help yourself teas and coffees. Overall breakfast very good.We ate in one evening, the first , as we arrived, as it was convenient. The food was of a good standard, although , nothing exceptional.We each had a seafood and pumpkin risotto.
The outdoor pool is in a lovely situation,as it is infinity style and looks out over the cliffs to the beach, but it is not heated , and no one ventured in whilst we were there, even though the weather was great. The indoor pool is postage stamp size, is heated and was used a lot,it is certainly not big enough to do a huge amount of lengths in, but you have to purchase a bizarre swim hat to use it, for hygiene reasons apparently.The gym is reasonably well equipped.We did not use the spa at all.There are cliff top walks from the hotel across to Benegil, but you need good walking shoes, as the cliff walks are not sign posted and have some steep sections.A good quiet central Algarve location.Not at all crowded or touristy.

Room Tip: There are sea view suites available, if you pay extra, but the ordinary suites are really good value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent a week here in March through a booking we had made with Voyage Prive. Our deal included breakfast every day, free use of the spa and one free evening meal. Our room consisted of a living area, a kitchen dining area and two bedrooms. The quality of the room was very good and our only small complaint was the cookin facilities, which were quite basic, but would only be a problem if you wanted to do lots of self catering.
The breakfast each morning was a buffet but there were lots of different items and we always came away full.
We used the spa every day, which consisted of a small heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room and some water beds and provided you picked your time was never too crowded.
It is a bit isolated and you really do need a car but that is part of the charm of the place. We enjoy walking and did some fantastic walks along the cliff tops from which the views are stunning.
All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and were able to give advice if you needed it.
Some people have made comments about the expensive wifi in the rooms, we didn't bother with it, just went up to the reception area where it was free and we were able to sit in comfy chairs and use the Internet as much as we wanted.
A relaxing holiday in a lovely resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoa
1.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,636 reviews
5.3 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
20.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Alba Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Alba Resort & Spa

Address: | Praia de Albandeira, Lagoa 8400-403, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lagoa
Price Range: £61 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suites Alba Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the top of the cliff of the Albandeira beach, surrounded by unspoiled typical Mediterranean and Algarvean vegetation, Suites Alba offers a unique spot in Algarve's worldwide awarded beach. Direct public beach access through a path from the hotel (beach about 150 meters from the resort). A very quite and calm environment; the resort comprises 50 Suites in total, being 31 Villa category units, 10 Partial Sea View category units, 6 Sea View category units and 3 Alba category (1 bedroom and Jacuzzi + kitchenette), all of them offering a spacious 85 sqm of building space. Includes also 1 restaurant, 1 bar and Spa. The facilities and the romantic setting make the resort the ideal retreat for couples and with its all-suite accommodation and location just a short stroll from a great beach, Suites Alba provide all the ingredients for an excellent family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Suites Alba Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Alba Hotel Carvoeiro
Suites Alba Resort And Spa
Suites Alba Resort & Spa Portugal/Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing