We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popilia Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maierato
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Everything was great!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Our plan was to stop for only one night, but decided to stay 2 more days. If you have a car this is one of the greatest areas in Italy. I highly recommend to go to Tropea downtown and it's amazing beaches. The food is so good: spaghetti with mussels, ahhhhh! The hotel is very nice, people there are super friendly, good restaurant (a bit expensive, but top service and the food is great), free tennis and football courts, big clean rooms and nice beds.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
popiliadirezione, Direttore at Popilia Country Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing to us! We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Calabria and especially at the Popilia Country Resort.

We are pleased that you appreciated our restaurant by the name of Antica Crissa. It was built on the ruins of an ancient farmhouse and to rebuild it we have used local tufo stones and wood. We believe this has created a relaxing and warm atmosphere.
It was built on the ruin of an ancient farmhouse and to rebuild it we have used tufo stones and wood. The food served in our restaurant is of high quality and customers appreciate the menu because it offers good value.

It is important for Popilia Country Resort to offer its guests high quality sport areas as we wish to promote an healthy lifestyle and the enjoyment of sport.

We hope to see you again at Popilia Country Resort where you can taste typical Calabrian food and enjoy once again our hospitality.

THE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    165
    34
    10
    12
See reviews for
184
310
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Poor service overall. Seemed to have a smell from the drains. Asked to be move, told that wasn't possible. Later heard next door which kept us awake. Asked reception if we could be moved (again) - still told it wasn't possible. Reception staff were very abrupt, bordering on rude. Definitely wouldn't stay again. Reviews here almost seem to be describing another place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
popiliadirezione, Direttore at Popilia Country Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that you left unhappy with your stay at our resort.
The episode you have complained about is completely new to us and we are trying to work out what really happened. We kindly ask you to provide us with your surname, reservation number and the dates of your stay, to our email address info@popiliaresort.it
The review, in fact, does not reflect the service and the high quality that our resort demands of itself.
In addition, we have immediately consulted our staff ,but they cannot remember this particular request. They would certainly have intervened promptly in order to resolve the problem.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon, we remain at your complete disposal.

Best Regards
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Isles of Georgia, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Wife and I are driving up the west coast of Italy to, eventually, Venice. Found this hotel on booking.com and it is a gem with a gorgeous view of the Tyrennian Sea. The pictures on the website do it no justice. Wonderful, full service facility in the middle of nowhere. Which I believe to be the point: come here to get away from everything but the beauty and excellent food and service. The single negative which does NOT affect my rating is the small, under powered shower. Furniture and fixtures, like the staff and service are first class. If you are in the area and need a place to stay I highly recommend this place. It is more than worth the drive of the A3.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_1aGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Rooms are very specious and clean, we had the superior room which had also a very nice shower. This property has a few hotel rooms but the majority of the rooms are villas of various size, very comfortable and well equipped.
What makes this place so lovely is the huge green areas surrounding the hotel and the wonderful view of the sea. If you are looking for tranquility this place is perfect, it is just a short driving distance from the beach but at the same time you can also enjoy the peace and quiet of this resort. Children will most probably enjoy very much the petting farm.
The staff is terrific, very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doddy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropea, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last summer in the beautiful hotel Popilia Country Resort.

The drive up to the hotel is almost 3kms up a small country road, the climb up the mountain can be a little nerve racking, especially for tourists not used to driving on Italian roads.
But once you reach the top of the mountain and approach the entrance to the resort, all those winding roads are just a distant memory.

The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and you are always guaranteed to meet at least one English speaking member of staff.
You have the choice of either staying in a hotel room or a self catering cottage, we chose the cottages, as we had more space, plus cooking facilities and of course a lot more privacy.
The swimming pool is large, the sun loungers are very comfortable and there are plenty of large parasols to help shade you from the summer sun. The pool bar is a nice addition, they serve poolside snacks, minerals, beer and wine.

The restaurant 'Antica' opens for evening meal around 7pm, its an indoor restaurant with lots of character. We found out that the owner of the hotel, also owns the Calipo factory in Pizzo, they are the biggest manufacturers of ice cream and tuna, this knowledge helped us decide on what to choose for dinner - you guessed it, tuna steak for main course and ice cream for dessert.
After dinner you can relax in the modern foyer of the hotel or chill out in many of the large terraced areas or garden.

Vincent, originally from Australia, but who married a local Calabrese woman, works in the bar, so he would stop by and chat and tell us about local places of interest, which was an added bonus.

Even in the middle of the high summer season, it can get a little chilly at night time when you are sitting outside, so it is advisable to bring a light jumper with you, just in case.
If you are looking for a really peaceful holiday or short break, then I would highly recommend a holiday at the Popila.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our friend's wedding, and the views and food were phenomenal! It's a bit off the beaten track, so if you are auto-less, travel around the area can be a bit limiting. However, Valentina and her staff were always so helpful and spot-on with issues that arose (there had not been any WiFi in the hotel for a few days) and with planning the next leg of our journey. Truly a hidden gem in Calabria, and if we were in the area again, we'd stay in a heartbeat!

The beaches nearby are pristine and magical, and though we didn't get to go to Tropia, we enjoyed even the more local sand and surf.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missennui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had to keep our eyes peeled to find this place and find it we did. Mind, it's more than 5km off the main road.
The building is quite new and hence the bathrooms were the biggest we'd had in all of Italy! Never enjoyed my showers in Italy like I did here!!
The resort has all the mod-cons, huge lifts, internet, swimming pool etc.
Breakfast is the usual continental fare - good but not great.

As the place is in the middle of the boondocks, you have to go out of town to enjoy the area. The staff are brilliant with that. They will advice you on where to go and what to do. There is plenty to do out of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amj_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maierato
13.4 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
488 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 19 in Capo Vaticano
956 reviews
21.0 mi away
Sunshine Club Hotel Centro Benessere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
451 reviews
21.4 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Perla del Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popilia Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popilia Country Resort

Property: Popilia Country Resort
Address: Localita Cuta, 89843 Maierato, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Maierato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maierato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Popilia Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilly area of about 140 hectares, Popilia Country Resort is a modern and refined 4-star hotel, just a few km away from the motorway exit of S. Onofrio - Vibo Valentia and 30 km away from Lamezia Terme International Airport. It is placed at 347 meters above sea level and overlooks a beautiful natural scenery, dominating on one side the Gulf of St. Euphemia and on the other side the green forests and the lush hilly landscape of the Serre. The property offers 16 elegant hotel rooms, furnished in classical style, with panoramic views of the sea as well as of the hills of the Serre. Around the pool are 58 bright cottages (with one, two or three rooms inside). Ideal for families, they are furnished in country style, equipped with all modern comforts and amenities such as air conditioning and private LED TV with digital terrestrial channels, free wi-fi access, safe, fridge, hairdryer. Some of them provide even a kitchenette. The Resort is equipped with a modern and exclusive SPA & Wellness Center, an outdoor swimming pool, an excellent restaurant that offers high quality courses, sports facilities including a 9-hole miniature golf course, fitness trail and nature trails. The elegant spa, with a great attention to details, offers precious moments of relaxation and give the mind a deep balance. The Antica Crissa is renowned for its high-quality food and a professional staff. Warmed by a large fireplace in the winter and cool during summertime, the restaurant serves delicious Calabrian and international cuisine, fine dishes based on fish or meat and genuine polychrome of fresh fruit, partly coming from Popilia orchard. Meetings and Incentives, conferences and conventions, Popilia Country Resort has various indoor environments with panoramic views of the beautiful and evocative Gulf of St. Eufemia. All halls are well equipped with modern facilities, functional for business guests. Always available, the staff will assist you during your stay by giving you advice on interesting places to visit, excursions and transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Popilia Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popilia Country Resort Italy/Maierato, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing