We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming review”

Darnley Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Darnley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Athboy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming review”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed her on 15.03.14 for my sisters hen, the staff were so helpfull and made us feel so welcom.I would definatley stay her again such a warm and friendly atmosphere.The food was fantastic and well presented. I could not recommend this hotel enough.Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Darnley Lodge for our Mother's funeral. Staff were so kind, accommodating & professional. We held the reception after the funeral there, it was lovely. Because I have a Gluten intolerance I am always watching what I eat, I was most impressed with the fact that I could eat anything there & had no problem what so ever. The food Gluten free or not was excellent. I would certainly recommend the hotel for any event. Lounges, meeting areas, & banquet rooms are large with plenty of room for a gathering.

Room Tip: If you like to see the town come to life in the morning pick the rooms at the front top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROSE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Delighted its back open, we have called in for lunches, evening meals, carverys and the occasional cup of coffee with a scone, and were very happy every time. Staff are all very helpful and toilets are always clean, its difficult to type tripadvisors 200 characters when you have nothing bad to say

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mukkieye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphoe, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I travelled to Athboy from Donegal to attend a weekend training event and was open to a new experience staying in the Darnley. As i entered the building I felt the calming atsmophere and perfect ambience of the building. The two girls at reception were so friendly and helpful. I am a bit fussy with food and like my food and was pleasantly surprised at the delisous breatfast which consisted of the full works!! My stay included a trip to the hill of Tara which was the highlight of the stay for me and all I can say is that my experience at the hill of Tara went hand in hand with this hotel. If you like Irish Heritage, warmth, great food, live music and friendly nice people this hotel has it all. This is the first time I have written on trip adviser but I was so delighted with my whole experience and I am so grateful to them. Edna

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8, quiet, bright, clean and felt a real sense of peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I attended a wedding at this hotel in November 2012. The staff were excellent and the room was cosy and very comfortable. This hotel has since been closed which is such a shame as it really was a traditional country hotel with plenty of charm and character.
Best wishes to all the staff.

Room Tip: The stairs are a little rickety (adds to the charm) and could cause issues for those less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My son and his family live in Athboy so I felt I would give them a little space this year and stay in a hotel locally, the Darnley seemed ok and the the rates were not to dear
On arrival the hotel seemed pleasant enough, the first issue was that I was informed the hotel was closed over the Christmas period and there would be no staff other than the night watchman who would prepare my breakfast, that if I went out I would have to ring him to gain access
So no chance of this pleasant Irish welcome each time I returned and what about my full Irish breakfast
As already stated there is no lift in the hotel and I was in room 6 which was up a couple of flights of stairs, the room initially was not that warm, but of a reasonable standard, with plenty of storage space, I was disappointed that the bathroom only had a shower rather than a bath, because it is one of my pleasures to indulge in, I tried the TV but could not tune it in but felt would sort out later
I returned just after 12 midnight and as already stated the place was closed so was let in by night watchman (nwm)and returned to my room, it was a not quite as I had hoped I was hoping there would of been members of staff and public to make it a more welcoming experience,,but I was ready for bed, I tried the TV again for some company, but it would not work,
The next morning got up went down, NWM did a basic breakfast, do remember this was Christmas day, I have to say the amount of scrambled egg is the best I have ever had, I was sat in poorly lit seating area, there was plenty of toast and coffee, I mentioned the TV, NWM explained that as they had changed over to Digital not all rooms had been converted, so he moved me down to room 2, this again was a pleasant room, I sorted out clothes then again went out for the day, the village was totally deserted but had some atmosphere with the street not being busy with vehicles coming and going
Again back late in the day, went through same process, with nobody about and TV was still working, got a good nights sleep, again next morning went down, NWM spent some time chatting to me and this time there was another resident to chat to, after breakfast went to sons, this day the local supermarket and bookies were open, but nobody else about
Returned a little earlier this time, to a totally different hotel, the bar and disco was now open, but as had an early start the next day decided to go to my room. I now understood why I had been placed in a high room, the bass of the disco could be heard and felt and was quite intrusive, it finally stopped about 2am so much for my peace and quiet
The next morning I went down,. there were staff about and I finally got my full Irish breakfast it was substantial and filling, unfortunately there was still nobody to speak to, when i went to check out at 9.30 there was nobody about at reception so man who worked behind the bar took payment
I am not sure how good the place is as a hotel normally, I would not recommend staying there during the christmas period unless you want total peace and quiet, or they can guarantee that the place is open to normal users, beware of low rooms on nights that there is a disco, also that there is at present no lift or working TVs in many of the rooms

Room Tip: As already stated if fit and healthy go for a high room and make sure if Christmas period that the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahappyTog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I go here with my parents on regular Sundays and it is without doubt one of Ireland's best carveries. Taking into account how busy they always are and how often you see empty plates on the tables, I think the facts speak for themselves. Especially delicious is the roast beef, stuffing, veg and potatoes, and the atmosphere is a nice balance between respectful and easy going.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreedyMessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athboy
21.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
7.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
8.2 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
635 reviews
10.7 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
856 reviews
7.5 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darnley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darnley Lodge Hotel

Property: Darnley Lodge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Athboy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Athboy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Athboy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Darnley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darnley Lodge Hotel was the estate office for the Darnley Family who owned the town of Athboy and surrounding land from 1770. The family had an enormous influence on the development of Athboy until the power of the landlords was finally weakened by the Wyndham Act of 1903. They eventually sold the town in 1909. The Darnley estate office, was finally closed in 1948. The Darnley Lodge Hotel is a haven of tranquillity in the Midlands. The Darnley Lodge hotel has 15 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. Our hotel is an ideal place for you to relax and unwind with its homely charm and welcoming feel. Co. Meath is known as the royal county and is rich in heritage, boasting2 heritage towns, Kells and Trim. You can visit such places as thehistorical Newgrange, Trim Castle which is where the Hollywood Blockbuster Braveheart was filmed, the hill of Tara and the fun packed coast to the tranquil gardens and Boyne walks. Meath offers something to satisfy all interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Darnley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing