We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a long stop for lunch.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castelluccio di Norcia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taverna Castelluccio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Pepe the owner and his kitchen team proudly served very good food. The location and place is not the best or charming ,but the food and service you get impressive. This is the place you plan for a very long lunch with close friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peppecaponecchi, Direttore generale at Taverna Castelluccio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Mr Karl,
The restaurant is placed in front of the "Lost Pian" ( "Pian Perduto"), which is important for a historic reason (it is in fact called the Lost Plane as in 1522 there was a war between the city of Norcia and the city of Visso. Norcia lost the war and with it the Pian) and for its panorama ( compared by many to that of Mongolia ). It is strange you did not like it. However, I would like to thank you for your sincerity and would like to let you know that we are very happy you were satisfied by our food and our service.
Looking forward to have you again among us,
Deborah Caponecchi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Taverna Castelluccio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in the annexe (Cascina della Fate) 200m up the hill from the main Taverna/restaurant. The rooms had everything we wanted and more. Very comfortable bed, adequate heating, small but well-appointed bathroom and the best shower we had in the whole month in Italy. We opted for half-board and the meals were fantastic. There were lots of choices and the food was some of the best we had in Italy. Make sure you do lots of hiking so that you can manage the very generous portions! The manager, Peppe, and all his team working there are very friendly. We only stayed two nights but would love to come back for longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunn1g1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Taverna di Castelluccio isn't a fancy hotel but it provides extraordinarily good value for money. At the price, we weren't expecting anywhere like as good. The rooms we had (in the Taverna itself, not the annex) were a good size, well-fitted out and with great views. In addition, the food was really excellent - high quality and tasty with lots of choices included in the half-board price. Best of all are the family who own it and their staff. They provided a great welcome in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere - very concerned that we had what we wanted. For a friendly, comfortable place to stay at a very good price, it is hard to beat. The main downsides: dogs barking in the middle of the night (but you would probably hear them anywhere in Castelluccio) and (my personal niggle) not enough hooks and towel rails in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_S670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had booked to stay at Taverna di Castelluccio as a base for a Sibillini Mountains walking holiday with friends. Right from the initial booking emails the welcoming character of the Owner, Giuseppe Caponecchi, had come over. We stayed in the Taverna rooms; our bedroom was bright, well furnished and had a great view. All the family and staff were very friendly. We had booked half-board and were (pleasantly) surprised that a small Taverna had such an excellent retaurant serving a wide range of typical Umbrian dishes and local wines. The Taverna has a small bar where we were able to refresh ourselves with cool beers after a hard day's mountain walking. The half-board option is very good value. The location is excellent as a base for walking in the Sibillini.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We ate at this restaurant when we traveling in Castelluccio - everyone was so friendly. The food was great - make sure you get the lentil soup and save room for the lentil ricotta pie!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carefree_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Too many people pass the amazing Castelluccio off as nothing but a day trip. But it's much, much more than that – it's a fantastic place to stay over and the perfect base for visiting the surrounding areas.
I've stayed in Castelluccio a few times – usually in the rooms above La Taverna itself. They're also great rooms – but this time I stayed in their newer rooms 200 metres up the hill called La Cascina delle Fate and I'd say that they have single-handedly moved the level of accommodation in Castelluccio up a fair few notches.
The rooms are located in the old village at the top – not a long walk and worth it for the most astonishing view over the plain. Throw open the shutters in the morning and it really is a sight to behold.
There were four of us and we stayed in two of the three available rooms – one of which was bigger than the other with a seating area by the window. Our room was still perfectly sized though and very well-equipped. It was warm (on the day we arrived it was fairly cold outside even for June) and we were able to independently manage the heating.
The rooms lack nothing – they are well-designed, beautifully finished, perfectly crafted with incredibly comfortable mattresses (an absolute must for me and a test it passed with flying colours) and... the best shower I've had for a long, long time! There is also a lovely little terrace outside to gaze out from over the plain. And all of this for a very reasonable price – in fact, I've paid three times this for rooms of lower quality.
Have dinner at the wonderful La Taverna (which deserves a separate review of its own) and I'd say that this makes for a perfect stay that is quite different to the norm.
Owner Peppe has got it just right and is the perfect host.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SianHos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed only one night at the Taverna, but were amazed and surprised with the quality of the room. The room we stayed is very new, on an annex 200 metres from the restaurant. Host Pepe is very friendly and the restaurant is excellent, with the best of the seasonal ingredients, all very fresh.
Castelluccio is a beautiful and remote hamlet, and we wished we planned to stay more time. We surely will come back and stay at the Taverna!
Really reccomended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_Carrilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelluccio di Norcia
6.4 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 10 in Norcia
594 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Fiorelli
5.2 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#5 of 10 in Norcia
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salicone
12.5 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#3 of 8 in Cascia
262 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
#3 of 10 in Norcia
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taverna Castelluccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taverna Castelluccio

Address: Via Torre 8, 06046 Castelluccio di Norcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castelluccio di Norcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelluccio di Norcia
Price Range: £28 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLUCCIO DI NORCIACastelluccio di Norcia ( 1452m ) is also known as the Italian Mongolia due to its mountains. Situated in Umbria in the centre of Italy, it is one of the most precious jewels of the National Park of the Monti Sibillini. Famous for the great conditions to fly, it's also a great choise for those who love to walk, to ride in bicicle or in moto. Who loves horses will find on the Big Plane a ranch. Photographers, from the end of May until ( more or less ) the end of June/beggining of July, invade Castelluccio to see the natural and the infestant flowering ( +1000 species ). Another curiosity of this paradise is the Mergani, a depression in the end of the Big Plane. This depression had been in the past the scenary of scientific studies to know where the water depositated in its interior finishes. The answer is still unknown.One of the most popular destination is Monte Vettore ( 2476m ), the third highest mountain of the Appennini. The top is occupied by the Lake of Pilato ( called this way as the legend teaches that the body of Pilato may be found in the bottom of the lake ), permanent and the only house of Chirocefalo, a tiny red fish that exists only here.Our Hotel is divided in two structures. The Oldest is Taverna Castelluccio ( 1986 ), placed in front of the Lost Plane ( Marche/Umbria ). This structure is composed of 7 rooms ( 4 with panoramic view ), all ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing