We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castelluccio di Norcia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taverna Castelluccio
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a Cascina delle fate room which was clean and cosy - perfect for escaping the cool spring weather. Pepe (the owner) was welcoming and friendly and spoiled us in the restaurant. The lentil soup is incredibly delicious, along with the rest of the food. Castellucio was one of our favourite places we visited, although there is not a lot to do in this town. Try to visit in Summer when the flowers of the Piano Grande are in bloom.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R_BMACD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London,UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Castelluccio is not exactly a huge tourist magnet, and I hope it stays that way. Some of the locals seem to think differently, and there has been an explosion of new albergos and b&b's since we last visited a few years ago. One can understand the impulse to find new sources of income, since this is clearly a poor region - but they might end up destroying the very quiet and tranquility which makes the adjacent Piano Grande such an alluring and other-worldly place.
Having said all that, if you appreciate natural scenery in its most wild and beautiful state, then the Piano Grande is a must-see, and the place to stay is the Taverna Castelluccio (an established, family-run hotel, not one of the new hopefuls!) There is a choice of rooms either in the main building, or an annexe (the 'Cascina delle Fate'), a hundred meters or so up the hill. We opted for a room in the annexe and loved it. The room was a good size, quiet, comfortable, and stylishly modern in the way the Italians do so well.
However, the room is only half the reason for staying here - the Taverna makes a big deal of their restaurant specialising in local produce. And the two nights we ate here, the chef did not disappoint. Delicious food, excellent wine, and wonderfully friendly and helpful owners running the place. Taverna Castelluccio certainly ticks all my boxes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malvern09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We pre-booked a few days ahead and took the Taverna's half-board option. I had stayed before and had been dreaming of their lamb chops for dinner ever since. I ordered this again o the first night and wasn't disappointed. The food is exceptional value for money and quality, with plenty of local dishes and using local produce. Rooms are small, but sparkling clean and well heated (it was surprisingly cold outside for May). The family are very friendly and can advise on walks and things to see around the Piano Grenade and Sililini National Park. We stayed in the main part of the hotel and if you want a spectacular view when you wake in the morning, ask for a room over the front of the house, We left really satisfied with our stay and very pleased with the value for money. We will be back again!

Room Tip: if you want a spectacular view when you wake in the morning, ask for a room over the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJonesFoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Pepe the owner and his kitchen team proudly served very good food. The location and place is not the best or charming ,but the food and service you get impressive. This is the place you plan for a very long lunch with close friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peppecaponecchi, Direttore generale at Taverna Castelluccio, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Mr Karl,
The restaurant is placed in front of the "Lost Pian" ( "Pian Perduto"), which is important for a historic reason (it is in fact called the Lost Plane as in 1522 there was a war between the city of Norcia and the city of Visso. Norcia lost the war and with it the Pian) and for its panorama ( compared by many to that of Mongolia ). It is strange you did not like it. However, I would like to thank you for your sincerity and would like to let you know that we are very happy you were satisfied by our food and our service.
Looking forward to have you again among us,
Deborah Caponecchi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in the annexe (Cascina della Fate) 200m up the hill from the main Taverna/restaurant. The rooms had everything we wanted and more. Very comfortable bed, adequate heating, small but well-appointed bathroom and the best shower we had in the whole month in Italy. We opted for half-board and the meals were fantastic. There were lots of choices and the food was some of the best we had in Italy. Make sure you do lots of hiking so that you can manage the very generous portions! The manager, Peppe, and all his team working there are very friendly. We only stayed two nights but would love to come back for longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunn1g1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Taverna di Castelluccio isn't a fancy hotel but it provides extraordinarily good value for money. At the price, we weren't expecting anywhere like as good. The rooms we had (in the Taverna itself, not the annex) were a good size, well-fitted out and with great views. In addition, the food was really excellent - high quality and tasty with lots of choices included in the half-board price. Best of all are the family who own it and their staff. They provided a great welcome in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere - very concerned that we had what we wanted. For a friendly, comfortable place to stay at a very good price, it is hard to beat. The main downsides: dogs barking in the middle of the night (but you would probably hear them anywhere in Castelluccio) and (my personal niggle) not enough hooks and towel rails in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_S670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had booked to stay at Taverna di Castelluccio as a base for a Sibillini Mountains walking holiday with friends. Right from the initial booking emails the welcoming character of the Owner, Giuseppe Caponecchi, had come over. We stayed in the Taverna rooms; our bedroom was bright, well furnished and had a great view. All the family and staff were very friendly. We had booked half-board and were (pleasantly) surprised that a small Taverna had such an excellent retaurant serving a wide range of typical Umbrian dishes and local wines. The Taverna has a small bar where we were able to refresh ourselves with cool beers after a hard day's mountain walking. The half-board option is very good value. The location is excellent as a base for walking in the Sibillini.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelluccio di Norcia
6.4 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valle delle Aquile
La Valle delle Aquile
#1 of 9 in Castelluccio di Norcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.6 mi away
B&B Cascina Dell'Orso
B&B Cascina Dell'Orso
#2 of 5 in Castelsantangelo sul Nera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Villa Tardioli
#2 of 2 in Castelluccio di Norcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Taverna Castelluccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taverna Castelluccio

Property: Taverna Castelluccio
Address: Via Torre 8, 06046 Castelluccio di Norcia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castelluccio di Norcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelluccio di Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASTELLUCCIO DI NORCIACastelluccio di Norcia ( 1452m ) is also known as the Italian Mongolia due to its mountains. Situated in Umbria in the centre of Italy, it is one of the most precious jewels of the National Park of the Monti Sibillini. Famous for the great conditions to fly, it's also a great choise for those who love to walk, to ride in bicicle or in moto. Who loves horses will find on the Big Plane a ranch. Photographers, from the end of May until ( more or less ) the end of June/beggining of July, invade Castelluccio to see the natural and the infestant flowering ( +1000 species ). Another curiosity of this paradise is the Mergani, a depression in the end of the Big Plane. This depression had been in the past the scenary of scientific studies to know where the water depositated in its interior finishes. The answer is still unknown.One of the most popular destination is Monte Vettore ( 2476m ), the third highest mountain of the Appennini. The top is occupied by the Lake of Pilato ( called this way as the legend teaches that the body of Pilato may be found in the bottom of the lake ), permanent and the only house of Chirocefalo, a tiny red fish that exists only here.Our Hotel is divided in two structures. The Oldest is Taverna Castelluccio ( 1986 ), placed in front of the Lost Plane ( Marche/Umbria ). This structure is composed of 7 rooms ( 4 with panoramic view ), all ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing