We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Chapmansboro, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We decided to spend an evening in Tobago on the spur of the moment while visiting Trinidad recently. The view from our balcony directly on the beach was breathtaking. We hadn't packed clothing that is deemed appropriate for the evening meal in the dining room. We were instead "rewarded" with our private table on the veranda. Dain was attentive, went above and beyond making us comfortable. The meal was wonderful and I would recommend the outdoor seating as an alternative to the indoor facility. As an added bonus we were able to watch a leatherback turtle lay her eggs later in the evening. The experience was magical! The evening's entertainment was more than enjoyable. We hope a retune trip will be in our future! Go there, get to know Dain and all the wonderful people in and around this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for allowing us the privilege to offer our product and services to you. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver to your satisfaction.

We welcome the gesture of you taking time to post your review.

It wonderful to hear that you got the privilege of witnessing the Leatherback Turtle laying it's eggs on the beach directly in front of the hotel.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of Dain and for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your one night stay. We look forward to extending a warm welcome on your next visit, which we hope will be very soon and much long.

Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    456
    230
    153
    120
See reviews for
356
520
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Have just returned last week from a two week trip to Tobago staying at the Turtle Beach by Rex resort.
If your eyes are open as well as your heart you cant help but be charmed by this resort.The location is simply amazing and between march and september you cannot fail to witness the simply moving and emotional sight of a giant leather back laying her eggs on the beach thanks to amazing work carried out by the sos turtle team what an incredible job( scouty your a legend) they do....but remember to be respectful while watching please.
Back to the hotel the rooms are all good we stayed in a turtle seaview room all overlook the beach but the ones closer to the main block may be in the garden area, the rooms are cleaned everyday not luxurious but thats part of the charm the beakfast is excellent lunch good as well as dinner the only comment would be dress code for men its hot and smart shorts should be allowed also ditch the main dining room its too hot and not as nice to sit in or open it up into the courtyard (that bit is for the manager you know I think your lovely really!!!)
I cant criticise this hotel at all any problems were dealt with the atmosphere is
great the other holiday makers we met were fantastic Rob and Marina Mel Jackie Emma jackie from Belfast
You will also come across the beach dogs Casper Boss and mummy if your going to this resort soon keep an eye for mummy she is a white staffy looking dog beautiful sweet and if you are a dog lover speak to Engine bird feeder maker on the beach or kurt (aka Criminal) buy her some food and give her some fresh water she is a doll and responds to a kind hand to the lady who enquired about her with Dane shes good as are the puppies we flead her wormed her and gave her a bath
Go with this hotel you will have the best time ever go with the mind set to find problems dont bother just enjoy paradise
Book Healing with horses in Buccoo you will never do anything like this ever again incredible go to Sunday school but leave your pryer book at home!!!!!
Book cars with Sheppy autos trips with Keith
To the manager your a gentleman and we are on our way back!
Thank you to all staff for the holiday of a lifetime xx

Room Tip: Probably midway down the block 140 onwards but really all a great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lurcherlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
It was indeed our pleasure to serve you and thank for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday.

We certainly appreciate you the taking time out to post such an insightful review.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff in delivering prompt and warm service.

Your comment on the inside restaurant is noted and we do hope we could have some improvement in this regard before your next visit. Nonetheless, I think the newly built seaside will suffice.

Once again, our sincere thanks to you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and look forward to extending our warmest welcome on your return. Hope not too long from now.

Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at Turtle Beach with my siblings..some from Canada and others from Trinidad for a family reunion in the middle of May.. The reception was warm and friendly..Ester was kind and willing to help out in the exchange of our room... The pool was rather nice and inviting with the swim-up bar, which was so relaxing to get drinks and enjoy the pool at the same time.. the ocean was just right and overlooking the balcony, enjoying breakfast and lunch..We even had the chance to see a leatherback turtle come out to lay eggs, the first night we were there, which was a plus.. The food was delicious and drinks was always at hand..I must pay kudos to Daine, He was our waiter for dinner and nothing was to hard for him to get us and was very willing to sever us..Thanks. keep it up..There should have been some nightly entertainment for the guest at night. Our rooms was clean and we had beachfront..so it was nice to wake up and enjoy coffee looking at the ocean.. I would seriously recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront rooms that are closer to the pool and lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your family reunion and for taking the time to share your experience by posting your review.

It is comforting to hear that we delivered on our promise of warm service, cleanliness, good food and a breathtaking location.

Glad to hear you got to see the Leatherback Turtle, which is a feature every year between February and July.

I do apologize for the lack of entertainment on some nights, which mainly due to failure of some performers to meet their commitment.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

after travelling to this hotel for the past 10 years I ask myself why I keep going back,but my trip last week will definitely be my last, filthy pool again, pool man asleep on sunbeds covered in bird excremant ,poolman asleep for most of the day,barman absolutey hammered behind bar,another two barman ok if they had had their fix,oh and colonic irrigation not included in holiday package ,but just eat the food,all in all if it was not for the nice people we met it would have been a disaster, such a shame for such a beautifully located hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts as your preferred holiday resort over the past 10 years and it is saddens me to hear we have let you down to the extent that you would not return.

The issues mentioned makes disappointing read and I can assure these has been addressed with the necessary corrective action.

Once again, thank you choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and your patronage for the past ten years. We do hope you would reconsider and afford us another opportunity where I can extend my most personal attention.

Regards

Leslie Amedeé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife & myself arrived at Turtle beach on the 19th March, staying for 2wks. The welcome by Collin on reception was one of the warmest welcomes we have received anywhere (he was one of the staff that made our stay so memorable). That was followed by a similar welcome from the manager & his assistant manager at the welcome party. The room was excellent considering the age of the property, it was cleaned daily, any additional requests such as the mini bar being stocked or a kettle only involved calling or asking nicely at reception. My wife spoke to the maids who cleaned the room daily & explained it was my birthday, that resulted in me returning from a day out to a beautifully decorated room, with flowers & a fantastic display on the bed made from towels, two swans, blue obviously! (that morning started with a great sparkling breakfast on our balcony, not a bad start to your 50th!) During our stay we did have an issue with one particular bar staff, because every other member was warm & welcoming & trying their hardest to ensure everyone had a good time I felt it was only fair to have a quiet word with management, rather than wait until I get home & post negative comments on here; it was dealt with swiftly and professionally. Generally the bar tenders, especially Mark and Bert, were great at making sure you had a good time; reception staff were always really helpful, pleasant, friendly and couldn't do enough for you...restaurant staff were faultless and contributed to a great stay - DAINE was always helpful, from stoking the minibar on our first night to making sure we had drinks in the restaurant and the bar, always with a smile...THE CHEF was amazing, not only did he make sure there was a good variety of food available for guests, he did a mean BBQ, the a la carte was definitely well worth experiencing with service second to none AND he was a genuinely friendly chap and certainly contributed towards our good memories! We mainly chose to stay at TB wanting to see leatherbacks - we were unsure if we would get to see any due to it being early in the season.....we saw 4! all coming up on Turtle beach in front of the hotel, those experiences were incredible moments and gave us some special memories - Turtle Watch volunteer Scoutie is brilliant! We arranged a private speed boat trip with Brandon after using his taxi services (the guy can arrange any activity and really cares that you have a good time), we went on the boat Whatever with Kurt as the Captain; he was also great, took us to some beautiful places and made sure we enjoyed the whole day - highly recommend you speak to Brandon and Kurt if this is your thing, you wouldn't regret it..... Turtle Beach is a good long stretch of beach, it was really quiet while we were there (March/April), some days the only other people were specks in the distance; it was a through fare which does bring some 'traffic' (ie cows passing by once a week and a man who wants to sell mangos that you are best off avoiding); Henry, the shoemaker, is generally under the mango tree, which he planted 25 years ago, making wonderful leather sandals, you can't come home without a pair! There are also ladies selling shawls, tshirts, knitted shorts and hats located on the beach and you'll also find Engine and Dillon at their stall on the beach near the hotel pool - the talented and creative Engine makes items out of bamboo (bird feeders, wind chimes, ashtrays etc), Dillon the artist captures Caribbean images on canvas and bamboo (again, make room in your case!), they also like to make sure you are happy and safe during your stay. We felt we enjoyed the authentic Caribbean experience, considering the 3star rating we felt we received 5star treatment, I'm able to say this as a delayed flight resulting in us staying at Coco Reef for one night, obviously a newer hotel with 5star rating, to us, lacked the character and charm of Turtle Beach, a much less personal experience at Coco Reef, we then ended up at the Accra Beach Hotel, Barbados following more flight problems and again, being in a beautiful suite at a 5star resort, didn't to us feel as good as Turtle Beach...I think anyone who complains about Turtle Beach are probably happier at the less personal, bigger, resorts. Generally Turtle Beach is definitely worth visiting - great location, friendly staff, good food and drink, a place where you can chill out and unwind or make the most of the things to do (Quad biking, Zip lining at A&R Campsite close to the hotel, ask reception and they will make some calls for you, really good value fun day out; Adventure Farm, short taxi drive away, again reception will arrange this, where you can see, up close and personal, many humming birds, mot mots and others, lots of tropical flora and fauna, well worth a visit, shopping malls, beautiful scenery,excursions to places such as Little Tobago, very long drive in a minibus on an excursion, much quicker to drive yourself there to Speyside where you can catch a glass bottom boat then a climb up Little Tobago, great experience, Gemmas Treehouse Restaurant do a great salad, The Rainforests and Waterfalls worth a visit, as is the Cocoa plantation, House of Pancakes.. Pigeon Point and NYLON POOL are a must... plenty of historical sites to visit... not a bad island to drive around, Sunday School is a fantastic party atmosphere and excellent for the older, hard of hearing although I have a suspicion it could be heard on Venezuela the music was incredible and if you tire of the land based activities and places all the adventure of the sea is just waiting for you!); the only true negative of our experience, which in no way reflects on TB, was booking some excursions, a trip on a glass bottom boat at Speyside to Little Tobago which involved a 5 hour round trip in a minibus and our planned excursion on the catamaran Island Girl never happened, being postponed several days, in the end we were told they cancelled due to lack of ppl, we saw it going by TB at least 3 days so knew it was out so that was disappointing... Think that's about covered it! Enjoy your stay....

Room Tip: BE NICE!!! Doesn't cost anything but gives a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debzzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and for posting such an in-depth review.

Clearly you took the time to experience the hotel and the island to the fullest capacity and in the final analysis, we were able to meet your satisfaction with a fantastic location, good food, warm service and in a clean environment.

I do apologize for the one bartender who went off script, but pleased that it was brought to our attention and resolved immediately.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the team in delivering warm, prompt and friendly service consistently during your stay.

It's wonderful to hear the efforts of the ancillary service providers (Engine, Dillon, Kurt. Brandon) are being acknowledged, because they play a very big part in the Turtle Beach by rex resorts and Tobago experience.

Once again, we would like to thank you sincerely for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have read many reviews on this hotel and can only say that the place is simply great. The food, the location, the staff and cleanliness are second to none. Drinks are plentiful and cocktails delicious. The beach location is simply one of the best I have experienced. The fact that the hotel is an older buillding is irrelevent and adds to the charm of the place. This hotel is a credit to the management and provides an excellent service.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. The farther from reception the quieter. But in any case its quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
It is wonderful that you chose Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday and we are indeed very thankful.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the product and services you experienced at the hotel during your stay.

Fantastic location, good food, intimate warm service and cleanliness are exactly what we strive for at Turtle Beach by rex resorts and to hear we have delivered on all counts speak volumes for the efforts of the staff.

We would like to thank you for acknowledging their efforts and we will continue to strive for the improvements and consistency in order to meet the satisfaction of our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we look forward to extending a warm welcome to you on your return visit, which we hope will be shortly.

Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

hotel is in a good location, nice beach with a strong current!
we had an upper floor room which was very dark even with all the lights on
the hotel is in need of some serious renovation
some of the staff were good, some were slow, and a few gave the impression they did not want to be here.
food selection was small but decent.
the new beach restaurant was closed for maintenance which was disappointing, so we were left with one restaurant and the pool bar, plastic glasses for the duration of your vacation is not good.

this place is like a rough diamond - I would return if it were polished up….

Room Tip: take plenty mosquito repellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pans_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your holiday.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on the product and services offered at the hotel during your stay.

The comment on the physical condition of the hotel is noted and we will continue in our efforts to make the necessary improvements.

I would like to apologize for the inconsistency in the service delivery from the staff and this will certainly be addressed.

We do note your comments on the closure of the seaside restaurant for a couple of days and do apologize for any inconvenience caused. However, it was necessary to do these maintenance works in order to present a better and well maintained product for you the customer.

The issue with the plastic glasses used at the pool area during the day is more a safety measure. With persons sometimes sitting in and around the pool (with kids as well) a broken glass in or around the pool would be very dangerous. I would like to apologize if this posed any inconvenience, though I am confident if you had requested a breakable glass it would have been offered only that you would be instructed to sit away from the pool area.

Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we will continue in our efforts to "polish the diamond" and hope that we will be afforded another opportunity to offer our product and services to you.

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Property: Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing