We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, friendly staff, prefect relaxing holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Turtle Beach in June 2014. On arrival in the dark the hotel looked a little tired but on waking up to the sound of the sea being that all the rooms are 10m from the beach made it perfect. The food was a good buffet style with a good choice of dishes. Rooms were cleaned daily and on the all inclusive package everything was included so that you didn't have to leave the hotel if you didn't want to.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holidaymaker555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beautifully kept grounds, excellent food, clean rooms, extremely friendly service located in an area surrounded by nature ( we walked and swam in the sea which is directly in front on the resort; observed fishermen catch net and bring in their catch for the day ; observed turtles laying their eggs; birds of all sorts flew in front of us, beside us and in back of us ; vegetation of all sorts was visible; private pool if one did not feel like swimming in the sea etc. etc. all within a few minutes of each other ). Provided by the hotel was also a service that included the provision ( through Paradise Tours Tobago 1-868-639-4221) of safe tours provided by a fantastic , knowledgeable and very accommodating taxi driver (General'G' Taxi Service 1-868-620-5496) by the name of Geewan). Fantastic. Usually takes us two weeks to unwind but because of the ambiance and service we felt well rested after one week.

Negative side : if you like loud music drowning out nature ; an atmosphere of fast pace hustling and your peace and quiet continually being interrupted by someone with some type of sad story and trying to always get you to give your money away this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: There are two levels to the hotel . I think if you require a walker or wheel chair or simply do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderful4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We visited Rex Turtle beach between the 6-11 of June and had a fantastic time, from the start the hotel staff were amazing and helped us with our baby without being asked, the room was a great size and all facilities were good, some people say its dated but you know what you go to Tobago to because its the Caribbean and that's exactly what you get , comfort, tranquility and a excellent stay. We have to single out a few staff the chef Jan and all his kitchen and serving staff were so helpful and the food is next to none in Tobago. Kashif has the bar buzzing with nice music and plenty drinks.

You will experience a wonderful stay if you come to this hotel accompanied with good people and staff, keep up the good work and we will defiantly be back. James, Debby and Broden Baird

Room Tip: All rooms are good and good rates too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

The comfort of knowing that the staff went out of their way to ensure that your choice (Turtle Beach by rex resorts) was the correct one for your Tobago holiday, is gratification enough and we would like to thank you for choosing us.

We fully appreciate you taking time out to review the hotel product and services.

I certainly agree with your comment that the hotel is not a modern facility, however, its the people that impacts your vacation and the staff have obviously done so to your satisfaction.

Thank you for acknowledge the particulars persons who stood out.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to extending a warm welcome on your next visit.

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
Generak Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our first time in Tobago and what a great place it was. We arrived at the Hotel and were presented with a nice Rum Cocktail. We where shown to our room. Yes a little tired but it was spotless and the massive bed was so comfortable. The room we where in (110) was directly looking out to the beach and the pool. The food was good, the Master chef and his staff where always cheerfull and would always go that little extra to help us, there where so many nice people I could not name all of them. One that stood out was Dian he was always cheerful and was buzzing around helping people. One night we missed our evening meal and he came out and he managed to get us some sandwiches. Great bloke.

We have travelled around quite a bit and we were amazed how nicely we where treated. We met some really nice people, all the guests where really nice and friendly and there where alot of different nationalities, we made some great friends, the mad family from Epping and another crazy couple from Kimberly (Mick and Lou).

The Leather Back Turtles where amazing we must have seen well over 30, it was just amazing and the locals looked after them making sure that they where not disturbed. A special thankyou to Margaret Blanchard who has written a book about the Turtles it is a great book and she presented me with a signed copy.

We did a few excusions Keith did us proud snorkelling and a BBQ with a little bit of Limbo dancing. The locals on the beach where a great laugh, Kurt, Engine and Dillan they would advise and even chaperone us while out. Sunday School is a must (open air steel band/disco) what a laugh. We went twice its open to all ages from young children to senior citizens great time. A must for everyone is the Sea Horse Restaurant, the food is out of this world.

There are some dogs on the beach, Mummy(white), Casper (handsome) and boss(big ears), these dogs were so well behaved, so if you have time the odd bit of food would be very appreciated. The ladies went and bought them food and worming tablets and even bathed them.

The only concern we had was the Pool Bar, it was hard at times to work out what time it closed and some of the bar staff were a little hostile, but the others were so happy and cheerful. A special thankyou to the cleaning staff our room was always clean and tidy.

Finally, we always say we would never go back to the same place again but we enjoyed ourselves that much we might be back there next year.

Room Tip: Speak to the locals on the beach, they are honest and will always help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robwimborne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your first Tobago holiday and for taking the time to post your review.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff, in particular Dain and the Chef in delivering on our promise of warm and intimate service. However, regarding some of the bartenders I would like to apologize for their unacceptable behaviour, which brings in some inconsistency in our service delivery. This I assure you has been addressed.

It wonderful to hear that you got to experience the turtle coming up to lay their eggs directly in front of the hotel and also taking time to enjoy and experience what the island and its people has to offer.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we hope that the impressions created will have a great influence on how soon your return visit will be, where we could welcome you with our customary warm greeting.

Kindest regards



Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent stay at this resort. Beautiful beach and pool area. The room was very large and well equipped. Bed was superb and Extremely comfortable, all rooms face the sea with excellent views. Food very high standard and freshly prepared daily. Lots of healthy options. the head chef was always present and happy to chat and explain about all the options. It was obvious he truly enjoyed his job. The alcoholic beverages were above average and the wine quality was good, much higher than expected of an all inclusive. On the first night we saw a turtle laying eggs on the beach, definitely a plus of staying at this hotel. But without a shadow of a doubt the highlight of this resort is it's staff, all were very professional and friendly and genuinely happy to help. So friendly! A special mention to Dain Henry who was excellent and went above and beyond! I haven't had this level of service at 5 star resorts I have stayed at. If you want relaxed, unpretentious and friendly, then I would definitely recommend this resort, now my favourite in Tobago!

Room Tip: Family rooms have a separate small bedroom, perfect for a child or relative
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcLpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your vacation and for taking time to share your experiences of the product and services that were on offer.

Your acknowledgment of the effort made by the staff, especially Dain and the Chef in ensuring your stay with us was a pleasurable one, is very much appreciated.

It is wonderful to know that you had the added pleasure of witness the Leather Back Turtle come up directly in front of the hotel to lay its eggs.

Once again, thank for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and I would like to assure you that we will continue in our efforts to maintain consistency in the service we offer, with the hope that your next visit would not too distant.

Kindest regard



Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a very tired hotel which serves very average repetitive food. BUT the setting is lovely & the staff are very friendly & helpful. We went with another couple & had a great holiday. The nesting turtles & hatchlings are an added bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and for taking the time to post your review on the product and services of the hotel.

I certainly acknowledge that the hotel is not a modern facility, but it does offer a 70's Caribbean charm that appeals to persons looking to enjoy the unspoilt warm of the Caribbean.

Your comment on the food is merited to an extent, however, our Chef has made some improvements and we will continue to do so.

It is wonderful to hear the staff impacted positively on your vacation and you were able to have a wonderful vacation despite the few issues.

Once again, it was our pleasure to offer our services to you and we trust that you would choose Turtle Beach by rex resorts for your next Caribbean vacation.

Kindest regards


Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited Turtle beach as a group of 12 from 2014 May 31 to June 01. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a wam friendly smile and Nyoka was most pleasant. We had booked 4 rooms, but only 3 were ready. Unfortunately, we did not get the 4th room until around 5pm after much back-and-forthing.

After the room situation was sorted out the rest of our stay was most delightful. The highlight was the food prepared by the Executive Chef.

The only negative would be the jacuzzi, this should have hot water and not the same water as the pool.

Room Tip: Ground floor, close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8friendsgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieAmedee, General Manager at Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts for group vacation and for taking the time to share your experience by posting your review.

I would like to apologize for the delay in getting the last room, which unfortunately was due to a slight mixture on our part.

Your acknowledgement of the efforts of the Chef and his team in providing satisfactory meals on a daily basis is very well received and it goes a long way in helping boost the morale

The comment on the Jacuzzi is noted, however, a hot Jacuzzi do call for stricter regulations and safety measures and the fact that the temperature in Tobago is generally very hot in any case.

Once again, thank you for choosing Turtle Beach by rex resorts and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit where we could offer our special Repeaters discount and package.

Kindest regards

Leslie Amedeé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
6.2 mi away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
255 reviews
4.6 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
1 mi away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Black Rock
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts

Address: Courland Bay, Plymouth, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: £97 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"best beach resort experience in Tobago" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Rex Hotel Scarborough
Turtle Beach Tobago
Turtle Beach Rex Resorts
Turtle Beach Hotel Tobago
Turtle Beach By Rex Resorts Tobago/Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing