We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cuffie River Inn Truly Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cuffie River Nature Retreat and Eco-Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cuffie River Inn Truly Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Cuffie River in early December. Was great to relax after a week of serious birding in Trinidad. Plenty of great birds at the feeders and around the grounds easy to observe from the dining room, balconies, pool (!), our room. Pool especially clean and comfortable. Entire complex very low keyed. Splurge on the "honeymoon suite" upstairs at the end of the building: you'll have hummingbirds darting in one window and out another. Special kudos to the kitchen staff: both cooks work hard to present "typico" and East Indian food with a flair, excellent local ice cream. Easy drive from airport. Host Regina Dumas really knows how to make her guests comfortable.

Room Tip: Although standard rooms are more than fine, the upstairs "honeymoon suite" at the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I visited Tobago during the last 2 weeks of November 2013. We did not stay at Cuffie river but had arranged with Regina Dumas, the owner to undertake a 'bird walk' and have lunch at the reserve as part of our tour of the island. What a fantastic place! Such a feeling of tranquillity. The birds were amazing to listen to and see.
Regina and her staff were welcoming, courteous and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The 'bird walk' with Desmond proved to be very worthwhile. He was interesting to listen to, informative about the island and culture and very knowledgeable about the animals and plants.
Lunch, which was a sample of local dishes, which we had requested, was excellent and the lemonade particularly delicious. The feeding stations for the birds are directly opposite to the dining area, which for us, enhanced our experience of having lunch at the reserve.
We also arranged with Regina to have a guided tour of the wetlands. Again this was efficiently organised and well worth the time.
Should we visit Tobago again, we would definitely want to spend more time at Cuffie river.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGT1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed at Cuffie River for 3 nights back in April 2013 for the start of a two week nature trip through Tobago and Trinidad. We arrived late about 10.30 pm due to a delay with flight connections, but was welcomed by Regina who still had kept a nice warm meal waiting for us.
Had a superb large room with about an 8ft wide bed - think it was room 7 on the first floor which had very large windows and doors which were just left open all through the day. Even when it poured down almost one whole day (we were in the rainforest after all) the room enabled us to watch many birds washing and preening their-selves in the trees all around us, which helped to make it extra special. We took a nature walk with Desmond who knows all the local birds and their sounds and took off an a couple of short walks ourselves even though the heat was easily up in the 30s and humid! The birds there are exceptional and we were woken early on the first morning by what it sounded like thousands of Ibis flying over. In fact it was our first experience of the Chachalacas (Cocricos) in the trees. The sound is shreekingly loud but fascinating all the same. A few of these birds seem to make up the sound of hundreds of them in the trees all around. What an experience! The food was really good served up by Regina each day - you should remember you are totally in their hands as you are miles from anywhere and deep out in the sticks. The swimming pool is good and we were they only ones staying their for the first two days so extremely quiet and lots of birds and hummers all over. The best Hummer feeders are kept alongside the entrance road into the property opposite the reception area and where you will eat in fact at the front of the building although there are a couple of feeders at the back where our room was located. Regina and Earl (who to tell the truth saw very little of Earl) go out of their way into making this a superb even though short, nature stay. If you love birds and nature and photography then don't miss this place on your journey whilst in Tobago. Total peace and harmony and dead quiet until the Chachalacas start up. Would definitely visit again if we were to go back to Trinidad and Tobago. Thanks Regina for a great stay! From here we moved on to Speyside in the very far north of the Island and I will do a write-up on this place and the Bluewaters Inn where we stayed right on the beach and close to the bird Island of Little Tobago.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onemoreshotrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

A fabulous place to stay if you want to get away form the hustle and bustle of life.
Regina and Earl were warm and welcoming and our accommodation was striking, both in design and ambience. The food (and there was plenty of it!) was excellent.
The birds are amazing to see and hear and Desmond is a wealth of information and will amaze you with his delightful interest and appreciation for the environment.
We would definitely come back to this beautiful reserve

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_R604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I finally had the pleasure of staying at the wonderfully put-away Cuffie River Nature Retreat at the end of April 2013. I arrived in Tobago via ferry from Trinidad with my own private vehicle. The hotel is located 30 minutes from Scarborough, but from the moment I arrived at the grounds the feeling of peace overwhelmed me. Birds were in and out of the property, motmots perched in the open, rufous-tailed jacamars were nesting in the wall opposite to the pool, numerous eared doves were constantly in attendance, and of course there were always at least four species of hummingbird coming to the feeders. At night the white tailed nightjars made their presence known. Unfortunately for me the common pootoo that usually perches outside the dinner area took a week vacation for the duration of my stay. On a few days I was lucky enough to witness the endangered white tailed sabrewing hummingbird visit the feeders.
As for the staff, they treated us like family - for the majority of my stay we were the only guests at the hotel. Desmond, the tour guide was well versed in the knowledge of the area, he also has an uncanny ability to mimic bird calls! Regina and Earl were very very warm and welcoming to us, and on the night of my birthday she made some deliciously special dishes - both of them served us, they sang happy birthday, I got a big hug and kiss, good times!
Overall very relaxing place with wonderful people who accentuate the mood. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faraaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

A fantastic away from it all location to experience the rain forest and learn first hand about the birds, plants and flora. Regina is a perfect host providing big airy rooms and some of the best authentic food we were lucky enough to eat on T & T. It may be tucked away, but this is definitely a location to add to your itinerary if visiting Tobago for birds & wildlife.......Asa Wright's rooms aren't a patch on Cuffie River & the food is much better, so don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vietnamvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

An oasis of luxury way out in the forest, with birds everywhere. Great food, wonderful rooms with balconies - fabulous Ruby Topaz Hummingbirds, Northern Potoos, and White-wnged Nightjars, just to name a few. A great place to unwind and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBWright111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moriah
11.4 mi away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
8.5 mi away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
Blue Waters Inn
Blue Waters Inn
#1 of 5 in Speyside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Naturalist Beach Resort
Naturalist Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Castara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castara Retreats
Castara Retreats
#1 of 11 in Castara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuffie River Nature Retreat and Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuffie River Nature Retreat and Eco-Lodge

Property: Cuffie River Nature Retreat and Eco-Lodge
Address: Moriah, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Moriah
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Moriah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuffie River Nature Retreat and Eco-Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cuffie River Nature Retreat and Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuffie River Nature Retreat And Eco Hotel Moriah
Cuffie River Nature Retreat And Eco-Lodge Tobago, Trinidad And Tobago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing