We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Decided during a journey from the West to Dublin to break for the night and called into Keenan's - we were given a lovely room, modern room with a view of the Shannon but were disappointed that we had missed last orders for food as the menu looked very interesting. Breakfast the next morning was a step above the usual and would love to go back and have dinner the next time.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank beamaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

My fiancee and I (names: Barry Keenan & Lynette) cannot speak highly enough of our wonderful stay, the excellent food and the very warm welcome that we received from the hotel's proprietors (Barry & Annette Keenan) - we are not related in any way but we were certainly treated like family! We stayed in Tarmonbarry over a bank holiday weekend with another couple and could not fault one single thing with our stay - from gorgeous rooms with balcony views over the River Shannon to the great craic & banter in the hotel bar! A truly excellent boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastKeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Barry and Annette run a very nice boutique hotel on the banks of the Shannon. We eat there regularly and have never been disappointed with the food quality in the bar or in their excellent restaurant. Their staff are always very attentive and friendly and you are always given great hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tully1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have eaten in Keenan's on multiple occasions in both the bar and restaurant. The location is really great, right beside the river. Great for a stroll before or after your meal.

The staff are always friendly and helpful.

The food is expensive though. Lunch in particular. Was in there recently and saw prices for the lunch menu around 13-15 euros which is too much to pay for pub food. Factor in a couple of drinks and you are nearly hitting 50 euro.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xcellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was booked into this hotel by the company I was visiting in Longford, all of the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were well appointed and quite large, the breakfast in the morning was excellent and a very good atmosphere in the bar and restaurant in the evening.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the hotel has great views of the river although traffic going over the brid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed there during a business trip 27th Feb 2012. Excellent boutique hotel, the kind I really like. The room was very comfortable and the food was extremely tasty and well presented. This was particularilly relevant as I had arrved quite late that evening.
I wish I could have spent more time as I had to leave early for Dublin the next morning.
Apparently they have some fishing rights as well!!

Room Tip: Yes it is don that road, just after the bridge over the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Deffo overpriced 13.50 for buger,chips,salad.asked for steamed pudding from the desert menu with custard cold when the waitress brought it to the table 5 50 euro.The only time we were in the place and i think it will be the last..

Room Tip: Head some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerAchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarmonbarry
13.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
710 reviews
6.3 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
243 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
965 reviews
19.3 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,145 reviews
15.7 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Address: Tarmonbarry, Tarmonbarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Tarmonbarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Price Range: £95 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keenan's Boutique Hotel on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing