We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not be back - too expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will not be back - too expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We ate in the bar. The place is very nice and the service was good - very friendly. But the prices were too expensive for what we got, which was nice bar food. My friend had a chicken wrap with side salad for €14. I had haddock, mash and a portion of veg for €15. There were some cheaper options on the menu but they're only available until 5pm and this was 6.30pm. Portions were on the small side. After forking out €32 (including 2 teas) we were both hungry again by about 9! They're in a good location with a good passing trade so they probably get away with charging a bit extra but I wouldn't eat there again at those prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duckmull135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    37
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
53
56
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Have often eaten here en route to the West of Ireland. The location is idyllic and the service is good but you are definitely paying high prices. A basic dish-chicken goujons some chips and some side salad is 14.50 at lunch time?? Too high.However there is plenty of parking and the surroundings are lovely for a stroll.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Have just returned from a one night stay in this charming hotel. My Wife and I boated to the nearby moorings and enjoyed a magnificent evening in this lovely village. The room was beautiful and the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We dined in the nearby Purple Onion restaurant where we had a fantastic meal. Recommend this place highly for a romantic short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This small hotel is situated on the edge of the River Shannon in County Roscommon - this is not a tourist hotspot but it is a pleasant area with plenty of historical interest. (There is for example a 'Big House' museum in the nearby village of Strokestown and in Tulsk there is a small centre which tells the mythical story of Queen Maeve and the Táin Bó Cuailgne.)
We stayed in a boutique room overlooking the river. The room was small but comfortable and included extras like tea and coffee facilities, chocolates, bottled water.
We had dinner twice in the restaurant. The restaurant was busy, popular with locals and deservedly so. The menu was varied and the cooking and service was excellent.
This hotel has a very pleasant, friendly atmosphere. We were made to feel welcome by all staff and enjoyed our stay. Good wishes to the owners, Annette and Barry.

Room Tip: Boutique rooms overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScamallNaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Decided during a journey from the West to Dublin to break for the night and called into Keenan's - we were given a lovely room, modern room with a view of the Shannon but were disappointed that we had missed last orders for food as the menu looked very interesting. Breakfast the next morning was a step above the usual and would love to go back and have dinner the next time.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beamaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My fiancee and I (names: Barry Keenan & Lynette) cannot speak highly enough of our wonderful stay, the excellent food and the very warm welcome that we received from the hotel's proprietors (Barry & Annette Keenan) - we are not related in any way but we were certainly treated like family! We stayed in Tarmonbarry over a bank holiday weekend with another couple and could not fault one single thing with our stay - from gorgeous rooms with balcony views over the River Shannon to the great craic & banter in the hotel bar! A truly excellent boutique hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastKeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Barry and Annette run a very nice boutique hotel on the banks of the Shannon. We eat there regularly and have never been disappointed with the food quality in the bar or in their excellent restaurant. Their staff are always very attentive and friendly and you are always given great hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tully1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarmonbarry
13.2 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
13.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
7.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Property: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Address: Tarmonbarry, Tarmonbarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Tarmonbarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keenan's Boutique Hotel on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing