We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not Shanahans on Green !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Its not Shanahans on Green !!!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Myself and a friend have eaten here several times over the last eighteen months or so . We ate there last week giving it one final outing as our previous experience to this was also disappointing.....what do I say steak cold as was veg staff very friendly as normal but the reality is that keenans is pub grub at a hugely inflated price .....I actuall believe the steaks could possibly be the most expensive outside of Dublin and sadly the quality does not match the prices of anything on the menu. Disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    43
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
60
56
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Recently stayed in Keenans hotel in Tarmonbarry and absolutely loved it. The hotel is small and so cosy, rooms are a delight, very clean with modern decor. Beautiful view overlooking the Shannon - a relaxing treat with lovely staff. Had dinner in the bar/restaurant downstairs which was delightful too. Can't say enough good things about this hotel and its staff and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Shannon are delightful. Family room is interconnecting plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlerea, Roscommon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I normally wouldn't both reviewing a place, but I went along last night for a bite to eat with the gang from work. Now, I got diagnosed as coeliac less than a year ago and it's eating out that's the hard part; I miss certain foods, and when i'm in a restaurant, it's a nice steak and chips that I REALLY miss. Anyway, in Keenan's last night, I ordered the alternative, the mash, and because the staff knew of my condition, I was told 'No, you can have the chips - we cook them separately'.

Dear reader, I have never been so happy. Sure, the pepper sauce was still off limits, but dammit, chips! It's nine months since I've had this! And it was delicious. Plenty of Gluten Free dessert options, and they very kindly did a GF garlic bread for me as well.

This was great service. Put it like this - I wouldn't normally drive to/from Dublin via Tarmonbarry. After my experience here, that might well change!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My family and I have being stopping off here for lunch for 8 years or so on our journey from Dublin to Roscommon up to 10 times a year as the food, service and hospitality is always excellent and extremely good value. There is a good choice on the menu which has a slight edge over your average pub grub and the food always comes out quick which is important when you have three hungry boys! The only down side is the toilets which are very dark and dingey and could do with updating, however that would not stop us from dining here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Recently went for Sunday dinner here with family and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff are so welcoming, friendly and nothing is too much even when they're run off their feet. It was really busy there, but you'd never feel like you were left waiting. Very attentive staff.
The food is yummy, really delicious, the nicest food i've had in a LONG time and I just can't wait to go back. Definitely one of my favorites now.

Will highly recommend :) :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flame187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My family and I had a lovely 3 night stay at Keenans. Theres a Great range of breakfast options and it was no trouble for items not on menu. Beautiful scenery, the Shannon flowed gently by our window. There's also a restaurant which is very popular, especially on Sunday, I would recommend you book a table. The bar is welcoming and friendly too. I could have stayed there forever. Thankyou to Annette and the team for looking after us.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here for one night in January and it was great from start to finish. Got a really warm welcome from all the staff, particularly Michelle, who's the owner I think. The hotel is furnished to a very high standard, is beautifully designed and the food is also great. Great views of the Shannon in the morning. The bar is really comfortable, has an old Irish pub feel to it and even the bar food is great. The only thing I would say is that the food is a little on the expensive side but as the portions are big and the food tasty we didn't mind too much. A great find. Enjoy it if you do go.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Shannon are good as the views are lovely in the morning. They also have a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryland_7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarmonbarry
5.1 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
221 reviews
13.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
664 reviews
7.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,107 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
223 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Property: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Address: Tarmonbarry, Tarmonbarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Tarmonbarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keenan's Boutique Hotel on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing