We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irish hospitality, Feel at home for Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Irish hospitality, Feel at home for Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently dined at Keenans for Sunday Dinner with my family, after two days of partying after a family wedding.
When we arrived we were given lovely seats. Typical pub food on offer with quite an extensive menu. Food very well presented and tasty. Staff were extremely friendly. I had the Fish and Chips, In-Laws had the Pork or Steak, lovley food but the chip were very dry, hard to swallow I love their Garlic Spuds and their Parsnip and Swede mash very good too. Chocolate Brownie for dessert, huge portions.

Plenty of Gluten Free dessert options, and they kindly do a GF Garlic Bread / chips -they cook them separately'. as well.

The only down side is the Disabiled toilets were up five steps, which is not much use when your dining in the Pub. Great views of the River Shannon from the bar. The food is expensive, Lunch in particular prices for the lunch menu around 13-15 euros which is too much to pay for pub food. Factor in a couple of drinks and you are nearly hitting 50 euro. excellent and a very good atmosphere in the bar

Thanks to all the family and staff at Keenan's for a great afternoon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    37
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
51
56
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a pretty hotel on the banks of the Shannon, it is a lovely location.

We stayed in one of the boutique rooms. They were nicely furnished with a little balcony over looking the river. The bed was comfy and there were good linens on the bed. Little things let it down a bit, a mess of wires hanging down behind the TV and the toliet roll holder having only the empty cardboard roll on it. Although thankfully there was toliet roll under the sink.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was a very good cold buffet. Excellent food served in a lovely restaurant area.

We ate dinner there also and it has a great menu and atmosphere. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This place is stunning and kept in immaculate condition! Food is excellent (especially the steak) and the welcome that you receive upon arrival is outstanding. Very accommodating staff for the late arrivers. The place is ideal if you have a car to tour around in. Most rooms have views across the river Shannon with a true feel of the "real" Ireland! This is not a massive place so book early. We ate in the restaurant whilst we stayed there but there is also a very highly recommended restaurant next to the hotel too I would certainly return without fail to Keenan's and wouldn't consider staying anyway else

Room Tip: Room number 7 is the perfect room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorderCollieSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We just had a light dinner, and really enjoyed the atmosphere and good food. The restaurant is right beside the River Shannon and not far from the docking area for the end of the Great Canal at Cloondara. We were referred to this restaurant by our host at Augherea Guest House, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great spot food lovely service the best the owner really knows how to treat his customers lovely man will def go back cant wait to return beautiful surroundings and character to hotel. bathrooms spotless and throughout shining credit to owner and staff

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulasfishandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I visited Keenan's recently with family members who were visiting the area. I had told them about the lovely food and they were looking forward to it. What a disappointment, we had fish, it was terrible, overcooked to a crisp, the salad was stale & soggy. I will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shep88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We always stop at Kenyans on the way down from Dublin to Mayo.The service is good and most of the food is nice.The best food to get is for a starter the vegetable soup,the main course for the adult the sea bass if you're not a fish person a burger a salad or a toasted sandwich,from the children's menu whatever they like (not huge but no children's menus are).There are also pros and cons one pro is if you have a dog the area is super for walks,one con is the parking usually i can find a nice spot but when I'm bringing the donkey up or down its quite annoying.Pro the bathroom facilities are way better than some other restraunts bathroom facilities.Con if it is busy the seating isn't good.Pro but if it is not busy the seating is very good.Con sometimes i would have to park my car across the road and this is bad because sometimes you have to wait for a long time for all the cars and trucks to.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank themadhatter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarmonbarry
6.2 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
13.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
7.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Property: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Address: Tarmonbarry, Tarmonbarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Tarmonbarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keenan's Boutique Hotel on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing