We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and two daughters. Really enjoyed our stay even though it was only for one night. Had a really fanastic meal in the bar that evening. Our inter-connecting bedrooms were small but very well appointed. Breakfast the following morning also very good. Staff friendly and efficient. Not the cheapest place to stay but worth every penny. Wish there were more places like this in Ireland - where people do an excellent job with obvious pride and charge a fair price for it. Will be back.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kfinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    37
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
53
56
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swinford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in Keenan's recently and found it a wonderful experience. Although I arrived a few hours before booking in time, I was immediately shown to my room. I had a coffee in the bar while waiting for friends and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We lunched there and the food was top class and served by professional and friendly staff. Dinner in the evening was a delight. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Our every need was catered for. The variety of fare for breakfast was extensive and delicious. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently dined at Keenans for Sunday Dinner with my family, after two days of partying after a family wedding.
When we arrived we were given lovely seats. Typical pub food on offer with quite an extensive menu. Food very well presented and tasty. Staff were extremely friendly. I had the Fish and Chips, In-Laws had the Pork or Steak, lovley food but the chip were very dry, hard to swallow I love their Garlic Spuds and their Parsnip and Swede mash very good too. Chocolate Brownie for dessert, huge portions.

Plenty of Gluten Free dessert options, and they kindly do a GF Garlic Bread / chips -they cook them separately'. as well.

The only down side is the Disabiled toilets were up five steps, which is not much use when your dining in the Pub. Great views of the River Shannon from the bar. The food is expensive, Lunch in particular prices for the lunch menu around 13-15 euros which is too much to pay for pub food. Factor in a couple of drinks and you are nearly hitting 50 euro. excellent and a very good atmosphere in the bar

Thanks to all the family and staff at Keenan's for a great afternoon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a pretty hotel on the banks of the Shannon, it is a lovely location.

We stayed in one of the boutique rooms. They were nicely furnished with a little balcony over looking the river. The bed was comfy and there were good linens on the bed. Little things let it down a bit, a mess of wires hanging down behind the TV and the toliet roll holder having only the empty cardboard roll on it. Although thankfully there was toliet roll under the sink.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and there was a very good cold buffet. Excellent food served in a lovely restaurant area.

We ate dinner there also and it has a great menu and atmosphere. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This place is stunning and kept in immaculate condition! Food is excellent (especially the steak) and the welcome that you receive upon arrival is outstanding. Very accommodating staff for the late arrivers. The place is ideal if you have a car to tour around in. Most rooms have views across the river Shannon with a true feel of the "real" Ireland! This is not a massive place so book early. We ate in the restaurant whilst we stayed there but there is also a very highly recommended restaurant next to the hotel too I would certainly return without fail to Keenan's and wouldn't consider staying anyway else

Room Tip: Room number 7 is the perfect room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorderCollieSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We just had a light dinner, and really enjoyed the atmosphere and good food. The restaurant is right beside the River Shannon and not far from the docking area for the end of the Great Canal at Cloondara. We were referred to this restaurant by our host at Augherea Guest House, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great spot food lovely service the best the owner really knows how to treat his customers lovely man will def go back cant wait to return beautiful surroundings and character to hotel. bathrooms spotless and throughout shining credit to owner and staff

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulasfishandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarmonbarry
13.2 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
13.9 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
7.9 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Property: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Address: Tarmonbarry, Tarmonbarry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Tarmonbarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarmonbarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keenan's Boutique Hotel on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing