We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Break”

Keenan's of Tarmonbarry
Price range: US$8 - US$51
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant on the Roscommon Longford border offers an experience not to be missed. Welcomed by a warm reception from the owners Barry and Annette and their friendly staff, taste our superb, award winning food and stay in our stylish, luxury boutique bedrooms with a stunning view of the River Shannon. Our boutique hotel and restaurant marries in with our traditional but classic bar, blending old and new, where history and tradition meet luxury and style.Keenan's is strategically located in the picturesque village of Tarmonbarry. The first Hotel, Bar and Restaurant in the West, when travelling on the N5 from Dublin to Mayo. Situated on the Longford Roscommon border on the banks of the River Shannon, where East meets West. Located on the N5, between Longford town and Strokestown, approx 135km from Dublin Airport and 125km from Westport, perfect place to break a long journey.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
316 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Breakfast Break”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Halfway between Dublin and the West , an ideal stop good off road parking .

Stopped for breakfast on Sunday , rang ahead and make booking , top class choice , hot breakfast prepared to order , hot and fresh , good value , pleasant staff well worth the wait for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Genouilly, France
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a table for 14 to celebrate my Mother-in-law's 85th birthday. The food was bad, the service terrible. Would never willing go there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDMcGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Solid but good be much better”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First of all the positives, Nice setting and well laid out bar with a friendly male owner.
Negatives: Food only all right. Not cheap and staff a bit stressed by female boss who does not seem very relaxed. Overall it is Ok but huge room for improvement - (If that is what is desired as I presume most of their trade is passing).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heaneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pity about the boss...”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Excellent, good value food served by really friendly efficient young waitreses who are excellent at their job.just a pity that the atmosphere is ruined by a nasty proprietor/ manageress who clearly snipes at her staff in a manner that could only make a customer feel uncomfortable, watching clearly capable staff being treated like minions by a lady on a power trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sheana321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped off en route from Westport to Wicklow for a quick bite and were overwhelmed initially by the plaques on the door and then by the volume of people inside. The owner was instantly able to accommodate us, and the waiting staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. My seafood chowder was excellent (I am VERY fussy about my chowder!!) and came with a mini loaf of fresh baked delicious bread. The service was consistently prompt despite how busy it was, and the prices were reasonable considering the standard of the food. We were only disappointed we couldn't stay for dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ciara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keenan's of Tarmonbarry also viewed

Tarmonbarry, County Roscommon
 

Been to Keenan's of Tarmonbarry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing