We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for stopping off on way to St Malo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir de la Grande Mettrie
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Great place, lovely atmosphere.I Note previous traveller said it was a bit dated-of course it is, it's sixteenth century! Room comfy with good ensuite. Stairs a bit alarming if you are 75, but OK when you got to know them
Owners friendly and very helpful, and put themselves out to make us feel at home over dinner where we were the only Anglophones. Dinner is an experience! 12of us along a long table all chatting to each other and eating at French pace. Don't plan an excursion after dinner!
Food was excellent, the breakfast bread was the best I have ever eaten.
My only criticisms are there was no decaf coffee available and it wasn't clear what was a public area and what wasn't

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2009

Our room was a bit dated and the same for the bath, but a good value. The hosts are excellent, the house is very old and interesting and rather hard to find without GPS. The breakfast was nice with banana bread/cake and other breads. The Dinner was excellent and a great value with wine, cidre, coffee, nibbles, salad, main meal and vegs, cheese and dessert--wow.
Very family friendly it seems. Given the room and dinner totaled something like 75E, we felt it was a good place to stay. Above all, the hosts were very welcoming and warm.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

This B&B was recommended to us by friends who live in the area and had their wedding reception there. It's in a very quiet location about 2km outside of Dol-de-Bretagne and provides the perfect base to explore Brittany and Normandy.

The most amazing thing for us was when we arrived and discovered that we are about to sleep in an ancient Norman farmhouse built in the 13th century! The granite stone walls are thick, the fireplace in the restaurant HUGE, the staircase could fit a horse and rider going up (which is one of the many legends told in this place).

We had the family room, equiped with a double bed, bunk beds and ensuite bathroom. The furniture was simple and a bit older (though by no means antique!). It was one of the largest family rooms we've ever encountered on our travels. The ensuite bathroom was small, the shower tiny - but clean and efficient.

We were more interested in the original loophole windows! Who cares if this doesn't allow for much light in the room. It is historic and we didn't spend much time in there during daylight hours anyways.

Breakfast was served by the friendly owner. She made sure our kids felt comfortable on their first day in France. The breakfast was typical French: baguette, butter, jams, some juice, hot chocolate or coffee. Nothing special but served in a room with amazing atmosphere.

The owner also cooks lunch or dinner if requested at a very reasonable price (you have to order the day before). We were out and about too much to take her up on this offer. Our friends told us that the food they had for their wedding reception was wonderful.

This B&B offers simple 3 star accommodation. But the friendly service and the historic atmosphere most certainly deserve 5 stars. All this in one of the most inexpensive places we ever stayed as a family with young kids.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadabaerchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Monique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gillesbruynooghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manoirmettrie, Propriétaire at Manoir de la Grande Mettrie, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicolas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manoirmettrie, Propriétaire at Manoir de la Grande Mettrie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Daniele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manoir de la Grande Mettrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Grande Mettrie

Address: 101 Lieu Dit la Grande Mettrie, 35120 Roz-Landrieux, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Roz-Landrieux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roz-Landrieux
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the Emerald Coast, in the country of Dol de Bretagne, come and see an attractive and authentic Manor of Brittany from the XIIIth and XVIth century which has remarkable architectural elements (stairs, octogonal chimney, a "poivrière" tower...).On the wooded grounds, full of flowers, you'll appreciate moments of calm and quietness.Situated less than 25minutes from the Mont Saint Michel, Saint Malo and Cancale, we will welcome you in one of our five bed and breakfast room or in our guest house (holiday cottage) inside the Manor.Join us for diner at our "Table d'hôtes" to taste some local and regional specialities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manoir de la Grande Mettrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing