We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people, amazing food, and a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carneval Ocean View
Ranked #1 of 1 Cable Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Martha and Roly were great hosts. They were very accommodating and helped us to find interesting things to do in the area. Roly is an amazing chef - the breakfasts were fabulous! We would recommend anyone to stay at Carneval.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToCanadianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

Comfortable clean room with great view down to the ocean, and great location - right across from the beach, albeit a VERY steep walk down the driveway! But what made this stay so fabulous for us was the great warmth and hospitality by Roly and Martha - two of the nicest B & B owners we've ever come across, incredibly generous with their space, their time and their advice, and especially their amazing breakfasts out on the deck overlooking the ocean, featuring a ridiculous amount of mouthwatering food! We absolutely recommend the Carneval Ocean View unequivocally! Our only complaint was that we had to leave too soon!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MkerrCanmore_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Carneval could be described as a boutique bed and breakfast. As we arrived we were not sure that we were at the right place, my first reaction was to say "no thank you" however we were encouraged by Martha to view our suite and what a joy to behold. Generous space, immaculately clean, attractively decorated and furnished we warmed to it immediately. No sooner settled and we were invited for a glass of wine on an expansive patio with fantastic elevated sea views . What a great place to relax, and with Martha and Roly as hosts nothing is too much trouble, they were so attentive for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmwole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in late February at the end of a 4 week tour of New Zealand and it was the most wonderful end to an incredible holiday. Martha and Roly were excellent hosts and provided first class accommodation with a stunning view. The continental breakfast eaten at leisure on the terrace made a perfect start to the day. Over breakfast Martha and Roly advised us on areas to visit in the region. The room was spacious, very comfortable and clean.
Excellent value for money.
Surpassed all our expectations.
Don't be put off by the steep drive the view is well worth it!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank wjmBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Had 2 great nights at Carneval. From our arrival sitting admiring the view on the grass with a complementary glass of wine and local macademias we knew we were in for a great stay. Fantastic hosts with great attention to detail and fun conversation at an extensive breakfast. Great base to do the Paradise 4x4 90 mile beach tour too - not to be missed. Also fish and chips doen in Monganui - best in the world? Not far off! Have to see the double horseshoe beaches of Matai bay too. Hope to return here and would definitely recommend this accommodation to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRich_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Stayed three nights at Carneval Ocean View. We were warmly welcomed by Martha and Roly and given lots of information about the area over drinks and nibbles. Our room overlooked the bay with a fantastic view that you usually only see in glossy magazines, Bathroom was large and also with great view. Had excellent dinner with Roly, Martha and two other guests. Breakfasts were delicous with home made preserves and bircher musesli. We had a great stay and would certainly return if we could. Martha and Roly made it perfect by being so personable and friendly - just great hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This is a perfect place. Martha & Roly are very nice and experienced hosts. They were the pevious owners of a big Hotel in Hertenstein/Weggis, Lake of Lucerne , Switzerland.
We would like to come back again, but it is a long way from Switzerland.

Es isch eifach schön do !!!

Hannes & Therese Erni , Citizens of Lucerne, Switzerland.
We were also staying in Auckland several times for longer periods.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cable Bay
2.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cable Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Carneval Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneval Ocean View

Address: 360 State Highway 10 | Cable Bay, Cable Bay, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Cable Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cable Bay
Price Range: £90 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carneval Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation with panoramic views overlooking picturesque Doubtless Bay. Designed to Mediterranean style in spacious landscaped gardens, Carneval offers European-style B&B accommodation with two king size ensuite bedrooms. Heated with Finnish Tulikivi wall heating, a Tulikivi fire warms the lounge in winter.A short stroll to the safe swimming beach of Cable Bay, where guests enjoy relaxing in the sun, swimmming or fishing. Your hosts, Martha ad Roly, speak Swiss, German and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Carneval Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing