We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubtless Bay Villas
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Lodge Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$137
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
US$88
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs(Matauri Bay)(Great Value!)
US$2,006
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huntaway Lodge(Te Ngaere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
113
20
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
20
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villatwo nightsstunning viewsdoubtless bayfull kitchena wonderful stayyear anniversaryserviced dailycould have been betterwell laid outabove averageprivate balconyluxury studioflights of stairsdownstairs areatennis courtsexceeds expectations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is truly the best located of all those we saw as we drove through Northland. The views from the room we had were stunning. The room itself was beautiful and were well decorated.

The negatives were that there were dead spiders and other insects along the walls. Given that it would take 1 min to vacuum them, I thought it was disappointing that they were there even after our room had been serviced. The other was the aunts. We had to spray and wipe down the kitchenette many times on arrival and throughout our stay. We couldn't make use of their tea and coffee because there were aunts all over them! Not sure what they could do to fix that but it was the one detractor from being a 5 star hotel.

Despite that, we loved the place and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Protraveller1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Perfect weekend away, very tidy accommodation with an amazing view and living space. All the facilities available and a quick walk to the beach. Close to some fantastic beaches in New Zealand's far North.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghan004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I'm afraid to say too much in this review as then the secret will be out! We stayed in Villa Number 22, a corner unit at the front, so the views were spectacular. The whole place is comfortable, spacious, well equipped, homely, views you can just sit and look out at all day, so if it rains it doesn't matter. Steve and Shanny were great. One of us had a (really good) birthday and we needed a tin and scales to bake a cake and they lent us theirs. Good location, near Mangonui, near Kare Kare Peninsula, and a great beach just at the bottom of the road. Highly recommend Doubtless Bay Villas, we'll definitely come again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ailsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I had a 3 night stay with friends who had a 2 level 2 bedroom villa for a week. I stayed in an immaculate, spacious studio apartment directly below, with uninterrupted views of Doubtless Bay and the hillside from the floor to ceiling side window, an extra bonus from being in the end villa. Opening two internal doors created a 3 level 3 bedroom villa with views to die for. The verandah off the living/dining area comfortably seats 6 for outdoor dining and the kitchen was very well equipped, which made cooking easy and enjoyable. There is also a toilet and separate laundry on the living room level. Picturesque Mangonui, with its great fish shop and 1904 Cafe, is a 5 minute drive away and the walk to the beach is about the same. There's a tennis court with great views and the hosts were happy to provide racquets and balls. Everything looked clean, new and well maintained. The only thing to complain about was my tennis playing.

Room Tip: No. 22, the end villa is great because of the side windows. The second bedroom upstairs had brilliant views too.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halandri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My family and I stayed in a beautiful villa for a week, it was wonderful and oh so relaxing. Our villa was equipped with everything you could need, great kitchen and amenities, comfortable beds, large lounge, and a hop-skip-and-jump to the closest beach. There are many fantastic beaches and walks to explore nearby, the managers are very knowledgeable and ready to help! Nothing better than waking up to a great view and ending your day with sundowner's on the balcony overlooking the bay. Easy to get to too! Thank you Doubtless Bay Villas!

Room Tip: We had the left corner villa at the front - I think it has the best view! And shot-gun the master bedroom if you can!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews