We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Equator Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Equator Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is no-noncence, clean and good. Thank God there's no disco, no karaoke, no nothing noisy!

Rooms are spotless clean, tv, tea station, air-conditioner and bathroom facilities work excellently.

The meals in an all-inclusive restaurant are just great: the curry dishes they cook are really the best I've ever tasted, and I've been to 5stars hotels!!

But the hotel lacks the beach. If you're in search of endless white sand, it's not your choice. But!!! Snorkeling is simply great, lots of marine life on the home reef.


Situated on the inhabited island, hotel provides the unique opportunity to see the everyday life of Maldive's people. Do not hesitate to take a bicycle and see for yourself!

Though bicycles are rubbish, choose one in a garage thoughtfully ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lillamy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

You get a chance to discover life in Maldives with local culture. It is something more than being closed in tourist ghetto. There are possibilities like cycling around group of islands, snorkel trips by boat or boat trip to uninhabited island, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Veroniqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My first trip to the Maldives was as an NCO with the Royal Air Force in the mid 1970's - the place RAF Gan. The base closed down in 1976 and is now a fashionable luxury resort. So back to the same venue to take a look.
The original military facilities on the island have all now been adapted to become the new tourist accommodation, it all brought back lots memories but the change has been successful.
As ever the local people of the Maldives and especially Addu Attol are just amazing, so helpful and always smiling.
Food, bar service, pool, snorkeling in fact all the facilities are to be recommended.
Certainly not 5 star but the price reflects this, it does not aim to compete with the more expensive resorts in the Maldives but this is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LawrenceSalvoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have just got back from 2 weeks at the Equator Village, the staff are very friendly and so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for all staff members, the food was excellent for choice and taste. The accommodation was a little dated but very comfortable. The free snorkelling excursions are unbelievably good value as was the island hopping trip. There is also free bicycle hire and a road long enough to get a bit of exercise. The house reef offers a good selection of fish and coral. All in all the Equator Village is like a home from home, with all nationalities made very welcome. A recommendation for anybody who is looking at a holiday in the Maldives.

Room Tip: End rooms are nearer to the beach eg 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I was stationed on Gan 1970/71 7 was eager to see how much it had changed, so went back on a re-union trip with several other ex-gannites.
The Equator Village hotel was the old Sgts Mess, & apart from a coat of paint and a superb swimming pool, nothing had changed.
The rooms were basic, but spotlessly clean. Not luxury, but more than adequate.
The meals were excellent, with a fairly wide choice of food... & plenty of it !!!
The staff were brilliant..friendly & helpful...nothing was too much trouble.
The diving is still excellent, as is swimming in the warm Indian Ocean, plus the EV runs a snorkelling boat to a house reef, twice daily...free.
Don't expect 5 star luxury. What you will get is 5 star Plus friendliness.
Gan has changed... considerably. Would I go back....We are already organising another re-union meeting for 2015

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rafascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just returned from this resort and feel it important to comment - Having been lucky enough to visit the Maldives quite a few times this hotel and location was great. A chance to experience the real Maldive life style and not just the resort hotel, beach, drinks package. - Clean rooms, nice food, free snorkeling & island hop trips, free bikes to use - for the money is was really good. Also lucky enough to meet ex stationed RAF staff re visiting on holiday who happily took us on a guided tour and shared their history & experiences of the base. - Go and see it - we will be returning Bob & Paulette Dec 2013

Room Tip: Hard to beat for value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BobHBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I long researched our Maldives holiday, we had a budget and were hoping to find 2 weeks all inclusive - well we did in spades. What excellent value 2 weeks at Equator Village turned out to be. The room was very comfortable, including a movie TV channel and an excellent shower. The food was delicious, freshly made soup at every lunch and dinner, with freshly made bread at each meal, delicious fresh fruit and lovely buffet choices. The staff were so friendly and helpful, thanks Ali and Abdul. We enjoyed riding out on the bikes to find deserted beaches. Our friend walked to a local cafe from the beach, to see if she could buy some take away drinks, she returned empty handed, only for the waiter to follow to take our order. Beautiful location, peaceful place, food and company fantastic. Very much hope to visit again. John and Sue, Gloucester

Room Tip: We had room 104, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Burgie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gan Island
1.7 mi away
Wave Sound by 3S Maldives
Wave Sound by 3S Maldives
#4 of 4 in Addu Atoll
10 reviews
7.4 mi away
Canareef Resort Maldives
Canareef Resort Maldives
#1 of 1 in Herathera Island
265 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Equa Reef Maldives
Equa Reef Maldives
#1 of 1 in Feydhoo Island
11 reviews
9.1 mi away
Charming Holiday Lodge
Charming Holiday Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meedhoo Island
8 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aquaventure Manta Lodge
Aquaventure Manta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maradhoo Island
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equator Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equator Village

Address:
Region: Maldives > Addu Atoll > Gan Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gan Island
Price Range: £80 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Equator Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Equator Village spa resort- the alluring tropical beauty of Addu Atoll. Nestled in one of the largest, most interestingly formed and historically rich atolls of Maldives, an exotic adventure begins the moment you start your journey from INIA to Gan International Airport. This is not your typical Maldivian resort; this is an equatorial escape into a land of culture and nature entwined together ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Equator Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equator Village Hotel Gan
Equator Village Seenu Atoll
Equator Village Maldives/Gan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing