We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* Quality at Fair Prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Chez Hugo

Restaurant Chez Hugo
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Seillans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant ouvert en Septembre 2012 par les freres Hugo et Stephane. Cuisine traditionnelle entierement fait maison, revisitee et modernisee par Hugo, servie par Stephane dans le cadre merveilleux d'un des plus beaux villages de France.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5* Quality at Fair Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our second visit to this restaurant, and we were not disappointed. The quality of the food matched up to that of our first visit late last year. I might add that we are locals, and were recommended the restaurant by French friends who also live in the region.
For starters we chose whitebait and our guests chose a cooked foie gras dish which was outstanding. Our whitebait was superbly fried, not at all oily, and presented with an excellent home made tartar sauce.
For the main course, three of us chose fillet of beef, which was superbly cooked, tasted fantastic and could not be faulted in any way. Our other guest chose a curried chicken dish which was superbly and subtly spiced. Our empty plates reflected our enjoyment of the food!
For desert we managed to share a pair of crème brulées, and they were superb.
We found the service to be efficient whilst being informal and friendly at the same time.
The setting is nowhere near as nice as la Gloire de mon Pere in Seillans village, but the food more than compensates for this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuartpmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    71
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in charming restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a great family experience here! The whole family truly enjoyed the food and our kids even tried things they would not normally eat, fried whole fish, and loved it. The service is friendly and the food is very well presented and delicious. We have just reserved for one more evening during our stay in Seillans. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jens_mogensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
314 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Still better than many others but quality falling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We went on a tuesday evening - resto full - and were dissapointed. The foie gras starter was too cold and the block of foie too hard to enjoy. It should have been given a bit of time at warm up. The steak was the biggest dissapointment - in previous visits, these steaks were small but delicious, but now they were almost double and despite asking for a point, both of us received steaks that were well done (no rose meat anywhere) and both had fat and undigestable hard pieces (which we fed to Ceasar the cat). The sauces were also far too reduced and mainly salty and very sticky. The maigre fish dish was excellent though. The deserts panacota and the home made ice creams were also very good. We did not see Hugo otherwise we may have given a hint. The service can be challenging (sometimes too fast, too slow and you have to ask and remind the team). We will try again and hope the formula stays pure and honest.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

One of the best meals ever!!! Great service and fantastic enviroment
Almost everything in the menu i local. Will guaranteed comeback back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Niklas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

A dreary rainy day but inside cosy and welcoming. The food was superb, fresh and cooked to perfection, a symphony of flavours. I'm looking forward to coming back to enjoy the terrace in the summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jillcT2077UY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Chez Hugo also viewed

Seillans, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Seillans, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Seillans, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing