We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem at the end of a bumpy road”
Review of The Smuggler's Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Consejo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Smuggler's Den
Ranked #1 of 1 Consejo B&B and Inns
Farmington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem at the end of a bumpy road”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in November 2013. We were wondering what it was going to be like after the pot hole road we had travelled, and were very happy with our accommodations once we got there. As there were 4 of us we stayed in Casa Kyle, it was very comfortable and we had the place to ourselves. Supper and breakfast at the restaurant were delicious. We were invited and attended a fundraiser at the local bar and met some very friendly folks. Due to the extreme amount of storms and rain they had that month, the water was not that clean (there are rivers that run it near there) so the water was a little dirty, but still is a very pretty spot. This is a great place if you want to get away from it all and relax, however, if you are expecting to be basking on white sandy beaches and taking a dip in the sea, you might be a little disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmuggDenBZ, Owner at The Smuggler's Den, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hey you guys!

Thanks for your kind review! We are truly grateful for your patience and understanding. This had to be the most active rainy season in the many years we've been here.

Sincerely,


Ray and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A buddy and I stopped in at Smugglers Den for 2 nights several years ago. We were there in the off season and had the entire place to ourselves. As noted in some of the other reviews, it is one heck of a drive on the Northern Highway but very worth it!
This is not your typical 500 room resort, this is a true gem carved out of the jungle by Ray and Rosa over the years. They have something for everyone from a 1 room unit to a 2 bedroom cottage.
If we are ever back in Belize, I will definitely return with my wife!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southbound4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

It was a bumpy road out to Consejo and arriving at night made things interesting but the owner was incredibly welcoming and helpful, and our stay was almost perfect - plenty to keep my little boy interested including a kayak to take out on the calm sea water with beautiful cabinas to sleep in at night. And the dinners in the restaurant were delicious too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon_the_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in the Casa Leo unit for a total of 4 nights. The location is beautiful and serene - we got the most restful sleep at this location. The bay is calming and feels great. Ray & Rosa are AMAZING! They welcome you right in. Rosa may be the nicest person I've ever met! The snowbirds residing in surrounding properties are fun and provide entertaining stories. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex_and_Tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belize
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

amazing service and worth every penny. if u come to Belize u must come here to experience the authenticity.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

i stayed at the smuggler's den with a small group of friends. we were all frozen by northeast weather and exhausted and in need of some recharging. somehow, with the houses being literally a couple of steps from our own beach and all the dramatic sunrises and stars and the water hitting the shore, you almost immediately start breathing slower and deeper and your pace slows down and then you somehow not notice that a week went by and you need to pack up and go back to the cold. it probably also helps in this whole vacation-enjoyment deal that the staff is incredibly accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penechek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I have never stayed anyplace that made me feel more at home than Smuggler's Den. The accommodations were immaculate and the food was great. We were only able to stay two nights but when we left, we felt like we were leaving old friends. Ray and his family and staff are the kind of warm, loving people that make the world a better place. I'm glad I got to meet them and hope I get the opportunity to return for a longer visit. I'd love to see little Akira grow...gotta be good, surrounded by so much love!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pocostaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Consejo
8.9 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
540 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Sea Breeze Hotel
The Sea Breeze Hotel
#3 of 6 in Corozal Town
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villanueva
Hotel Villanueva
#6 of 20 in Chetumal
186 reviews
2.6 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#4 of 20 in Chetumal
267 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rancho Encantado
Rancho Encantado
#1 of 9 in Bacalar
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smuggler's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smuggler's Den

Property: The Smuggler's Den
Address: Old Smuggler's Den Road, Consejo, Belize
Region: Belize > Corozal > Consejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Consejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built using mostly natural materials, Smuggler's Den sits on a small private beach overlooking Chetumal Bay. We are a family run facility in a quiet, low volume area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing