We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise in the Langhe!”
Review of Maiale Pezzato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maiale Pezzato
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sinio
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprise in the Langhe!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked the osteria through booking.com and didn't know what to expect: is was a big surprise! Nice big room and a great bathroom. We stayed in a room that can be shared with 4 people, a ground floor and an upstairs. Two double beds. We didn't use the upstairs! No airco, but the room was nice cool and stayed that way even when the temperature was hot! You can book breakfast. It's not big, but enough: juice, coffee or tea, some toast and cake or croissants (with filling). The Owner Claudio is helpfull but try to speak Italian or French. If you try he's willing to do things and you can have a nice conversation with him. If you start in English or German, it takes some time!
If you want to have diner you have to make a reservation. The food is great: starting with 4 antipasti from the region, then a choice of pasta's (6-8 choices, the same the 2 times we had diner) and a secundi (meat, 2 choices) and dolci. It's a lot, so we didn't get to the secundi! You pay for each course, it's not cheap but worthwile!.
The swimming pool is small, but nice. Enough sunbeds around it.
The place itself is nice and quiet. The owners did their best to decorate it.
Sinio is a very small place with nothing to do. There are 2 other restaurants, one is a pizzeria (5 minutes walk at the most) with good food and not so expensive.
Free parking in front of the Osteria.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were two couples who stayed 3 nights. Loved the property & our rooms. Gorgeous views, clean, unique, with grounds well kept. Pool very nice.

Issues with owner/proprietor were:

1.internet access advertised as free was inaccurate. Only available free for 1 hour daily, with spotty reception. Needed to subscribe for more time at a price.

2. Using of timed light in stairwell & 2nd floor hallway is dangerous. Default setting is off leaving stairs & hallway utterly & absolutely pitch black. Timer on for 30 seconds resulting in light going off when entering stairs/hallway. Unsafe.

3. Breakfast limited to toast, juice, coffees/tea. No protein. For once we were longing for coldcuts and cheese. Other, less expensive places during iur tine in Italy offered much more.

4. Proprietor doesn't show hospitality or care for guests. Evident in internet misrepresentation, breakfast offerings & more. Specifically, 3 of 5 dogs owned by Proprietor bark upon arrival/departure from property entrance. Startling but you don't hear them otherwise. Three dogs are locked up, the other 2 are friendly. The 7 feral cats are cute & keep to themselves. And finally, the proprietor ran a circular saw at 7:30 am under our bedroom window. Way too early & evidence that guests are secondary thought.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank W0w_Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

The house is very nice, our room is well sized and clean. We have a huge terrace on the first floor with very nice views in multiple directions. Very nice hiking trails to serralunga and montelupo start directly in front of the house. However there are some flaws. Some five small dogs belong to the house that we named "the piemontese barking dogs". Until late in the evening they tend to bark a lot. When entering or leaving the premises they bark at the guests as well. They turned out to be friendly but they make noise. the toilettes flush quite nosily. Sounds like a large ship's horn.
Right the first night I had a conflict with the owner because I asked whether I could have vegetarian meals for dinner. I found his reaction aggressive and intolerant. A simple "I am sorry we don't offer vegetarian dishes" woukd have been fine. But I don't like to be yelled at for asking the question.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HeikoVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

It's a fantastic place to relax and enjoy great italian lifestyle: neat garden with deck chairs for siesta, nicely furnished house and restaurant to enjoy fresh homemade italian food and charming rooms to have a nap after a good bottle of Barolo. Last but not least: owner pampers his guests and has a good sense of humour.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank findoutmawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinio
9.0 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
139 reviews
8.9 mi away
Villa San Carlo Hotel
Villa San Carlo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cortemilia
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ca' del Lupo
Hotel Ca' del Lupo
#1 of 1 in Montelupo Albese
380 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#3 of 10 in Alba
392 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Relais Montemarino
Hotel Relais Montemarino
#1 of 1 in Borgomale
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maiale Pezzato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maiale Pezzato

Property: Maiale Pezzato
Address: Via Carlo Coccio 2, 12050 Sinio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Sinio
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sinio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maiale Pezzato 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Maiale Pezzato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing