We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingfisher Ecolodge
Nearby Hotels
Maly Hotel(Phonsavan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chittavanh Hotel(Phonsavan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Favanhmai Hotel(Phonsavan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Phouchan Resort(Phonsavan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
58
35
14
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
35
14
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonly complaintwater buffalobeautiful surroundingsreturn visitjungle trekoff the beaten tracknearby villageelephantslodgelaoskingfisherwetlandsexperiencemassimopaksebalconyvillagers
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent 2 nights at the KingFisher Eco Lodge. It is important to remember that this is not an hotel, and as such offers a wholly different experience. You will have to adapt to the swamp type noises at night and share your environment with the wildlife and bugs. The rooms are beautiful and the food very good. The staff were pleasant and attentive. The elephant trekking is a must. If you are a wimp, avoid this place, otherwise try out what we believed was a most rewarding experience! The owner took the time to speak to his guests to explain the origin of the project and listen to custmer feedback.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WitleyCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our lodge and I completely agree with you about Kingfisher Ecolodge not being a "normal" hotel but a more of a place where people can experience a closer encounter with tropical nature which, of course, may not always be pleasant for some people.

Many greetings to you and your family from all of our staff and we hope to see you again.

Massimo Mera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our first stop on this return visit to Laos and we were tired from the usual frenzied activity prior to departing on holidays. We couldn't have picked a better place to sit back and allow normal life stress to slip away. We stayed the first night in the shared eco house (we booked last min and that was all they had available) and then moved for two nights to the comfort bungalows.

The ecolodges were good but we are not big on the bathroom sharing thing. We adored the comfort lodges - I think they look better than any pics we saw. Lay out great - functional yet really lovely. Bed comfy - loved the vast expanse of glass so we could wake up and look straight out to the plain and those gorgeous elephants.

We spent hours on our balcony - one of us in the hammock, the other on the chair. Restful, peaceful bliss.

Massimo is a gracious host and he ensured that everything went very smoothly for us. The food was also excellent. It really was a perfect way to start our holiday, thank you Massimo and all your lovely staff

Room Tip: Suggest opting for a comfort bungalow if your budget allows
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloeyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for staying at Kingfisher Ecolodge and for this nice review.
Of course I cannot but agree with you that the comfort bungalows can give a much better experience while staying at our lodge.

They were designed for that while the eco rooms were built later on to meet the request of people having a lower budget available for their trip as we thought that we should give everyone the possibility to stay in our lodge but, on the other end, one cannot pretend to have the same for a much lower price :)

I, and all the staff, hope to be able to welcome you again in another occasion.

Best regards.

Massimo Mera
Owner / Kingfisher Ecolodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I spent two nights in one of the eco-houses, with two rooms per building and shared bath. The setting itself is beautiful and tranquil, and it was fun to see the elephants grazing in the meadow beyond the lodge. The views from the shared houses are somewhat obscured by random vegetation and the grounds are weeding and poorly kept relative to the higher priced bungalows. The first night I was there a large group of men stayed in the rooms across the path from me. They were very noisy, and I could smell their cigarette smoke and hear their radio playing into the night. They left lights on in the shared baths and there were insects everywhere. The next night they left and the place was much more tranquil. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything in the adjacent rooms. I believe that my experience would have been better had I splurged on a bungalow.

Room Tip: Splurge on a bungalow.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

I would like, as usual, to thank the guest for the review.

I'm sorry to hear that your experience at our lodge has been spolied by bad behaviour of other guests, unfortunately we cannot monitor what's happening in each room therefore everything is left to the level of respect between each other and we can't do much more.

I completely agree with you that staying in one of the comfort bungalows would give a much better experience than staying in the eco rooms (especially when there is unpolite people staying next to you) but I also understand that not everybody has the necessary budget for the more expensive rooms thus having to find a compromise.

Regarding you comment ".. views from the shared houses are somewhat obscured by random vegetation and the grounds are weeding and poorly kept relative to the higher priced bungalows", as you may have noticed we do gardening only in the area close to the reception/restaurant and a little near the bungalows by choice. There is a very thin layer of soil above the rocks in this area (if not flooded during the rainy season) thus being very difficult to grow anything if not natural existing vegetation (weeds as you call) or by adding a thick layer of soil.
Furthermore the watering of such a huge area around all the rooms would use (better, waste) thousands of liters of water every day, for such reason and since we decided to have an "eco"
approach in our lodge we have left everything as it was if not for some cleaning now and then, you should see how would be overgrown the area if we wouldn't do that, especially during the rainy season.

With regards.

Massimo Mera
Owner / Kingfisher Ecolodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just came back from an holiday trip to Laos and Kingfisher Echolodge has been a wonderful two days experience. The lodge is very charming, immersed into nature, peacefull and away from touristic circuits. Don't miss one day elephant trip in the jungle! It is great, the boy who guide is smart and shows a lot of curiousities about plants and nature. We found a warm welcome from the management of the lodge, Massimo and his wife are really worth to meet and the restaurant is a top quality! I deeply recommend a stop by.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review, it is always a pleasure for us to have nice people like you at our lodge and we always appreciate our guests appreciation!

We hope to be able to welcome you once more in ban Khiet Ngong.

Massimo Mera
Owner / Kingfisher Ecolodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Provides a different perspective on Laos as its away from the tourist trails on the Mekong.was initially skeptical of the location, but if you want a glimpse into the rural heart of Laos, KF Lodge is a good place. The activities are all run by residents living in the nearby villages, and most of your money goes to them, the elephants and the nature reserve.

We did two days of elephant related activities, but frankly, I think one day (considering it was only a 3 night stay) would have been enough. riding elephants isn't the easiest thing!

Room was clean, well designed, generally comfortable. My mattress was a little worn (could feel the springs) but I'll admit I'm a bit fussy.

Food was really excellent. The fish dishes were the best.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izabellachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews