We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous place and the best I stayed in whilst in Laos”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ban Khiet Ngong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingfisher Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
312 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Tremendous place and the best I stayed in whilst in Laos”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Happened upon this place and stayed in one of the bungalows. The staff were not really the best encountered in Laos, but they were friendly and helpful. If you like the thought of sitting in a hammock in an eco/enviro friendly place as elephants go by then this is for you. The food was also good considering how far from Pakse we were.

The list of tours/things to do did not quite materialise as the website said. But I ended up trekking with elephants and that ain't so bad. All in all, really loved this place and would be happy to go back there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
We thank you very much the guest for the positive review of our lodge, it is always a pleasure, and really rewarding, to receive such good comments from our guests.

I would like, however, to point out that the activities (tours) mentioned on our website are always subject to availability if not booked in advance (this warning is also present on our "activities" page website), mainly for the obvious reasons that we cannot have so many English speaking guides for each room of our lodge and/or because the elephants in the nearby village are limited and therefore not always available with a short notice.

We are happy that the guests enjoyed, in any case, the available activity with elephants and we hope that we will be able to completely fulfill their requests in a possible future visit to our lodge.

Massimo Mera
Managing Director and Owner of Kingfisher Ecolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    33
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
61
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We spent 2 nights in Kingfisher Ecolodge and our stay was very great. Our bungalow was very nice and very confortable with a beautiful view. The ecolodge's staff is friendly. We did with us the tour "elephant jungle safari" : a day in the jungle on elephant with picnic - very good !
To enjoy nature, nice landscapes and quiet area, Kingfisher Ecolodge is a very good place !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnAsieEtAilleurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is a lovely romantic lodge! Each room is self contained up on stilts, very private, and beautiful. The rooms have romantic four poster beds with mosquito netting, and there is a porch with a hammock overlooking a rice field and a marsh. We saw a plenty of birds, butterflies, buffalo, and even an elephant grazing. The lodge can arrange for you to go on treks and elephant rides. I took the mahout training and found it to be a marvelous experience with No, my guide and trainer. "Driving" around town and through the jungle is an unforgettable experience. The restaurant is is very pleasant, looking over a huge koi pond. The staff is lovely and helpful, the owners are very friendly, and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Sabai dee Tamara,

We have been very glad to read your nice review of our lodge... guest satisfaction is our satisfaction.

We hope to be able to welcome you once more at Kingfisher Ecolodge in another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We had great expectations of this place, based entirely on reviews we had read. It was nice, but not a highlight of our trip, as we had predicted it would be. The staff were polite and sometimes helpful, but not overly friendly. The rooms were appropriate for a couple, but as we were a travelling party of 3, we asked for a room for 3 adults, and what we were given was a double bed and an additional bed that would probably be more appropriate for a 6 year old. It just put a bit of a dampener on what would have potentially been an excellent stay. The food in the restaraunt was excellent, and the restaraunt staff very lovely. We saw the elephants in the field once while we were there. We are happy that we visited the ecolodge, but honestly, we left feeling a little disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxit, owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2010
While we are sorry to hear that expectations were not met by our guests, we would like to point out that actually we are not advertising or selling a room for three person as we do not have it.

What we sell is a double room with an extra bed that, due to the fact that the bungalows are designed for two occupants, is not of standard size.

On our web site (Room rate and reservation page) it is clearly indicated that the bed is a FOLDING BED (even if we are now using a small wooden bed, which is a bit more comfortable) and, we can see from the correspondence, the guests where informed about the fact that it was an extra bed and not a triple room, in any case we believe the guests should have asked for more information if in doubt about the bed size since it is indicated as "folding bed".

The extra price requested for the third bed is less than 20% of the room price, it includes breakfast and, while we apologize again for any incovenience we may have caused, we would like to stress again that we are not selling any room for three occupants and that we are a bit surprised as it is the first time that we receive such a kind of complain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed here in January for three nights in the dry season to enjoy the real Laos - jungle trekking, elephant trekking, mountain biking, wildlife and total peace and quiet. Comfort bungalows on stilts had ensuite, basic lodges on stilts had shared facilities, very clean, nearby. No air con, but fans, in temperatures of 35 degrees (30 at midnight) and high humidity - and this made our 55k bike ride and jungle trek somewhat challenging. Drank 4 litres of bottled water per day.
Staff very obliging and food good with an Italian influence as owners are Laotian/Italian.
Wildlife disappointingly limited, but flora much more interesting than fauna.
Clifford Gould aged 66 Glastonbury England.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffordGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Lovely staff and delicious food and high quality accommodation.
Did the elephant training for a day which was a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrive_safely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

me and my family stay at kingfisher, excellent service, very friendly staff, amazing and very clean room, for last very good food and good value for money

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergio_patrizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ban Khiet Ngong
14.6 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#1 of 1 in Don Daeng Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
13.9 mi away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#2 of 2 in Champasak Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sabaidee Valley Resort
Sabaidee Valley Resort
#1 of 5 in Paksong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin Hotel
Le Jardin Hotel
#1 of 50 in Pakse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Ecolodge

Property: Kingfisher Ecolodge
Address: Ban Khiet Ngong, Ban Khiet Ngong 16000, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Ban Khiet Ngong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ban Khiet Ngong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingfisher Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecolodge located in Xe Pian National park, southern Laos, not far from Wat Phu temple. Restaurant service and eco activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Ecolodge Laos/Ban Khiet Ngong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing