We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for Disneyland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chene Gris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pommeuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chene Gris
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Disneyland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed Oct half term for a week,spotless clean with a large balcony set in woodlands really spacious, nice soft play for children while parents having a relaxing drink would deffo use again only down side was swimming pool is not really indoor more like a poly tunnel over outdoor swimming pool so was too cold to use in Autum

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jedijoebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    110
    43
    32
    22
See reviews for
190
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had 4 adults and 4 children in our party, staying in 2 of the Bali homes for 5 days. The site was easy to find the only confusing bit was going through the train station carpark to gain entry !! The accommodation was fine, clean and had a huge fenced in balcony. The staff were great with the kids and they loved the entertainment, it was just a shame that the weather wasn't so good so they couldn't use the pool but that did mean that Euro Disney wasn't packed at all, we must have picked the right week to go.

This site is in a good location, not far from Disney and right on the train line to Paris, which takes about 50 minutes to the centre.

We did have a look round at the wash facilities etc and they looked excellent and really clean

Good accommodation to be used as a base, would definitely use again if going to Euro Disney

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancesL623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location is ideal for Disneyland Paris which can be easily reached, avoiding the autoroute and thus saving the £3 toll charge each way.

There were six adults and two children in the party, myself and my wife, our two sons and their wives and children and we had three caravans between us.
The caravans were small, as we expected, and whilst advertised as being suitable for sleeping six I would not recommend them as being suitable for more than two adults and two or three children.
They were new and very clean when we visited and are provided with a full range of cutlery and crockery equipment but the cooking facilities are woefully inadequate. There is a small gas hob and a microwave which is located either on a dangerously high shelf or on top of the two metre high fridge.

The fridge will be turned off, and warm inside, when you arrive so that all your perishables will be nicely warmed up before being cooled again.

The beds are as comfortable, or otherwise, as one would expect in a caravan but there is only one pillow provided per person so take some of your own. bed linen is extra cost option and can be pre booked or obtained from reception as necessary and there is only one blanket per bed but the heating system is excellent as is the a/c system.

Despite the lack of cooking facilities the on site restaurant is expensive and along with the takeaway has a very limited choice, some of the takeaway items were never available and others were available only at certain times.

The on site shop is reasonably well stocked, but again is relatively expensive. i.e. fifteen euros for a disposable barbecue of the type that are probably two for a fiver in your local Asda. There are "fresh" baguettes and croissants delivered daily but there is an excellent bakery, five minutes away in the village, which is much cheaper.There is also a small Intermarche just a few minutes away, turn right from the railway station car park and it is well signposted. There is a decent takeaway in the village as well.

The children in our group really enjoyed the swimming pool although the water was rather cold and the indoor pool is, in reality, just part of the outdoor one with a roof over and thus uses the same cold water.

If, like us, (because there is little space inside the caravans to do otherwise) you like to socialize outdoors on a warm evening, then "BE WARNED" other site users will complain if they think you are being too noisy. This, despite the loud noises from the on site disco overwhelming everything else.

There is a busy railway line adjacent to the site but the noise is totally unobtrusive and the trains are very handy should you wish to visit Paris.Buy an all day ticket for around fifteen Euros and enjoy unlimited use of the Metro as well. Tickets are available from the very friendly, multi lingual staff in the site reception.

We would visit again despite the complaints about our so called excessive noise because of the proximity to Disneyland, about half an hour away avoiding the toll road. It's much quicker on the A4 autoroute but the return trip will cost 7 Euros.

There are no ATM facilities nearby.

This is no reflection on the site, rather a general observation.
If you have never been to France before and you are planning a self catering holiday then I would recommend you take twice as much fresh milk with you than you think you'll need. If you still have some left then you can throw it away. But if you run out you won't be able to get any more. The only type of milk I have ever found in France is that UHT stuff (Ultra Horrible Tasting) which is fine for adding to coffee, not so good for tea drinkers, apparently, I don't drink tea but it is absolutely disgusting on your cornflakes and for drinking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank exaaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We booked this campsite via The Sun Newspaper £9.50 pp deal, so we got 4 nights in a Bali Mobile Home for under £40 plus a 36 euro local tax that we were informed of by invoice posted directly to our home address by the campsite before we travelled. This was for 2 adults 2 children. We used the accommodation as a base for Disneyland Paris. We did not drive- being an experienced traveller and a regular visitor of Paris and Disneyland,I knew since there was an SNCF station at the site, access via public transport would be do-able. We flew into Beauvais Airport and got the Disney/VEA shuttle to Disney and then the line 38 bus to Faremoutiers from Chessy. Another option is to catch the train 2 stops to Colloummiers and then the line 17 bus from Colloumiers to Chessy/Disneyland. This option is more frequent. The journey time to Disney regardless of choice of transport options is 50 minutes roughly.
The staff at Le Chene Gris were very friendly- couldn't fault them including their fantastic English which would put us to shame. The mobile home was as good as any Disney accommodation we've ever stayed in and I'd love to holiday here in warm summer months as the pools and play area beside the pool looked fantastic for kids although the weather we got mid Sept must have been the most miserable weather in years for mid Sept- pool/ facilities as good if not better than any Spanish hotel. My verdict- very good campsite but next time we will bit the bullet and drive the whole way from Northern Ireland and we'll come mid Summerville so we can use those fab pools ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GAYLE090806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having only ever cammped abroad with Eurocamp, I was unsure what I would find at Le Chene Gris. Having read reviews on here and looking through the photos we decided that we are not particularly fussy holiday makers, that the site was mainly a base, and that the cost was too good to turn down.
We booked an Ottawa tent. On arrival at the site (3 hour drive from Calais, Approx 24 Euro in tolls), we were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful, clean site, set in Woodlands. Checking in was easy and we were clearly directed to our tent which was at the top of the site. We had booked 12 nights. Our tent area was closed off to cars, meaning that there was a (very) short walk to the car, and occasionally our allocated space had been taken. We never had any problem finding an alternative and no-one complained if we had taken someone else's space in return!
The tent was clean, well-equipped with pots, pans, cutlery, glasses, kettle, tin opener, cork screw, washing up bowl, barbecue, 4 burner hob, large fridge and small freezer. Was expecting a fridge with freezer compartment but in reality got an upright fridge with table-top size freezer. I hadn't brought matches which meant that we couldn't light the hob until we had bought some from the shop. Having read reviews, I had brought toilet roll which was necessary as it wasn't provided in the toilet blocks.
Our area had it's own portacabin style toilet block (1 toilet and 1 shower) to save us having to trek down to the main block. The shower in this block was consistently hot (almost too much so - watch out for children operating it alone!), and never busy.
We were not far from the pool which the kids enjoyed enormously. The entertainment was limited and mainly aimed at young children, but we rarely use the kids clubs etc. anyway so not a problem for us. Bar area was lovely with patio heaters fro when the evening started to cool off. We used the takeaway a couple of nights. Pizzas were priced around 9 - 11 euros and chips around 2 euros.
My husband and eldest son did struggle not being able to keep up with football scores on the internet, but on our numerous outings there was rarely a time when there wasn't a McDonalds or subway which we could park outside to access their free Wifi!
The train station at the entrance to the site provides a direct link to Paris Est station. The trains came every hour. Cost for 3 adults and 2 children (teens at adult prices unfortunately) was just over 70 Euros. The tickets were not checked on the train, just simply used at the stations to gain access to the platforms. At the Paris Est station, go down to the bottom floor to access the Paris Metro (underground) system. The same tickets can be used and the underground takes you very easily and quickly to all the main attractions.
We drove to Disney from the site very easily, avoided the toll roads and to journey took approximately 20 minutes.
We visited the nearby towns and villages. Coulommiers ( great bouncy castle place for kids in the Parc de Cappucins - 5 euros per child for an hour), Provins etc. We did go to the Parc de Felins but was too expensive at 18 euros per adult and 13 euros per child with no family ticket option . A Carrefoure market is a 5 minute drive from the site and is open on Sunday morning which was a pleasant surprise. Buy bottled water from here at 6 1.5l bottles for 1 euro, as the shop onsite charges 1 euro per bottle.
Checkout again was very simple, staff just asked that you had left your accomodation clean, credit card details were deleted and off we went!
The site, staff, accomodation and overall holiday exceeded our expectations and I would have absolutely no qualms about recommending this site to those who want good value access to Disney and the Eastern region of Paris.

Room Tip: We were in tent 247. All in that area are good and close to the small sanitary block with hot showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Crossweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in Paris followed by 5 nights at Le Chene Gris, doing the whole thing by train. The stop Pommeuse-Faremoutiers is literally outside the campsite making it really easy to get to.

We stayed in a Waikiki 3-bedroom mobile home which was comfortable and modern. A blanket and pillow are provided but you must take your own sheets and pillowcases or hire these at a cost of €10 double and €7 single for the duration of your stay.

We were situated on the side of park next to the railway line which was a little noisy, but we soon got used to it.

As previously mentioned, there was no TV or wifi in the mobile home but to be honest this was a good opportunity to switch off (no pun intended) from modern day distractions.

Entertainment is low key, but there is something going on every day and the bar area is sociable.

We found the best way of getting to Disneyland Paris (without a car) was to catch the train to Coulommiers, then bus number 17 to Chessy. The bus leaves from right outside Coulommiers station and drops off at the entrance to Disney. Le Chene Gris reception staff were very helpful in providing timetables for both the train and the bus. The total return price for adults is €7.60 (€3.60 train + €4 bus). Children pay half price on the train, but no discount on the bus unless they are toddlers.

In summary, the park was a nice base for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mamucium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprodd
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

As we only spent 3 nights here and most of that time was spent at disney I'll keep this short. If you are expecting a quiet peaceful tree lined campsite perhaps this isn't for you. What it is,is a great and affordable base to explore disneyland. Accommodation is cramped together and pitches are small but if you want simply a base this really doesn't matter. Some night noise but that wasn't down to the campsite just about 5 families holidaying together. Facilities are great for kids. Only real quibble are the cold showers. Not pleasant!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommeuse
3.4 mi away
Domaine de Crecy
Domaine de Crecy
#1 of 1 in Crecy-la-Chapelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
B&B Hotel Disneyland Paris
#1 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
9.6 mi away
Explorers Hotel
Explorers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-France
Marriott's Village d'lle-de-Fran...
#1 of 3 in Bailly-Romainvilliers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
9.9 mi away
Adagio Aparthotel Val d'Europe
11.4 mi away
Appart'City Confort Marne la Vallee - Val d’Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Gris

Property: Le Chene Gris
Address: 24, Place de la gare de Faremoutiers, 77515 Pommeuse, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Pommeuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pommeuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Gris 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsite Le Chene Gris is perfectly located, just a 20 minute drive from Disneyland(R) Paris and 55 kilometers from Paris. From the campsite you can step onto a train to the French capital and, after just 45 minutes, you can step off the train and into the heart of the city. Opposite the small train station at Pommeuse is the entrance to campsite Le Chene Gris. You'll receive a warm welcome from the employees of Iris Parc, who will be happy to give you practical information and advice on tours in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chene Gris Hotel Pommeuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing