We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arenas(Punta Leona)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$412
US$372
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort(Herradura)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$169
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pochote Grande(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$215
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
272
340
160
67
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
340
160
67
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite faced monkeyscosta ricasan joseplaya blancaselvamar roomsnight walkwhite sand beachthe grillscarlet macawsgreat beachbutterfly gardenpura vidathe main roadreception areasuperior roomjaco beachrental car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were housed here on a Road Scholar (Elder Hostel) trip. The standard hotel type rooms were 4 to a "pod" and relatively soundproof. The water is potable, wi-fi is available on the property but not in our rooms, televisions in the rooms with limited English channels. Air conditioning was adequate (and welcome!). The grounds are nicely landscaped. The property is quite large, and consists of private homes, time-share, condos, and hotel rooms, and they are building yet more. Several open-air restaurants serving buffet meals of "typical Costa Rican cuisine" -- our arm bands (hate those things!) indicated our meals were included, so there must be other options. Be alert to Capuchin (white-faced) monkeys stealing food and sugar from the tables--not good for them. We were close to a small pool, and the central area of the development houses a quite large one, with a bar. An events list included many activities available either for free or a nominal fee. Many of the guests were families, both international and Costa Rican. A shuttle service ferries guests to the central area with its pool, bar, beach (10 minute walk from where we were) and a lovely beach further south for swimming in the warm Pacific. A walk at sunrise (5:30-6:00) earns you great sightings of birds, and don't forget to check out the nesting pair of Scarlet Macaws in the huge Kapok tree along the main road leading to check-in. Although Punta Leona represents itself as eco-conscious and appears to be rabidly recycling (nicely endemic in Costa Rica), they are clearing protected land along the entrance road, which is against Costa Rican environmental policy. Our group had reason to need the services of the resort's nurse, and found that service to be quite basic. Take your own antibiotics and basic first-aid supplies. This resort is out by itself, with a several mile paved road to reach it from the main highway; the resort is the destination, and there aren't other things to do without a vehicle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest , thank you very much for the extensive description of your experience during your visit to our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Indeed our property is quite extensive and within it we offer different types of accommodation from Standard and Superior rooms to apartments and condos . Our Hotel is an excellent choice for nature lovers because as you said, they will be able to find different types of birds , monkeys, scarlet macaws , raccoons etc. Our hotel is dedicated to the conservation and have been awarded a certificate of tourist sustainability for the healthy practices that we implemented in our operation. The clearing land you mentioned in your comments that border us to the sides of the entrance to the complex is not part of our property and its owners do not have the same philosophy of conservation that we have, so our sustainability and environmental protection programs can only be carry out within the land that is part of the complex. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We are a young couple just looking to have fun. We were offered at san jose that this hotel was all inclusive, when we arrived the guy said that it only included the meals no drinks or snacks during the high seasons. Thats false advertising. The food wasnt bad. But a buffe that only offers one meat (no pork, fish or chicken, there was just meat) and not much variety. This ressort is mostly for owners you can see everyone had theyre own stuff. Not many activitys for the hotel people

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for sending us your comments and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. As for our all inclusive program this one includes: All the meals and beverages starting at 3:00 p.m. ( breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet style serve at the Carabelas Restaurant) Snacks set menu in The Leona Marino Restaurant and Playa Blanca ( from 10:00 am till 5:00 pm) Spirits and Cocktails from preselected National Brands ( must be 18 years old and older) Guided walks with bilingual Guides and Butterfly garden.
We are a Hotel & Club so we have partners who have homes on the property but mostly we are a hotel dedicated to families and nature lovers and have several activities including: guided walks, the canopy, our beautiful white sand Beach, the butterfly and programed activities depending on the season. We apologize for any misunderstanding or lack of information at the time of booking your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days in this quite location surrounded by nature. The one room bungalow we were given was simple but had all the essentials including a TV and a bench outside to sit and admire the vegetation surrounding the other rooms and people watch. The location was pretty close to the restaurant where we had our buffet meals along with the noisy monkeys and the hungry Coatis! From the other reviews I understand that the meals were not extra-ordinary, but for us they were great because there were a lot of vegetarian options ( which is pretty rare in Central and South America) and and the chefs and the servers were very helpful in guiding us to select the right items.
There were 2 beautiful beeches, one of them practically empty most of the time and a number of pools with activities for children. the occasional Iguanas cutting across our paths were an added attraction besides the zip-line tours which I am sorry to say we missed. But we made up for it by taking a bird watching tour with Alex who is very knowledgeable about the bird and animal habitat, and he even let me take beautiful picture of a bird through his fancy binoculars!
The Butterfly Garden was another added attraction. All in all we spent the most beautiful and peaceful 4 days among nature. Would love to come back here with my grand-kids..

Room Tip: The single room bungalows are located attractively
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee4447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your preference and for taking the time to write your experience at our hotel. This helps us know what our guests say about our property and in what areas we need to improve. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and that you liked both the rooms and the food. We are indeed a place focused on families and nature lovers. We also offer the canopy for the more adventurous and complementary guided walks. We'll let Alex know about your feedback and will be happy to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nice but nothing for single persons traveling in a group as it's a family place without any action! Nice grounds but far from city if you want to do something outside the resort. Food very disappointing....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elila36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for letting us know your comments. We're glad you liked our property and we are sorry you did not find in our property the type of activities you wanted. Our hotel offers more activities related to the enjoyment of nature and relaxation. Our beautiful white sand beach is ideal for swimming and relaxing but also we offer adventure tours such as the canopy. There are other entreteiment like the guided walks, the pools, the bar etc. But if you want more night activities we recommend our guests to visit the city of Jaco which is 15 minutes from our hotel either by taxi or driving if they carry their own vehicle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I spent five days in Punta Leona with my wife and my 15-month-old baby girl, we stayed at Selvamar Rooms, which have two twin beds, flat screen cable TV, I want to stop and say that Punta Leona is not a five star resort, so if you are looking for high-end perks, this is not your kind of hotel; nonetheless, the rooms are very clean, the staff is top-notch, catering to your every need and the location is really the big attraction when visiting this hotel, only 90 minutes away from San Jose and 15 minutes from Jaco. We took the three-meal package at Carabelas Restaurant, consisting on an all-you-can-eat buffet. As long as you keep in mind that the price for your room is not as high as other hotels catering to a higher-end audience, you will be fine at Punta Leona, as the main attraction lies on its nature and its two beaches, (especially Platya Blanca). Monkeys, Scarlet Macaws, Coatis, Iguanas and butterflies, along with centennial trees and beautiful sunsets at Playa Blanca, are part of the attraction that this place has to offer. As for the pools, there are three pools, one near Carabelas, and the remaining two near Playa Mantas. Their size is pretty decent, but again, do not expect a 5-star beach resort pool.

All in all, Punta Leona is great for families, and for those travelling on a budget who want to experience nature at its best in clean rooms with courteous staff.

Room Tip: Selvamar Standard is the way to go if you do not mind not having a flat screen TV in your room (as in Selvamar Superior) but a conventional one. The rooms are practically the same, so you would save a few bucks!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, General Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Customer, is it very kind of you to take the time to write about your visit to our property. As you mention we are not a 5 star hotel but we have all the services and amenities so our guests can spend a great vacation. We are a perfect place for nature lovers and families looking to enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches in the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. We hope you visit us again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews