We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay in a Hostel that Needs Work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Mansion de Sam Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Gil
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Sam's Mansion was a rather average stay for us. The place is rather run down and needs new paint, major building restoration, and could use a touch of local art. Overall it was neither charming nor welcoming. We found it very basic and spartan. The location is good as it is right next to the central plaza. The only redeeming feature was the WiFi access which was good. We would also like to see the restaurant offering a vegetarian option, of which there was not much. Would not recommend this place and would not be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exoticdvm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We found this place overpriced and uncomfortable. The staff initially gave us the wrong room, we had booked a "superior" room with a balcony but we given a smaller windowless room until we insisted on a change. The general air is rather run down although it advertises as a "colonial Mansion" the possibilities are entirely destroyed by using the courtyard as a parking lot. They also insisted that we pay our whole bill in advance although no self respecting hotel would do this, and it does advertise itself as a "boutique hotel" and not a Hostel, although it is clearly a hostel, and refused, unpleasantly, to refund any of this when we decided to leave early as we were finding San Gil noisy and crowded with few places to go in the evening. I would not recommend this place unless you like noise and need to be in the centre of this crowded little town.
Sue 13-01-2014

Room Tip: Only book the larger rooms and make sure you get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was a scam.
I paid 240 000 pesos, for a room, no services, no breakfast, room is noisy, staff is not nice. It's only a make money hostal.. Avoid this place at all cost. The price paid, would give you a 5 stars hotel, with full services, anywhere else in Santander

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanleBatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night, and was glad to leave. The place is very run down, and should be labelled a hostel and not a boutique hotel. Even in the hostel category you find better value in town. Lastly, the beds were extremely uncomfortable as they were hard like a plank of wood!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The description promises you
1. A hotel - however at the entrance is a huge sign saying hostel
2. A mansion - which is more like an old rundown house needing renovation
3. A boutique hotel style - without windows for many rooms, others have wooden shutters, no glass (making is super noisy), wooden old bed (that's it in the room), bathrooms with electric showers and a sink from 40 years ago. Fine for a budget place, but then don't call it boutique hotel.

So in the end it fails to deliver on all three. Don't get mislead by the description.

Surrounding hostels have far nicer facilities and rooms. For the same price.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank VK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Best prices on low season, the house is beautiful and the decoration is great, try to get the rooms with balcony, the location perfect, staying here you can use all the facilities at Sam´S VIP Hoostel which is by far the best hostel in Colombia, try the steak at the restaurant (with ants sacue)and the milk shakes at Gringo Mikes

Room Tip: the balcony rooms are more expensive but they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastacia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We happily stayed in San Gil longer than planned due to some necessary dental work. Senor Rosencrantz at La Mansion de Sam was very kind and helpful. The room was large and clean. The secure parking is a big plus for us. The restaurant is great, and reasonably-priced. We also were able to get our laundry done at the sister hostel across the town square for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gil
1.2 mi away
Hotel Terrazas de la Candelaria
0.7 mi away
Hostal Isla Senorial
Hostal Isla Senorial
#5 of 13 in San Gil
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abril
Hotel Abril
#7 of 13 in San Gil
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Posada Campestre
Hotel Posada Campestre
#6 of 13 in San Gil
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Campestre Camino Real
8.4 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#2 of 12 in Barichara
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion de Sam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion de Sam Hotel

Address: 12 # 8-71, San Gil 57, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > San Gil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Gil
Price Range: £9 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Mansion de Sam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing