We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Mansion de Sam Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Gil
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great family room”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was a bit hesitant about staying here after reading the reviews, but travelling with my mum, Colombian partner and his 10 year old meant that the hostels weren't very accommodating (hostels catering to an international clientele don't like Colombians staying with them and if you have children they are also funny about that).

When we'd called Sam's VIP Hostel they recommended the La Mansion, so we ended up here which was a good thing because:
* We had Room 1 which has 2 bedrooms and ensuite, TV, table and chairs and lounge chairs which suited our travelling party
* The staff were helpful in telling us what we could do and how to do it cheaper
* The shower had decent hot water after I adjusted the dial
* We were able to park our motorbike in the courtyard at no additional cost
* We were just about the only people staying there so it was quiet
* We paid 100,000 pesos a night, which is what we would have paid for a 4 bed dorm with shared bathroom in a hostel

The downsides:
* Wifi wasn't working for practically the whole duration of our stay
* The wooden shutters on the windows didn't shut properly, which accounts for a lot of the grimy look in these rooms
* The door to the room (it was an exterior and interior) seemed fairly flimsy in shutting and the lock was a padlock

I understand previous comments about it appearing dirty, which I don't necessarily think is for a lack of cleaning. Other comments about noisiness didn't come to fruition and we were there over a weekend. Being right next to the plaza I didn't expect tranquil nights, but there were no nightclubs or parties that made it difficult to sleep.

I think La Mansion de Sam is a work in progress. Give it some more time and it will be restored and done up into something nicer.

Room Tip: Room 1 sleeps 4 people in 2 bedrooms with a large queen in one room and 2 singles in the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alittlecameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
6
13
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here as Sam's VIP hostel was full. We wanted a budget room with basic facilities and Sam's delivered this to us. We had one of the smaller room with a private bathroom, a fan and a safety box. The room was cleaned daily.
The showers weren't hot in our room, but rather lukewarm. This wasn't a problem as it was quite hot outside. The beds were on the firmer side but we were able to sleep comfortably. Overall, we thought it was good value for what we were paying for it.

Location is good- right next to the main square but far enough away to avoid the noise. It was also located nearby to Sam's VIP hostel, where we were allowed to use the facilities (rooftop swimming pool, kitchen).

Unfortunately, reception wasn't manned very well during our stay. On Sunday, we had to go to the other hostel to find out the price of our room and make tour bookings. At the hostel, we were assisted by the excellent Joanne who spoke perfect English and was extremely helpful. On Monday when we checked out, there was no one at the desk- once again, we went to the hostel to book bus tickets.

We would stay here again as it provided us with everything we needed in a hostel (as long as we had access to the Sam's VIP). However it's not a boutique hotel and you will be disappointed if you go there with this expectation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teambrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Sam's Mansion was a rather average stay for us. The place is rather run down and needs new paint, major building restoration, and could use a touch of local art. Overall it was neither charming nor welcoming. We found it very basic and spartan. The location is good as it is right next to the central plaza. The only redeeming feature was the WiFi access which was good. We would also like to see the restaurant offering a vegetarian option, of which there was not much. Would not recommend this place and would not be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exoticdvm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We found this place overpriced and uncomfortable. The staff initially gave us the wrong room, we had booked a "superior" room with a balcony but we given a smaller windowless room until we insisted on a change. The general air is rather run down although it advertises as a "colonial Mansion" the possibilities are entirely destroyed by using the courtyard as a parking lot. They also insisted that we pay our whole bill in advance although no self respecting hotel would do this, and it does advertise itself as a "boutique hotel" and not a Hostel, although it is clearly a hostel, and refused, unpleasantly, to refund any of this when we decided to leave early as we were finding San Gil noisy and crowded with few places to go in the evening. I would not recommend this place unless you like noise and need to be in the centre of this crowded little town.
Sue 13-01-2014

Room Tip: Only book the larger rooms and make sure you get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel was a scam.
I paid 240 000 pesos, for a room, no services, no breakfast, room is noisy, staff is not nice. It's only a make money hostal.. Avoid this place at all cost. The price paid, would give you a 5 stars hotel, with full services, anywhere else in Santander

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanleBatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night, and was glad to leave. The place is very run down, and should be labelled a hostel and not a boutique hotel. Even in the hostel category you find better value in town. Lastly, the beds were extremely uncomfortable as they were hard like a plank of wood!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The description promises you
1. A hotel - however at the entrance is a huge sign saying hostel
2. A mansion - which is more like an old rundown house needing renovation
3. A boutique hotel style - without windows for many rooms, others have wooden shutters, no glass (making is super noisy), wooden old bed (that's it in the room), bathrooms with electric showers and a sink from 40 years ago. Fine for a budget place, but then don't call it boutique hotel.

So in the end it fails to deliver on all three. Don't get mislead by the description.

Surrounding hostels have far nicer facilities and rooms. For the same price.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank VK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gil
0.0 mi away
Hotel Campestre Camino Real
0.1 mi away
Hostal Isla Senorial
Hostal Isla Senorial
#4 of 12 in San Gil
18 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Posada Campestre
Hotel Posada Campestre
#8 of 12 in San Gil
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Terrazas de la Candelaria
7.3 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
49 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mundo Guarigua
Hotel Mundo Guarigua
#2 of 12 in San Gil
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion de Sam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion de Sam Hotel

Property: La Mansion de Sam Hotel
Address: 12 # 8-71, San Gil 57, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > San Gil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Gil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Mansion de Sam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing