We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manasarovar- Heart full of Joy”
Review of Lake Manasarovar

Lake Manasarovar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
670 reviews
439 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,058 helpful votes
“Manasarovar- Heart full of Joy”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

By seeing the Lake, you get a Heart breaking feeling and the mind is enthralled. So fine is the Lake. One forgets the exhaustive and long journey undertaken to reach the spot. Above all, one get the first Darshan of Mount Kailash from this spot. The moment you take bath, one feels, that his ambition in his life is fulfilled. Likes are more for the Lake than the dislikes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KASIRAO5646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    7
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Matter of faith”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I took this trip through Traveldost Ahmedabad. It was a well organised trip. After reaching Mansarovar, one really feels a sense of energy running inside your body. I had heard from travelllers about this, but then I thought it was a fantasy. I could notice that there was a change in my behaviour. I became more spiritual in my approach and I could feel the same. The sight of the lake and the surroundings is a photography delight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Dnyate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Manasarovar - The Holy Lake”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Kailash Maansarovar, June 23, 2013, 8PM. Yet another mystical experience where we can see a piece of cloud on the summit of Mt. Kailash. As if some halo or a royal crown adorning the God of Gods. This is where we just stopped while circumambulating (Parikrama) the 80 kms circumference of Maansarovar, and took a holy dip in the cold water. The energy of this place and water was so immense that all the lethargy and tiredness just vanished in one dip. It was a blessing that came as a reward for something amazingly good that I may have done in my past lives and this one. It is just not easy or a matter of personal wish that one can breathe this air or be in this space. It is only if Lord Shiva wishes can anyone reach till here or anywhere close. We know this just too well now.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kalpnesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mount Kailasa - The Heavenly Abode of Lord Shiva”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I must have had this dream of being able to visit Kailash Maansarovar for I don’t know how long. Perhaps more lifetimes than just this one. I am so thankful to my Guru, Lord Shiva and my parents, with who’s blessings this could get fulfilled. Despite all the physical difficulties that came our way during the journey, the whole experience in its entirety is exhilirating almost close to salvation. They said that the oxygen content would be only 10% of what it is on the plains. But what I experienced was that that 10% was in the same space as shared by the God of Gods, therefore that 10% was incomparable to anything else. Being able to breathe that air, being able to walk the same space, being able to bathe in the holy waters of Maansarovar, has been something that has come to me as a reward of maybe a million life-cycles. Something I will cherish forever. I had read somewhere during the journey, that life would never be the same again for someone who has truly been able to go to Kailash. Life would never be the same again. Truly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kalpnesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Holy water at 15,000 ft. above sea level”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Lake Manasarovar is a sacred place for Hindus, Buddhists and Jains. It is located in western Tibet, 580 miles from Lhasa, the provincial capital. The area is very remote and sparsely populated with little infrastructure to support the thousands of Indian tourists who make their annual pilgrimage there.

The few guesthouses located there and in the surrounding area are very spartan with no running water or indoor plumbing. Electricity comes on only after dark. Food may also not be available except for tsampa and butter tea or instant noodles. Travelers would be advised to bring their own emergency food supplies such as instant oatmeal, jerky or other non-perishable items that are easy to prepare and provide nutritional value.

However this is part of the beauty of the place - in part, it helps to limit the number of tourists and also preserves the way of life among the locals who have lived this way for a thousand years, tending to livestock and cooking and heating their homes with dung fires.

If the Chinese have their way, there will be expensive hotels, souvenir shops and all kinds of commerce along the banks of this amazingly pristine body of water lined by snow-capped 7,000 meter-high in the distance. There is already a paved highway leading (supposedly) all the way from Shanghai. The true cost for visitors to Lake Manasarovar today is perhaps putting up with a little discomfort for the peace and tranquility that two major religions of the world have deemed the realm of their gods.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dstnrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Manasarovar also viewed

 

Been to Lake Manasarovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing