We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife galore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellavista Cloud Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wildlife galore”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is the place to see plenty of the wildlife of Ecuador. The big plus is the quality and enthusiasm of the guides! The rooms are not the most comfortable and the meals are adequate. There are plenty of trails for exploring with or without a guide and they are well graded for difficulty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecoworld-DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    74
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
108
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Bellavista lodge is in a fantastic location with wildlife everywhere and of course their pièce de résistance - the humming birds which are ubiquitous across the property. This is a fantastic property for bird watchers.

The rooms and lodge reminded me of school camps, but are clean. That bathrooms however, are very small. The food was plentiful and standard and the staff were more than accommodating to those with allergies.

The guides, were knowledgable, and friendly, and were able to pick up the guests interests and show them flora or fauna they were interested in, or to just point out things of interest. That said, some of the staff were more than willing to throw rocks at animals to ensure guests could get the best pictures. I found this VERY unacceptable behaviour.

Two things let me down about this hotel. Firstly, watching a staff member throw rocks at a possum repeatedly. His reason for doing so? So guests could see and take a photo of the rare mammal they had on site. This horrified myself and my guest as we thought as a lodge promoting being eco friendly this went against this ethos.

Secondly on the morning of our departure, we were due to take a difficult walk lead and organised by the guide as part of the standard activities that would take approximately 3 hours. Fantastic we thought. As everyone did not leave until 3pm we presumed we could have our room until then and we could shower after the hike.

Just as we were about to leave on this walk we were advised VERY rudely by a member of staff that we needed to vacate our rooms immediately for other guests who were arriving that day. This may not have been a problem had it not meant we missed the walk to do this. (no other guests were told to vacate their rooms, and they were all to leave at 3pm with us). By vacating our room early, had we made the walk, we would not have been allowed to shower, before we departed on our next location as we no longer had access to a room. For a normal standard hotel I would not have an issue, but as you cannot leave until 3pm (and this is standard) a check out time at 10am appears a little … weird. This could have been handled better, but the staff lacked the social etiquette to talk to customers.

One thing that stood out in our minds was, after being told to leave our rooms, we then needed to take our heavy suitcases down a spiral staircase. It was at this point, my friend said he hopped he had good travel insurance and the hospital was not too far away, as this was not something staff or guests could do safely without a fear of falling. We were advised our luggage would be kept in the staff office, however, this was not the case, and we were lucky it did not rain.

The whole situation of asking us to leave our rooms was very badly handled and after watching staff throw rocks at animals it left a very negative feeling about this lodge.

After missing the walk, and being “stuck” in the cloud forest, and now having to cart around our laptops, and other electricals we decided to call it a day. We could now only take unguided short walks with our valuables - for the price we paid, not something we wanted to do. The whole point was to be able to take guided walks so flora and fauna could be pointed out.

We had been at the lodge less than 15 hours and had enough. If we were to do this again, we would stay at many of the other lodges in the area all great for bird watching and hiking. The rudeness of the staff and the throwing of rocks at animals, put a very negative opinion of the lodge, and I would not recommend this location for this reason.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo-Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

A beautiful place located 1.5 hours from busy Quito. I only had time for a day tour which was a shame as I felt that I missed out on seeing lots of birds. I arrived around 8.30 and had breakfast then went on a 2 hour moderate hike which was nice. Lunch was excellent. Some free time in the afternoon to watch the hummingbirds. It would have been nice to relax in one of the lodges.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ellie188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our recent stay at Bellavista Lodge in the cloud forest was terrific. We enjoyed the feel of staying in a tree house. The room was large and very comfortable. The food is great. Richard, the owner, is very personable and knowledgeable. The guide we hired for an early morning bird walk was fantastic. There is an extensive network of well-marked hiking trails for a variety of abilities. And of course the hummingbirds–what a thrill it is to see that many different kinds right at your finger tips. One night was not enough. If you can stay 2 or 3 days do so.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterwizard_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We loved the rustic facilities, our guide, David, the food and of course all the birds. It was well beyond our expectations. We saw a lot of birds. We also arranged two separate outings with them. We went to a private reserve where we saw the Cock of the Rock up close, but unfortunately during heavy rain, so the photos were not so good. We saw different tanagers and humming birds with the bird whisperer than at the lodge. We also did a separate outing at Santisana where we saw the giant condor, the giant HB and the Swordbill HB. These outing were with David at an additional cost, but well worth it. The lodge and Richard and his wife's conservation efforts have made a difference in this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwanda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a fantastic gem nestled in the cloud forest of Ecuador. The hummingbirds were like nothing I've ever seen before. They were literally everywhere you look around the lodge! Opt for the rooms in the private chalets instead of inside the main lodge for more privacy. Otherwise, settle in with a group and sleep in the upstairs loft at the main lodge. You will wake up to the most amazing views ever. What an impressive feat the owner has pulled off to build such a place while preserving the natural environment.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sleeping in a group setting, opt for the top floor of the main building above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a nature lovers paradise. We aren't hard core birders but we came to see the hummingbirds (we don't have hummingbirds in Australia) we weren't disappointed as we saw so much more - tanagers, trogons and even a toucan. The accommodation and food is basic but good and there is plenty on offer. We saw the Oliquito which was very special and then retired to listen to the rain on the roof as we slept. What I really liked is the honesty of the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarietB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tandayapa
7.0 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
8.9 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#5 of 8 in Mindo
108 reviews
7.0 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#3 of 8 in Mindo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#37 of 112 in Quito
191 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 112 in Quito
1,142 reviews
18.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Cloud Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Cloud Forest

Property: Bellavista Cloud Forest
Address: Jorge Washington E7-23 y 6 de Diciembre, Tandayapa, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Tandayapa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Tandayapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellavista Cloud Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bellavista Cloud Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Cloud Forest Hotel Tandayapa
Bellavista Cloud Forest Ecuador/Tandayapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing