We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat the lunch buffett!”
Review of Hotel Chichen Itza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chichen Itza
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Certificate of Excellence
kmpcv1179
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't eat the lunch buffett!”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Didn't stay here. Just came for the lunch Buffett. It was overpriced and food was not good at all!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmpcv1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    209
    90
    25
    6
See reviews for
96
233
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

It was a hotel that I had really forgotten we had stayed at because was simply a nice hotel which did the job of providing somewhere cheap and comfortable to stay at.

The rooms were clean, the bar was open, the restaurant served basic but good food. Nothing to write home about but with the pool and the proximity to the ruins it did what it needed to.

We did go out for dinner in the evening we were there, but there are only a few places in Piste so we just went for the restaurant opposite which was decent enough.

As I say, not much to write home about.

Room Tip: Get up early for the ruins before every tourist in Cancun turns up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

heading to chichen itza I didn't have any great expectations but hotel chichen itza was a pleasant surprise.

the buildings were older but clean and functional.
the service however was exceptional, thanks to luis and his team.
the buffet lunch was excellent.
overall good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks for your visit and your fine comments !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of the Yucatan Explorer 7 day trip organised by Thomson Holidays. The Rooms were large and kept spotlessly clean, although basic 3 star accomodation. We could not fault the food on offer, and the large American Style breakfast suited us well, before the full day excursions visiting the various temples in the area. The staff, as in all Mexican Hotels we have stayed in, were friendly and courtious, and could not do enough to make our stay as wecolming as possible. It is on the Main Street in Piste, a five minute drive from the temples at Chichen Iza, and it was amazing to witness true Mexican Life in the village. As stated by previous reviewers, there is a "OXXO" store next door to the Hotel where you can stock up on Water and Sandwiches at reasonable prices prior to your adventures out to the temples. Water costs 17 pesos for 2x1 lite bottles and sandwiches are around the 20 pesos mark. The pool was excellent and an ideal way to cool off after a hectic days exploration. An ideal base for visiting "Chicken Pizza".

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4mbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel was mostly empty when we were staying there, which creates a strange atmosphere, especially when you're the only family eatig breakfast in a huge, empty, dinning area. Large and clean rooms, good location not far from the ruins. Service was good and it's a quiet, relaxing place after a full day visiting the ruins in the heat. It's good value-for-money, especially with the great pool if you're travelling with kids, but not a hotel to remember.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the first floor with a balcony and chairs so you can sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I'm never quite sure how to rate hotels on here because for a 3 star hotel the Chichen Itza was very good indeed. It's small and basic, but we liked the relaxed, laid back atmosphere after a long day touring the Yucatan.

The room was big and comfortable and the air conditioning was excellect. Large bathroom with all the bits and pieces you need. Hairdryer, soaps etc and also a coffee making machine. It's not fancy or brand spanking new but it was more than sufficient for our needs.

The hotel grounds were nice too. We used the pool on a couple of occasions and it was always clean, used the table tennis too which was good fund. They supply beach towels for you which is a nice touch.

Food was good on the 3 nights we ate there. Bit limited in set menu but everything was tasty. Good breakfasts too. We were full board so can't comment on value for money, but I would say the wine was about about average - or expenisive for Mexico? (£3 ish a glass I think) and the beer was around the same. We liked having a drink on our rocking chairs outside the room.

Location is great for Chichen Itza and was literally a 5 minute drive from the site.

Overall as part of a tour I would definitely recommend this hotel. We did visit the other hotel which is the upgrade on the Thomsons tour, and while nice it was big a very busy as used as a lunch stop for hundreds of visitors to the site. Others on our tour stayed here and said it was lovely, although I think the Hotel Chichen Itza offered a nice, relaxed and fuss free stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We found this hotel absolutely amazing. Our room had the largest bathroom I've ever countered short of mega-resorts.The friendly staff are helpful, honest and nice A really lovely place to stay,the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgeorge s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,332 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
194 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
536 reviews
24.8 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chichen Itza

Property: Hotel Chichen Itza
Address: Main Street Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chichen Itza 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great local ambiance with the comfort of being in the center of the town of Piste, less than one mile from the archaeological site of Chichen Itza. Recently renovated, the hotel features gracious rooms overlooking a tropical garden with pool, restaurant, bar, parking lot, sat tv, free internet for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichen Itza Hotel
Hotel Chichen Itza Piste, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing