We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming hotel close to the ruins of Chichen Itza”
Review of Hotel Chichen Itza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chichen Itza
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming hotel close to the ruins of Chichen Itza”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Location next to the site of Chichen Itza,nice open air lobby,lovely pool and gardens,spacious room,excellent bed which is rare in Mexico.Great amenity pack in the bathroom! Mostly quiet(read the negatives),delicious restaurant and bar serving the best margaritas!Service very professional.

On the downside,the village of Piste,where the hotel is,is dead at night and completely lacks charm and personality. Water pressure in the shower is poor,and wild dogs roam around the hotel gardens and bark at night. One or 2 nights are more than enough to explore the pyramids,maybe go and visit Izamal (lovely colonial architecture) and move onto a more interesting part of Yucatan!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquesMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    209
    90
    25
    6
See reviews for
96
233
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here on our Yucatan Explorer tour booked through Thomson's. Very close to Chichen Itza, only 20 minutes walk. Good sized rooms with free WiFi and coffee maker. Pool and sun loungers. Take lots of mossie spray as we got bitten quite a lot and we did use a spray. For me personally the food was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was good but the dinner buffet was really quite poor. Staff were very friendly and helpful and hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel close to down town and oxxo convenience store. Free parking and free Internet. Had a small problem at the pool since they poured chlorine on the edge of the pool where I later sat down. Distorted a $50 pair of shorts. The burning on my legs stopped a few hours later. They comped our breakfast.

Still pleased with the hotel. Though I hope someone talks with the pool guy about this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We slept the night in yucatan since we drove from playa del carmen. We felt it was best to stay, after a long day seeing the chichen itza ruins, with two kids we didn't wanna drive back almost three hours at night.The hotel is small but very nice. The staff was very pleasing. We ate dinner from the restaurant for us was fullfilling. There's also an oxxo right next door that is open 24hrs. My best advice book early to get a good deal and a secure room. Since there's also tour buses and u may not get a room. I booked 3 weeks in advance and got a perfect deal almost half price. Very happy with that stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vero U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments.
We look forward to your next visit!
Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I wouldn't recommend the walk to Chichen Itza, but we did it in about 20 minutes from this hotel. It's a clean, quiet place with a nice pool and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking at spending the night near Chichen Itza to beat the crowds. You right next to an OXXO convenience store and a few minutes walk from a fruit store where we bought banana's.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful, objective comments. We hope to see you back in the future!
Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Dorset
Level Contributor
193 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel was our home for 3 nights whilst touring the Yucatan Peninsular. The staff was very friendly and keen that we enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the ground floor opposite a good swimming pool, and with rocking chairs outside. There is something very pleasant about rocking after a busy day exploring!! The room had a huge bed in it and the en suite was large. All was spotlessly clean. Food was excellent - the breakfast was quite something! Very large portions and refried beans and tortilla chips with everything - including fried eggs! The evening meal menu was adequate and there was a good selection of food if you are only staying a few nights. This appears to be a hotel where you stop off for a night or two en route to somewhere else. There is little to do in the area as the town of Piste is very small and quiet. I would recommend anyone to stay here. Be prepared to be woken up by the birds though!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments!
We offer our patrons great value for the money. Where else could you stay for about $50 USD and obtain what you get at the Best Western Hotel Chichen Itza? Great service at an incredibly low price in an agreeable environment.

We hope to see you again soon! Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This hotel is mainly for tourists visiting the archealogical site which is about 10 minutes away. Most people therefore stay for 2 or 3 nights. My husband and I arrived there on 12th January and stayed 3 nights. It was a lovely experience as the staff made us very welcome with a cool drink when we arrived and were always friendly, polite and helpful. Our room was a good size,, extremely clean and the bathroom was large with fresh towels everyday. The hotel had a swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers. There were also very comfortable rocking chairs on the patio area outside the rooms. The restaurant was pleasant and provided a varied breakfast of fresh fruit, breads toast and pastries, cereals and a cooked breakfast was made to order. In the evening we had some very good meals from a menu with about 12 main choices as well as starters and desserts. The waiters and chef were very accomodating and one evening my husband fancied a spaghetti carbonara and this was produced fresh from the kitchen. All the food was freshly made and the fish was particularly delicious and the meat tender. The manager Luis runs an excellent hotel and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the archealogical sites. Thank you Luis from Stewart for the games of backgammon and ping pong. It was good fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PILAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
... Oh, are we ever happy that you "Loved our hotel " !!!!

We are investing loving care in all we are doing at the Hotel Chichen Itza. We are installing NEW air conditioning equipment, so patrons this summer will enjoy quiet, efficient cooling during their stay. Brand new LED Flat screen TV's are being fitted to all rooms as I write this. Our staff is being trained in various languages with free classes for all that wish to take them.

Comments like yours enlighten our efforts, and we thank you so much for sharing them with the world's traveling community. Muchas Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,332 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
194 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
536 reviews
24.8 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chichen Itza

Property: Hotel Chichen Itza
Address: Main Street Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chichen Itza 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great local ambiance with the comfort of being in the center of the town of Piste, less than one mile from the archaeological site of Chichen Itza. Recently renovated, the hotel features gracious rooms overlooking a tropical garden with pool, restaurant, bar, parking lot, sat tv, free internet for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichen Itza Hotel
Hotel Chichen Itza Piste, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing