We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for a couple of days”
Review of Hotel Chichen Itza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chichen Itza
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good base for a couple of days”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour run by Gray Line tours and booked as part of a Thompson's package (Yucatan Explorer).
The room was comfortable and clean and the food was mostly good. The buffet was average but the a la carte offered a better selection when it was available.
Free wifi in the bar/reception area. Nice garden area with a small pool though we didn't use it much as we were out most of the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank max b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for your visit and your good comments!

We appreciate you taking the Yucatan Explorer tour by Mayaland/Gray Line Cancun.

We look forward to your next visit. Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    215
    92
    25
    6
See reviews for
101
236
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

You can get to the sites early from this hotel. Its a good basic travellors hotel , just what we needed. Unique feature are the great tailed grackle's , hundreds of them, noisy dawn and dusk but I loved the sounds of the forest, so many. made the jet lag a lot easier. Try the black bean paste, fried potato and meat stew for breakfast its good .

Room Tip: I liked the balcony rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for your visit!

We look forward to serving you again in our remodeled rooms.

Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is well located on the main road, close to Chichen Itza. Perfect to be the first one on the site !
The rooms are big, clean and confortables but a little bit dark.
Nice garden with swimming pool. Wifi is available for free in the lobby.
The restaurant is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thanks for your visit and your good comments.
We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Until then, may you enjoy safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland,UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as part of the Thomson Yucatan Explorer Tour. It is a great base for exploring the area around it but wouldn't want to stay here for more than a few nights. The rooms are ok, they are clean and have plenty of space. We were woken up every morning by the birds outside but we were getting up early anyway. The breakfast was ok but the evening meal didn't have much choice and was repetitive, did find something to eat each night though. The pool isn't too cold. Cocktails were around £3. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ElaineDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Chichen Itza.

Your good comments are not reflected on your final score; We wonder why. Our staff tries very hard to please our guests. They are sad your comments do not reflect their efforts.

Have a safe return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Perfectly adequate hotel located on the main road of Pisté, the closest town to Chichen Itza. Easy safe parking, clean and spacious rooms and good wifi in the lobby area. Good price for the location - 5 minute drive to the main entrance of Chichen Itza. In-house restaurant (which we didn't try), pool (again, didn't try) and nice restaurant across the street. Breakfast wasn't included but there's a convenience store right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_H_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for visiting Chichen Itza and staying with us!
We are all happy you enjoyed your stay amongst us and hope to see you return again.
Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Perfect location for a sleepover when your planning on getting to Chichen Itza before the crowds arrive. Clean, quaint, friendly staff. Meal wasn't gourmet but it was fine. Antonio, our waiter, and the one in charge it seems, was amazing. Friendly, informative , humourous and professional! He was a gem! Would definitely go again and recommend, unless of course, you are looking for the Ritz!

Room Tip: garden view was quiet and pretty, and bonus, you get to hear bird symphonys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are happy we provided you with what you needed. Thanks for your visit !
Hasta la vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and it was the best location for visiting Chicken Itza before the tourist buses arrived. Gates to Chicken Itza open at 8 am and a taxi cost 35 pecos from Piste.

The hotel rooms spacious and clean and a had a good shower.

The hotel pool was very clean and a nice way to spend the afternoon after stomping around the ruins.

The only negative. .. hotel restuarant and bar prices were a bit exxy but cheaper options are available around town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kayjay176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Chichen Itza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for exposing your views to the world's traveling community.
We appreciate your nice comments and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,364 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
203 reviews
24.8 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,396 reviews
24.9 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chichen Itza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chichen Itza

Property: Hotel Chichen Itza
Address: Main Street Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chichen Itza 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great local ambiance with the comfort of being in the center of the town of Piste, less than one mile from the archaeological site of Chichen Itza. Recently renovated, the hotel features gracious rooms overlooking a tropical garden with pool, restaurant, bar, parking lot, sat tv, free internet for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chichen Itza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chichen Itza Hotel
Hotel Chichen Itza Piste, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing