We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal hidden treasure near Chichen Itza!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cenote Yokdzonot

Cenote Yokdzonot
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Piste
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Phenomenal hidden treasure near Chichen Itza!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you are going to Chichen Itza, you must make time for a small detour to this place! The admission was something cheap, less than $10 USD.
It is owned by a cooperative of Mayan women (and a few men). We came in, ordered lunch, and hit the cenote for swimming. When we finished swimming in the beautiful cenote, we changed and lunch was ready for us with no wait. I recommend doing it this way. You must try their hibiscus (jamaica) ice tea, too! The cenote was there just for us, it seemed. Very few tourists go here and it was just us (and a few local boys), which made it even more special. I strongly recommend spending about 3-4 hours here, swimming, eating, and walking in the beautiful jungle. (I think there's a zipline activity available, too, but we didn't do it. It may not be ready yet.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Galaxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    36
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wow, what an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Scenic view, beautiful " well" got to swim in it, water is fresh and is green, the view from the water is a unique experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stopped here midday after visiting Chichen Itza on our way to Merida. It's down a dirt road with no clear parking, but as there aren't many cars in the area you're fine pulling up anywhere across from the ticket hut. There are changing rooms, bathrooms, a restaurant, a zipline, campground, and an area to rappel down the side into the cenote if you're so inclined (we weren't). There are no lockers, but there's no problem taking your things down to the platform where you get into the cenote. After a brief introduction to the cooperative we were left alone at the cenote, sharing the space with only three local teenage boys, who seemed task with skimming out leaves, but were also having fun and showing off a bit at hand-catching fish. The cenote had three types of fish, all of which quickly got out of the way when you neared them, as well as all these little birds that lives in the walls. After a long swim, we decided to eat at the restaurant before hitting the road. They basically fired everything up just for us, as we were the only ones there, but our food was delicious and very generous. When discussing visiting a cenote, we agreed that we wanted something clean and uncrowded, preferably pretty and with some local flair. This was exactly what we wanted, and yet more than we expected. High recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank parslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our dip in this cenote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stopped here during a tour with Mayan Explorers. I was worried that the cold waters in the cenote would be too cold for me, but it was amazing! After being so hot at the ruins, this was the perfect way to cool off and feel refreshed. We gladly wore the life jackets and spent about 1/2 hour in the cool clear water. The kids enjoyed jumping in. After our swim we had a delicious lunch of regional foods. We appreciated the restrooms and changing area. The path and stairs down to the cenote were easy to navigate. This was a great stop off the beaten path. Peaceful and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Yokdzonot Cenote Was Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have 2 young kids 4 and 6 and 1 big kid (ie my hubby) and we greatly enjoyed this plce. The place was not busy but that was fine with us and did not reflect the beauty or the fun we had at the cenote. Kids were free adults charged a small pittance (60 pesos each) and free life jackets. The guide helped the kids down and stayed to supervise us which was fine as its always good to have another set of eyes on the kids. It made for a delightful refresh after the heat of chitchen itza. Make sure to take the free merida road not the highway (toll) and you'll be there in no time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank robdhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cenote Yokdzonot also viewed

Chichen Itza, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 
Chichen Itza, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Cenote Yokdzonot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing