We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate stay, better options out there”
Review of Piramide Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Piste
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piramide Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We were excited to be within walking distance of Chichen Itza and figured that the fact that it's such a huge destination is why we were paying $500mxn for a budget hotel. The room was nice looking and the pool area looked nice.

Then hmmm the toilet would not flush. Took us all of 20 seconds to figure out that the chain from the handle to the flap was broken. We were on our way out for dinner so we told the guy at the front desk and hoped it would be fixed by the time we got back. ....Back to the hotel at 9:30p he had yet to look at it. He tried it, didn't even look under the hood and proclaimed "it's dead". Brilliant. Then we went to take a shower and not only was there no hot water, there was no water at all.

The next morning we checked out and moved to the hotel next door that although a bit grubbier, only cost $300mxn and both toilet and shower worked. I do have to say that the woman we talked to in the morning (possibly the owner?) was kind enough to refund half of our money which went a long way with us. I'm sure they did not knowingly put us in a room in such disrepair but it certainly did not leave us wanting to recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

The place is surely very close to the archeological site and let you get there early, before the mass of tourists (and the roasting sunlight) flood it. The general appearance is not bad and the rooms are colourful and spacious but the place looks a bit "deserted", with the "pond-like" pool and the cats wandering everywhere. Nevertheless, not a bad stay and a relaxing one, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank roseglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The rooms are outstanding, decorated with a "i'm in mexico" style. Sadly because I'm family I know what happened there but with my Grandma and John running the place on their own it makes the laundry and cleanliness alot more than what it is. I really enjoy the courage they would do when my mom got sick, also whenever they had a problem I would be happy to help. Plus the showers were fixed so they're hotter. And the hottel old but is pretty intact, they closed the cafe' (the story) but with local diners finding some good food is quick. Its a big plot of land so you could play soccer or some football. Have a little party. The rooms are cheep considering the price. There is also a relaxing feeling while in bed, the room has a night light and a pretty big bathroom so its a good room to have. The swimming pool can be dirty and even if you have to clean it, it will still be pretty fun. The resturant is closed but because I'm family I can go in and eat, maybe make them some eggs or myself if they were hungry. I sugest you go here; they support anyone how wants to have a good time in mexico.

Room Tip: John can be helpful and fun to be with. And the cats make the place alot more entertaining. Also I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bryce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

For 50 pesos a night, you can camp next to a beautiful pool and an actual Mayan tomb, and youre within a comfortable walk to the Chichen Itza ruins. The place is covered with art, from frescoes on the cieling to sculptures in the yard. The place has kind of a 1960s feel, which is a fun mix with the owner's obvious passion for archaeology. There are about 13 cats and two firendly dogs, so if you have allergies, stay away... but if you like animals, this place is a hoot! We had a cat adopt us for our entire stay... Bonus points if you don't mind the cold shower. (We didn't-- the Yucatan is hot!)

Room Tip: you can camp on the lawn or on concrete under little shelters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lux F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

The location of Piramide Inn is good, that being walking distance to Chichin Itza, and not far from the town's main drag. That is probably where the positives end, for me...

Our room was large, but not all that clean. In fact, the sheets smelled stale (as if they had already been slept in), and the shower was grimy. Put it this way: we slept in our sleeping sacks, and wore flip flops in the shower.

The pool looked grotty, the fan in the room did not work, and the wifi signal was temperamental.

Next time, I would probably base myself in Merida and take a day trip to Chichen Itza, as there is no point really getting a room in town as long as the light show is not being offered.

We stayed at much nicer places with better facilities for the same price, or less.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasSaysSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

There is camping here, just ask the front desk. Showers are cold, but it is a convenient place to stay of you are going to see the ruins.

Room Tip: parking is big enough for RV's and overland vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

It's a place to stay that is walking distance to the entrance of Chichen Itza, about 1.5km. The price is OK, 500 pesos per night for a double. The room condition is tolerable, could use a little care. The shower head could be original Mayan. However, it has air con, cable TV in the lobby and a barely serviceable Wi-Fi in the lobby. Also, there's a large pool. If you want to be close to Chichen Itza it's probably your best deal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
476 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
1,411 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen
Hotel Dolores Alba Chichen
#5 of 5 in Chichen Itza
493 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Piramide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piramide Inn

Address: 15-a | Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Piramide Hotel Chichen Itza
Piramide Hotel Chichén Itzá
Piramide Inn Piste, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing