We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping or hammocks hanging”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piramide Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Piste
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piramide Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Camping or hammocks hanging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I put my tent during 3 nights in the garden of this hotel for 50 pesos a night. Toilet and shower clean but cold. One can use the very clean toilet near the reception. The owner, American old lady, extremely kind, gave me two blankets as it was a bit cold. Excellent place for someone camping as it's possible to use the big swimming pool. Compound a bit noisy all night long as traffic and trucks pass by. By staying in Piramide Inn, one can visit Chichen Itza right from 8 a.m., the Ik Kil cenote, but pls skip Balankanche caves as these are not interesting. Moreover the price requested (110 pesos !) is too high and staff won't give out tickets unless you insist on it, but will keep the money in their pockets... Remember that Light and Sound show in Chichen does no more take place in the night since 2 years now, but might resume as all the hotels and restaurants owners in Piste' hope.

Room Tip: Campers can pitch their tent in the garden near the swimming pool or under two palapas, but better l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 42Manuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
8
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

You can walk to the worlds most famous Mayan site from this hotel. Very few businesses can say this. Its about a mile or so, (2-3 Km.) A deep, clean pool, concrete pool furniture, grassy back area, (try finding that in the small town hotels of the Yucatan) . The best part is that you can stay out back in a hammock if you want, (you need to bring the hammock as far as I know) The people as managers are involved with animal kindness and charity in towns in the area . (God knows so many of those dogs need some sort of attention.) The rooms are 400 to 500 pesos, a place to rest and reorganize, ask gently about the long history of this hotel regarding the Explorers club, the meetings that have taken place here, the small photo gallery at the top of the second floor landing. The gardens are a remarkable tribute to what is possible if someone understands the thin soil of the north Yucatan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the stairs so late at night you can sneak out to see Explorers that came bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Having read the reviews here i was somewhat hesistant to stay here, but i found the experience to be positive overall. The rooms are very spacious, with nice beds (if you like them a bit bouncy), functional bathroom and powerful hot shower. Rooms come with aircon that certainly is powerful enough, although i needed to jam a piece of paper into the grating to keep it from blowing straight down to the floor (broken handle i suppose).

As for the state of maintenance: i've had a look at 2 rooms upon arrival and they looked very similar. There is, however, some work to be done one the rooms and the hotel in general. I've seen some flaky paint and such, but this seemed to have been caused by ageing rather than problems with moisture, mold or anything harmful. I have included some pictures.

The owners are a very nice and helpful couple. They seem to be a bit short on staff, so you will sometimes find the reception unmanned.

About the location: It is located on the end of Piste closest to the ruins, which can be reached on foot within 20 minutes or so. The bus stop has been moved to the cenrter of Piste however, so unless you manage to get off the bus at exacly the right spot (a road behind the hotel, cross an alley and you're almost at the front door), you will have to walk or take a taxi.

If you opt for a hotel closer to the middle of Piste you need to take a taxi to the chichen itza site, but they are inexpensive and take only a few minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We were excited to be within walking distance of Chichen Itza and figured that the fact that it's such a huge destination is why we were paying $500mxn for a budget hotel. The room was nice looking and the pool area looked nice.

Then hmmm the toilet would not flush. Took us all of 20 seconds to figure out that the chain from the handle to the flap was broken. We were on our way out for dinner so we told the guy at the front desk and hoped it would be fixed by the time we got back. ....Back to the hotel at 9:30p he had yet to look at it. He tried it, didn't even look under the hood and proclaimed "it's dead". Brilliant. Then we went to take a shower and not only was there no hot water, there was no water at all.

The next morning we checked out and moved to the hotel next door that although a bit grubbier, only cost $300mxn and both toilet and shower worked. I do have to say that the woman we talked to in the morning (possibly the owner?) was kind enough to refund half of our money which went a long way with us. I'm sure they did not knowingly put us in a room in such disrepair but it certainly did not leave us wanting to recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piste hotels

italy
Level Contributor
255 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The place is surely very close to the archeological site and let you get there early, before the mass of tourists (and the roasting sunlight) flood it. The general appearance is not bad and the rooms are colourful and spacious but the place looks a bit "deserted", with the "pond-like" pool and the cats wandering everywhere. Nevertheless, not a bad stay and a relaxing one, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank roseglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

The rooms are outstanding, decorated with a "i'm in mexico" style. Sadly because I'm family I know what happened there but with my Grandma and John running the place on their own it makes the laundry and cleanliness alot more than what it is. I really enjoy the courage they would do when my mom got sick, also whenever they had a problem I would be happy to help. Plus the showers were fixed so they're hotter. And the hottel old but is pretty intact, they closed the cafe' (the story) but with local diners finding some good food is quick. Its a big plot of land so you could play soccer or some football. Have a little party. The rooms are cheep considering the price. There is also a relaxing feeling while in bed, the room has a night light and a pretty big bathroom so its a good room to have. The swimming pool can be dirty and even if you have to clean it, it will still be pretty fun. The resturant is closed but because I'm family I can go in and eat, maybe make them some eggs or myself if they were hungry. I sugest you go here; they support anyone how wants to have a good time in mexico.

Room Tip: John can be helpful and fun to be with. And the cats make the place alot more entertaining. Also I r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bryce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

For 50 pesos a night, you can camp next to a beautiful pool and an actual Mayan tomb, and youre within a comfortable walk to the Chichen Itza ruins. The place is covered with art, from frescoes on the cieling to sculptures in the yard. The place has kind of a 1960s feel, which is a fun mix with the owner's obvious passion for archaeology. There are about 13 cats and two firendly dogs, so if you have allergies, stay away... but if you like animals, this place is a hoot! We had a cat adopt us for our entire stay... Bonus points if you don't mind the cold shower. (We didn't-- the Yucatan is hot!)

Room Tip: you can camp on the lawn or on concrete under little shelters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lux F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piste
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chichen Itza
Hotel Chichen Itza
#1 of 3 in Piste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
#1 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Oka'an
Hotel Oka'an
#4 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
The Lodge at Chichen Itza
#3 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Chichen
Hacienda Chichen
#2 of 5 in Chichen Itza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piramide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piramide Inn

Property: Piramide Inn
Address: 15-A | Piste, Piste 97751, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Piste
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Piste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Piramide Hotel Chichen Itza
Piramide Hotel Chichén Itzá
Piramide Inn Piste, Mexico - Yucatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing