We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time warp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Casa Grande Baena
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baena
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time warp”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

What was once,obviously, the town house of a wealthy local has been converted into an hotel of character. We had a substantial room overlooking the main road with electrically operated shutters that worked, and a large newly converted bathroom . The only criticism was that the carpet hadn't seen a hoover for some time. Parking was free right opposite the hotel. We had a meal in the bar in the evening with interesting local cuisine ! We were the only diners.
The total cost of our stay, B & B and dinner was 63 EUR for two of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    36
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
34
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel, just opposite to the Central Park, brings something glorious
from the old days. The stairs in the lobby , the atmosphere in the hotel -
fantastic!
We booked a small suite with large jaquzzi and big terrace , view to the park.
A great stay with reasonable cost.
The city itself is beautiful with narrow streets , several restaurants , is
something authentic you could just imagine.
By the way there is a great olive oil shop, just on the other side of the
park. A great place to pop in.

Bueno Baena!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our reason for visiting Baena, on our way back home from the Cazorla National park, was to visit the Santa Maria olive oil mill, which has been owned by the Nunez de Prado family since 1795, when they first started producing olive oil - so the family does know a thing or two about it!

We were able to wander round the mill, so saw all the presses, as well as the barrels, which we believe are used for their top of the range olive oil, the Nunez de Prado Flor de aceite. If we understood correctly, this oil is produced by allowing the olive paste to free run, seeping from the rotating barrels, in order to produce this very special oil. Interesting to hear that using this process, it takes 10 kilos of the olive paste, to produce 1 litre of Flor de aceite!

Naturally, they have other processes to produce the regular extra virgin olive oil, but, whichever one you choose, you can be confident that you are buying Andalucian olive oil at its best.

This mill is so much worth a visit, but do book in advance. We didn't, so, although we were allowed to go round the mill on our own, we had to rely on the guys at reception to explain to us all that we had seen. The two brothers, who own the mill and who apparently do all the tours themselves, were out of the country.

Back to the hotel! It was chosen because it was the only one that appeared in the Spanish hotel guide that we had brought with us, as well as being very close to the Santa Maria mill, the reason for our visit to Baena.

The guide we consulted was from 2009, so a couple of years old. The price range that was indicated for a double room was €83 to €107, so, when we phoned and were offered a choice of rooms for €50 including tax, a small warning light lit up!

Having retrospectively read some of the other reviews on the hotel, they are spot on. What could be an impressive lobby, with lots of marble and antiques all over the place, is somehow let down by the somber decor and a reception area that does not do the lobby justice. They have got everything there, but it just needs a good interior designer to put it all together.

The lift is adjacent to the reception desk, and this is the first introduction to the general tackiness - the stained and dirty carpet covering the lift floor! We were shown a couple of bedrooms, and chose the one that was best lit, being on the corner and having two large windows. However, the stained and ugly carpeting was again in evidence so we were very pleased to have packed our slippers!

Having said that, the rest of the room was clean, although the somewhat stained easy chair, was one to be avoided! We checked the bed thoroughly - pristine clean sheets, a clean mattress (although unprotected), so we were reasonably contented. The bathroom, incidentally, was very clean as well as being very spacious.

One unusual aspect of the room was that the electric role up window blind obviously suited the local Swift population, as there must have been several nests in the box housing the blind.

Somehow the nests must have been placed in such a way as to avoid being crushed when operating the blinds!

It was the time of the year for the babies to want feeding so they made a heck of a racket. Fortunately they were very good babies when it came to bed time, as we only heard one loud squeak during the night, which did not reoccur until the morning; so maybe mum shut them up, as I'm sure she wasn't going to go hunting for food at night!!

We did not have dinner in the hotel, which was perhaps a mistake, as we ate at the Meson Casa del Monte, in the upper town, described as "a cut above the rest". If this is true then God help the rest!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuropeBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

From the outside, the hotel looks good enough, and once inside the lobby area is pretty impressive, as it's a beautiful, old building that has been refurbished.

But the problem is that the rooms are very disappointing (tiny single bed, that wasn't very comfortable) and not too well taken care of: used toiletries in the bathroom, WiFi in the bedrooms but with no indications on how to connect to it, and no telephone directory to tell you how to call the reception desk, so the only way to get the password was to go there personally.

The price was very good, just 36 euros without breakfast, but I'd rather pay a bit more and get some proper basic services...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

The hotel itself used to be a family mansion, there is marble & family heirlooms everywhere. The rooms are large, & although the beds didn't look too good, they were comfortable. The furnishings were old & a bit tired although clean & the bathroom was large & very clean.
Baena is a nice place to visit & the olive oil factory is a great place to visit (buy the tasty oil!). I'd love to visit again...

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cómpeta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

A lousy, dark interior room, #104, at 72.- Too expensive. Small bathroom. Bulbs not working. Closet falling apart. Receptionist said all rooms were booked so not possible to change. We were willing to pay for a better room. We saw 1 other person at the hotel:-(

  • Liked — Free parking in front of the hotel
  • Disliked — Don't choose room #104, others are overlooking the park
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank INLANDProperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baena hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baena
5.0 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
118 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
132 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
108 reviews
11.7 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
24.6 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa Grande Baena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa Grande Baena

Property: Hotel La Casa Grande Baena
Address: Travesia Cervantes 35, 14850 Baena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Baena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa Grande Baena 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Casa Grande Baena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing