We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean and great service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Essence Serviced Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chermside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean and great service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Lovely clean room with everything you could need for a short or long stay. Price was very reasonable. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Apartments are so conveniently located near shops, hospital, transport and not too far from the airport. Would definitely stay there again. Keep up the great service and lovely clean quiet rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unversedfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Director of Sales at Essence Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay with us at Essence. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    53
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
40
37
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My mother and I stayed here for one night in March. After booking the room on line my credit card was compromised and cancelled by the bank. On being contacted on line I phoned and explained what had happened. The staff couldn't be more helpful. They held the booking for us and on checking in they helped with the $50 room deposit as we still had no valid credit card to put the security deposit on. The studio room was clean, fresh and modern. The only thing to be aware of is that there are no single beds, which was not an issue for us being mother and daughter, so if you want your own bed a one bedroom or two bedroom apartment would be better. For one night we didn't worry and slept very well.

Room Tip: Be aware that to have separate beds you will need a one or two bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essence_12, Director of Sales at Essence Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your staff at Essence, and our wonderful staff exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future. Regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Be prepared for the rude unfriendly staff upon arrival. I spent 3 nights at Essence and I would have to seriously consider staying with them again! Location is ok, however the southern side (where most of the apartments are) of the building faces a main road and is extremely noisy. Breakfast is average to poor. Also check your bed for hairs before jumping in. Mine had 4 long hairs, after telling staff, they said "what do you want me to do? The cleaners have all gone home" Waste of money for how I was treated!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnY2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Director of Sales at Essence Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. It would be great if you could contact me directly salesmanager@essenceapartments.com or P: 07 3613 7400 to address your concerns personally.

Please note this is certainly not our normal standard of guest service and training has been provided to the staff member involved with this matter. We sincerely apologies.

Our breakfast is a very simple Lite breakfast of tea/cofee, toast and cereal something you may find at home, and we promote this Free breakfast accordingly. Had you wish for more choices our staff would have been delighted to directed you to one of the cafes located close.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Payed for room before check in, then asked for $50 deposit for key. Also surcharge for using Visa. Very very noisy rooms from traffic and people walking upstairs. Staff are not friendly or helpful in any way was treating like I was stupid when questioned extra charges!!there are other motels close to hospital. Will never stay again or recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Director of Sales at Essence Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your review, it would of been greatly appreciated if you could of voiced your concerns whilst you were staying with us, as I am positive we would of found a solution to meet your requirements.

The $50 preauthorisation is an industry standard across the world when checking into a hotel and in our case extremely cheap compared to most standards which is $200. This is not for a key deposit but a holding deposit in case of breakages, damages or mini bar. We make our charges very clear for credit cards, that you have FREE options as well to pay, unfortunately you chose not to take advantage of these options which are available at time of booking. We are deeply sorry that we were did not met your expectations and the management take your comments extremely seriously, if I can be of any further assistance in the future should you wish to stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact me. Regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel after a Google search when we couldn't get into Quest. It was still only a few minutes drive from our function at Kedron Services Club but a bit beyond walking distance. Being off the main road meant it was a quiet location.

The rooms were modern and had everything we needed including kitchen, air con, balcony, secure parking, two bathrooms and a TV in each bedroom as well as living area.

I'd recommend it to anyone thats not afraid to drive to where ever they need to go...

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Director of Sales at Essence Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always pleasing to learn from our guests that our facilities and services exceeded there expectations. We hope we have converted you to a permanent returned guest to Essence Serviced Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The only thing that lets it down are the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. The guy at reception when I checked in could of been a bit friendlier. The oven in my room was disgusting needs a good clean. The oven is right next to the curtains a fire hazard. Having to open them when cooking gives no privacy and everyone from the road can see right into the studio apartment I was on level 1. No screen door on the balcony lets the bugs in also the ceiling fan had thick dust on it. It actually is a nice place but I had to give a low rating because of those things. The hotel is modern and is in a good spot. You can hear everything in the hallways and doors slamming but can't really hear the traffic noise to much. The people above me made lots of noise dragging chairs and walking back and forth it went on for about an hour and kept me awake. The beds are nice and comfortable also the bathroom is spacious. Parking is the reason I stayed and being close to the city. I had no problems with parking there were plenty of vacant spots. I didn't go to the breakfast so I can't review that. If you need a quick overnight or a few days and a comfortable bed to sleep in at a reasonable price then this place will be fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Director of Sales at Essence Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback, we take this information you have provided extremely seriously. We have addressed this with our reception team and housekeeping executive. We are pleased that you found our facilities well appointed and accessible.

We would welcome you to visit us again and allow us to show case our true professionalism.

Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

They are more of hotel rooms than apartments. Modern, clean but noisy outside during the night (a motor of some sort?). Hopeless administration. They charged my credit card two days before I was entitled to a free cancellation. The charges were made under their legal entity name which has no name relation to the hotel name and with the added 3% credit card charges, it took some investigation to work out where the charges came from !!? After I stayed, without notice, they charged my credit card for a midi bar item but when we rang, they admitted that the charges were made in error.. good one !?

Room Tip: Avoid the west side rooms.. they are very warm in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitors818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Director of Sales at Essence Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused with regards to our payment and human error with the mini bar charge. We do provide a free payment options with direct deposit and all this information is presented at time of confirmation via email. It is our policy to charge accommodation within 7 days to 48 hours of arrival. I do hope that we can welcome you back to Essence and showcase our property in the future.

Regards
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chermside
3.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Virginia
3.2 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#37 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Aabon Apartments & Motel
#77 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chermside Motor Inn
Chermside Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Chermside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Serviced Apartments

Property: Essence Serviced Apartments
Address: 541 Rode Rd, Chermside, Queensland 4032, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Chermside
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chermside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Essence Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence is a stylish, sophisticated, spacious, and fully furnished serviced apartment building meeting the requirements of a variety of travellers. Positioned in the heart of Chermside, we offer immediate access to both Prince Charles and Holy Spirit Hospitals, a approx. 10 Minutes drive from the Brisbane International and Domestic Airports or CBD, cultural locations and close proximity to public transport. We can offer you peace of mind, value for money and most of all a comfortable and relaxing stay. Whether you're coming to stay for business or leisure, for a night, a week or a month, we have a place for you to stay. Room Options: Apartment Types•Studios (up to 2 guests)•Studio - Accessible (up to 2 guests)•Studio Balcony (up to 2 guests)•One bedroom apartments (up to 4 guests)•One bedroom suites (up to 4 guests)•Two bedroom apartments (up to 4 guests)•Two bedroom suites (up to 6 guests). Conference Facilities Available: Our dedicated meeting room and versatile function room is suitable for a range of meeting and training requirements. Our meeting room comes with natural light, courtyard access to outdoor terrace and garden ares, full kitchen facilities, independently controlled air conditioning, remote LCD TV, high speed wireless internet, and ISDN lines. Maximum capacity within the boardroom is as follows; Theatre Style 20 people, Boardroom Style 16 people. We are the perfect location for a relaxed and productive working environment! Day packages per delegate start from AUD $59.00 - Call us today! "Our recent team workshop at the Essence was handled proficiently & professionally." ..Joanne, Lawton. February ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing