We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family to spend the night in their B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Sotto le Stelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were in transit from Trapani to Agrigento on Sicily. In Caltabellotta we have had our overnight stay in B&B Sotto le Stelle. Managed, together with their restaurant, by a family with three very friendly brothers. The rooms in the B&B are fantastic, very very nice and the service is really on persons oriented. The connection between the B&B and their retaurant with only fresh products is a very good approach. Breakfast is modest but is well taken care of. Sotto le Stelle is an attractive B&B to have your overnight stays if you want to discover Sicily near Caltabellotta.

Room Tip: There are only nice rooms and if you want to have a bit larger room, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 515Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

The most beautiful bedrooms that I happened to sleep in all Sicily. The B&B is truly fantastic and for a great price.
Everything is elegantly decorated, clean and comfortable. Great view from the balcony also!
Also the hosting family is super welcoming and kind!

Lorenzo

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This B&B is one of the most aesthetic environments I have been in while traveling. Everything is tastefully done. No kitsch here. The colors are warm and enriching which adds to the comfort within. The headboard in my room was a work of art. The view went on forever and the place was spotless. There is much attention to detail and the pride of those who make it happen is evident. The family Augello is to be applauded for their high standards.
Additionally, the restaurant the family runs is as high a caliber as the B&B.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank ahotpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We spent one night in Caltabellotta during a one week trip to Sicily. Honestly, had I known what to expect I would have booked at least 3 nights - this is the most romantic, beautiful and charming place EVER! We did not want to leave and almost cancelled the rest of our tour.
Sotto le Stelle is located in a beautifully renovated old house - a labour of love really, all done by the family in a 5 year project and with much attention to detail. No two rooms are the same, you still have the old frescoes where it was possible to preserve them, antique and modern furniture and parts have been designed by an artist friend. Very clean rooms, some with a stunning view and balcony, comfortable beds, spotless modern bathrooms.
Last but not least the family which runs the place is just lovely and wonderful.
We arrived early in the afternoon, starving after the trip from Palermo. After showing us the house and our room, we asked Guiseppe where we might find a place to eat - upon which he replied 'but why, you can eat at my restaurant!'. We followed him through narrow cobblestone- paved streets, entered through a door with just a little sign sayig 'MATES' and were in culinary HEAVEN. Mamma and brother are cooking real Sicilian food, and we not only had lunch but also dinner there - I'll write a separate review.
Guiseppe, a heartfelt thank you to you and yours - we are still dreaming of Caltabelotta thanks to you, your family, Sotto le Stelle and MATES - it has become our magical word of comfort when things get tough (or simply when we are hungry) - a whispered 'Caltabellotta'!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. If you care for a nice view ask for one with a balcony facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love4theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Easter March 31st to April 7th 2013:

Eight of us stayed at this B+B run by Giuseppe and his brother and supported by their parents in the background. Both brothers were friendly, hospitable, and polite and served us freshly pressed orange juice, espresso or café latte or tea or all four, fruit yoghurt, warm croissants, melba toast, Italian cookies e.g. campagnole +/or small chocolate cookies, and homemade cake in the kitchen /eating room.

Some Germans were unhappy because they expected MORE; salami or ham + marmalade or jam + bread and complained constantly but some are complainers and fussers anyway. We don’t eat this type of breakfast at home either but it was very good and if more was wanted of anything, one only had to ask and you can be sure the Germans got their fill of coffee while I got my fill of cake and croissants and OJ.

Giuseppe’s English is limited and there were a few misunderstandings but he managed well and explained many things and traditions and often with a dry humor that I particularly appreciated.

Our room was very small but clean and warm. The other rooms were much larger + each a work of art; tastefully decorated with traditional furniture. The group was charged per room and not per person, which is more than reasonable. Housekeeping was done every day.

Caltabellotta is really out of the way (like El Remo in La Palma) but it is definitely worth a visit of at least a few days and Sotto Le Stelle is ideally situated close to the main street where sufficient parking is available and one is not forced to navigate Caltabellotta’s excessively narrow, bumpy, and uneven 45° angle streets.

The family also runs MATES, a semi-gourmet slow-food restaurant where 6 of us enjoyed our best meal of the week and again at a very reasonable price.

Hats off to Sotto Le Stelle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berts428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

At last I arrived in Sicily with my family,in a small village called Caltabellotta.After reading some reviews we decided to stay in B&B Sotto le Stelle,we found five beautiful bedrooms all particularly decorated with hand made linen and antique furniture which all belonged to the owners,the Augello family.This family made up of husband and wife and three sons, all very friendly and ready to help us.How can I not speak of Laura's home made cakes offered every morning for breakfast in an enormous lounge where you can read,use your computer and relax.A shame we could not use the terrace seeing it was cold.Must come back this summer.

Room Tip: All particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This morning I found the photographs of my summer holiday in Sicily, my favourite town was Caltabellotta. My husband and I stayed in the B&B "Sotto le Stelle". The staff was fantastic, the service excellent and the rooms SUPERB!!!!!!! Caltabellotta is on the mountains and the sea only twenty minutes drive. I reccomend this B&B to everybody.

Room Tip: All the rooms!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caltabellotta hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Querce GuestHouse
Le Querce GuestHouse
#3 of 6 in Caltabellotta
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Mule
Bed and Breakfast Mule
#6 of 6 in Caltabellotta
9 reviews
3.6 mi away
B&B Le Foglie d'Argento
B&B Le Foglie d'Argento
#2 of 6 in Caltabellotta
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Le Zarafe
Agriturismo Le Zarafe
#4 of 6 in Caltabellotta
76 reviews
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sotto le Stelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sotto le Stelle

Address: Via San Paolo 35, 92010 Caltabellotta, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Caltabellotta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Caltabellotta
Price Range: £56 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Brakfast realizzato in una casa di fine 800.Tutte le stanze presentano affreschi sui tetti e i pavimenti decorati di una volta inoltre le stanze sono arredate con mobili in stile 800 siciliano.Da non trascurare la splendida vista sul mare e del paesaggio medievale del luogo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B Sotto le Stelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sotto Le Stelle Caltabellotta, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing