We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Whispering Pines is a must visit place. The location is very good, surrounded by hills and valleys. We enjoyed our holiday here very much. The Ghiadhar trek shall remain a cherished memory for me forever. Still can’t get over the awesome view of Chaukhamba and other Himalayan peaks.
You can’t expect a 5 star service in such a remote area and it is not a luxurious place at all, however this nature resort does complete justice to the exotic location. Activities including trek, hiking, bonfire were awesome and very well managed by the team.
A really great place to spend a few days with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent a long weekend in this beautiful place. There were two main things which made our trip a memorable one. First, the drive to Jwarna via Dehradun was so adventurous and exiting. To add to that our active holiday experience was simply fantastic. We were so pleasantly surprised by many aspects of our stay at this lovely mountain resort.

A few points that need special mention:
1. The view was amazing. Especially during the sunrise and sunset times - simply breathtaking.
2. The location was perfect in more ways than one and because you are lucky to stay away from the noise, the incessant traffic, commercialized hill stations and crowds, which is what we prefer to do.
3. The food quality and the taste was extremely good.
4. Our stay was also enhanced by the service levels of the staff and the quick check in/check out process.

Overall, I highly recommend this place to people who are looking for a calm and serene experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashufbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent a few happy days at Whispering Pines recently hence wanted to share our experience. This place provides the perfect solution for those who are tired of the typical hotel experience, but not quite ready for the hard task of adventure camping. The location is gorgeous, right in the Himalayas. The tents are not luxurious but of decent size, clean, and very comfortable with a bathroom attached. The staff is helpful and polite; you never need to ask twice, food is especially good. The resident manager Mr. Chauhan made sure that our every request was attended to. Staying at this property was an amazing experience and I would recommend it to any family or couples looking for a great face to face with Mother Nature

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guptashashank2624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was fun filled experience, amazing ambiance, a clean and calm environment which truly rejuvenated us. Food is very nice with some pahari fare as well; hospitality of the staff is amazing and heart warming. Evenings in particular were very nice and romantic.
Location being the highlight, it makes Whispering Pines a perfect holiday destination in the Indian Himalayas.
I am sure to come here again this August during the long weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chauhanprateek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

One of the best offbeat holiday experience. Stayed at Whispering Pines for four nights and five days with my wife. Although every exotic destination has its own charm the natural beauty of this location has no match. Combined with good services, an adventurous yet comfortable stay.

Both of us are avid photographers and we can tell with confidence that the nature resort and the surrounding areas reward amateur as well as pro photographers handsomely with amazing frames to capture.

Highly recommended overall.

Travel tip: If you have a history of motion sickness (my wife has) make sure to take a medicine before you start driving up from Dehradun, otherwise you have to face a bad driving time and miss out on the fun of enjoying it.

Room Tip: We wanted to save money hence chose a deluxe tent with common toilet section, and had no problem at...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmolAmte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is truly a tented camp for people looking to rough it out and get close to nature. Don't expect anything more or anything less. The property is a couple of kilometers off the main road. This stretch is a dirt road and quite bumpy, that said it only takes 5-7 minutes hence not much of a problem. The closest town is quite far, so once you ration up for the evening, there wont be anything going or coming, so stock up well in advance.

There are 6 Deluxe tents (basically means you have your own bathroom) and other normal tents (with shared toilets). We stayed in the deluxe tent. The tent was...well a tent. Enough place for a queen size double bed, a desk, one plug point. The attached bathroom was another small tent with a WC, wash basin, tap to have a bath. So very basic to say the least. Apart from that there is not much on the property itself.

What was really impressive were the views, the service, and the food. The views really are incredible, and the place extremely tranquil and quiet. Really ideal if one is looking to get away from it all. Mobile network limited to BSNL only, don't bother with Vodafone, Airtel or any other network. The food really was amazing! The cook is excellent, and the local food just tasted awesome. Would visit again just for this.

We had a good tour company who booked all our activities. We did some hiking, rappelling, rock climbing, valley crossing and commando training, all of which were excellent. I would particularly recommend the hike (for the wonderful views) and rappelling (especially if its your first time).

Overall a good rustic experience. Don't expect any sort of luxury (even electricity is very unreliable). Would not recommend for young children. All said, if you are looking to get away from it all and have a really quiet and peaceful few days, this is the ideal place!

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe rooms for the attached toilet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dapppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I seem to have got bitten by the holiday bug really hard this summers, as this was my second holiday in last two months :). I stayed at Whispering Pines with my wife between may 14th and 16th. While the breeze already gives you an indication of the things to come as you drive upwards from Dehradun, towards Dhanolti and beyond but the magical part is how this place starts to sink in and grow in you with every hour passing by.

A big family group checked out on day two and we were the only residents there then, however not for a minute we felt lonely. The stunning sights and the ever hospitable, caring staff kept us well fed and well entertained.

Great food, extremely nice staff, comfortable tents and the location - I may not have words enough to describe it's beauty.

Highly recommended, hands down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RupinderKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhanaulti
0.0 mi away
Royal Residency
Royal Residency
#1 of 1 in Dhanaulti
8 reviews
2.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Kanatal
Club Mahindra Kanatal
#1 of 3 in New Tehri
347 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
20.7 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
3.0 mi away
Apple Orchard Resort
Apple Orchard Resort
#1 of 8 in Dhanaulti
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat

Address: Jwarna, PO Kanatal, Off Mussoorie Chamba Road, Dhanaulti 249304, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Tehri Garhwal District > Dhanaulti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Dhanaulti
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Pines, Jwarna (near Kanatal) is one of India's highest adventure resorts, at over 8,000 feet above m.S.L. And one of the closest active lifestyle family holiday destination at this altitude from Delhi. Whispering Pines also has one of the Best Sunrise View in the country. Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat, the property is nothing short of high level of comforts, unending array of recreation and activities for all ages, and a retreat virtually spread over an entire hillock - exploring which, may be a full day activity in itself. The retreat is well equipped and most popular holiday nature resort for nature and adventure lovers in the region, just 30 kms off Mussoorie, 10 kms off Dhanolti and 4 kms off Kanatal.A round-the-year destination, this magic kingdom, blessed by mother nature welcomes the new age, lifestyle oriented families, corporates, international travelers, with hard-to-imagine-unless-you've-been-there captivating weather. Cool breeze welcomes you here in the peak summers, bright open skies, with occasional hide and seek of romantic mists in the monsoons, and the warm sun tempting you to bask in its glory over the heaps of fresh snow in the winters. Reason To Visit: The wide variety of recreation for all ages and tastes. Amazing 180° view of snow capped Himalayan peaks all round the year. Thick forests of Cedar, Pine and Rhodendron all around in addition to Apple orchards. Good food and proximity to dozens of places of tourist interest, including Tehri Dam, Dhanolti, Mussoorie and more. Round the year destination for the entire family. Clearly for those looking for an Un-hotel experience and can enjoy mother nature sans TVs, WiFi, Mobile Phones (only BSNL gets great network here), luxuries and fancy glitz. Know It: Whispering Pines is an active lifestyle nature resort located away from the main town and there may not be any shopping options nearby. Do not expect multi cuisine gourmet dining or room service here. Carry lots of heavy woolens even in summers. Due to road widening, temporarily, our guests will require to park their cars at a spot below the property and walk for about 100 meters to reach the reception. Porters available for baggage. Inconvenience regretted. Feel free to talk to the camp managers before hand to clarify any doubts or queries that you may have regarding what to expect and what not to while coming to this natural haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing