We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best of nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Dehradun, India
1 review
“best of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best thing I liked about Whispering Pines is that the whole cluster of tents is built on a small hillock with no major habitation around for miles. I believe that's the beauty of this place.
Positives:
1. Good food & service provided, special thanks to Mr. Shobha Ram
2. Tents are neat & clean.
3. Good Hospitality. Very supportive& good staff
4. Awesome View
Negative:
1. Power supply is a bit erratic in this area (and we forgot to carry torches!)
2. Lack of shopping options in the vicinity

A destination that should be on every true mountain lover’s bucket list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaudharykavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    28
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

An opportunity to go far away from the material world. We were here in the May first week and thoroughly enjoy trekking, hiking and rappelling. The resort is located at a very nice scenic location. The day we reached at resort it was raining all day so the weather was very cool and lush green mountains were visible all around.
Honestly saying we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of food and facilities at such a remote place. View of the sky at night is much more than awesome.
Recommended to anyone who wants a quite weekend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakenAkshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very good location far from the maddening crowd of the cities or any over crowded hill station. The property has enough to keep one engaged through out the day. The tents are good and almost all of them provide a good view of the nearby hills and cultivations.
The staff is very helpful and always there to provide any help or support.
Minor negatives are that there is a shortage of water but it is the problem every where in these hills and not unique to this property. However, the staff ensured that we never faced any acute problem due to the shortage.
Moreover, the road leading to this property from the highway is very narrow and thus caution must be taken while driving in this 1.4 km stretch. Although, I must say that this road builds up to the feeling of adventure in one's mind.
Overall, an excellent location which any nature enthusiast should try.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Shankha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Was in live with the place the very first time I visited whispering pines! True to its name you have only the nature whispering in your ears ! A soothing and calming effect was the immediate inject to my stress ridden mind and body ! The chaos of the board room articulation ' number crunching nightmares slowly diminished and faded in this natures very own bounty ! I ride to Himalayan destinations once or twice a year ! Whispering pines is a bikers paradise as well !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Ayush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

“One can speak to once soul only when the two of them are off exploring deserts or cities or mountains or roads” I no more disagree with it. This is the place to stay if you want some peaceful time away from the city madness. Green natural surroundings, you can spend hours sitting at this divine place.
The food is delicious and the whole staff is pretty courteous (special mention to Mr. Pashupati who is very sweet and helpful). It was heartening to see the crew running around from dawn to dusk just to make sure that we were well fed, entertained and comfortable all the time.
Thumbs Up!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divyagarg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was my first trip to Dhanaulti and Kanatal. I was a bit skeptical about the facilities. However, my apprehensions were laid to rest the moment I entered the property and experienced warm hospitality and smiling faces of the courteous staff. It is a great destination for sure - a peaceful place and a must visit destination for true nature lovers.
The service was quite good, our tent was comfortable. The staff was friendly yet professional and special mention to Mr. Govind who took personal care to ensure that the trip was memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arpit2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Whispering Pines is a must visit place. The location is very good, surrounded by hills and valleys. We enjoyed our holiday here very much. The Ghiadhar trek shall remain a cherished memory for me forever. Still can’t get over the awesome view of Chaukhamba and other Himalayan peaks.
You can’t expect a 5 star service in such a remote area and it is not a luxurious place at all, however this nature resort does complete justice to the exotic location. Activities including trek, hiking, bonfire were awesome and very well managed by the team.
A really great place to spend a few days with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudhir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhanaulti
2.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Kanatal
Club Mahindra Kanatal
#1 of 3 in New Tehri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Ashirwad
Hotel Ashirwad
#57 of 74 in Mussoorie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.0 mi away
Apple Orchard Resort
Apple Orchard Resort
#1 of 8 in Dhanaulti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Hermitage Kanatal
The Hermitage Kanatal
#2 of 10 in New Tehri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.5 mi away
Green Forest Resorts
Green Forest Resorts
#5 of 21 in Dhanaulti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pahadi House Kanatal
Pahadi House Kanatal
#2 of 10 in Kanatal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat

Property: Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat
Address: Jwarna, PO Kanatal, Off Mussoorie Chamba Road, Dhanaulti 249304, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Dhanaulti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Dhanaulti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Pines, Jwarna (near Kanatal) is one of India's highest adventure resorts, at over 8,000 feet above m.S.L. And one of the closest active lifestyle family holiday destination at this altitude from Delhi. Whispering Pines also has one of the Best Sunrise View in the country. Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat, the property is nothing short of high level of comforts, unending array of recreation and activities for all ages, and a retreat virtually spread over an entire hillock - exploring which, may be a full day activity in itself. The retreat is well equipped and most popular holiday nature resort for nature and adventure lovers in the region, just 30 kms off Mussoorie, 10 kms off Dhanolti and 4 kms off Kanatal.A round-the-year destination, this magic kingdom, blessed by mother nature welcomes the new age, lifestyle oriented families, corporates, international travelers, with hard-to-imagine-unless-you've-been-there captivating weather. Cool breeze welcomes you here in the peak summers, bright open skies, with occasional hide and seek of romantic mists in the monsoons, and the warm sun tempting you to bask in its glory over the heaps of fresh snow in the winters. Reason To Visit: The wide variety of recreation for all ages and tastes. Amazing 180° view of snow capped Himalayan peaks all round the year. Thick forests of Cedar, Pine and Rhodendron all around in addition to Apple orchards. Good food and proximity to dozens of places of tourist interest, including Tehri Dam, Dhanolti, Mussoorie and more. Round the year destination for the entire family. Clearly for those looking for an Un-hotel experience and can enjoy mother nature sans TVs, WiFi, Mobile Phones (only BSNL gets great network here), luxuries and fancy glitz. Know It: Whispering Pines is an active lifestyle nature resort located away from the main town and there may not be any shopping options nearby. Do not expect multi cuisine gourmet dining or room service here. Carry lots of heavy woolens even in summers. Due to road widening, temporarily, our guests will require to park their cars at a spot below the property and walk for about 100 meters to reach the reception. Porters available for baggage. Inconvenience regretted. Feel free to talk to the camp managers before hand to clarify any doubts or queries that you may have regarding what to expect and what not to while coming to this natural haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Whispering Pines Himalayan Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing