We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation, dissappointing room (maybe next time better?)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Contignano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borgo di Castelvecchio
Ranked #1 of 1 Contignano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Follow the directions provided by the accommodation; otherwise you will have trouble finding it. The hotel is uniquely located. Unfortunately we did not have the chance to use the pool, due to thunder. And although the accommodation as a whole looks up to date, we were given a rather outdated small house. We think that that house does not reflect the accommodation’s standard. For one night, it was rather high priced, very outdated and not so clean (some centipides in the bath tub and bed room, but hey you're in the country). But we will try another room next time, since the location and facilities are good.

We had dinner at the same location. The other guests (a family of four) had a cooking experience booked. The food they helped to prepare was great. The long wooden table was inviting to share travel ideas with the other guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siejoepuntnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Borgo was charming with a wonderful atmosphere only to be found in this area of Italy. Tuscany did not disappoint, it is stunning.
My party stayed in the main house on a bed and breakfast basis. The rooms were lovely and had plenty character, however did lack tea and coffee making facilities which was an inconvenience as there was no room service or other means of getting a drink after the restaurant closed. On some occasions this was before 10.00 pm. The Borgo is well away from other restaurants and the use of a car is essential.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed in charming 2 bedroom cottage on this property during good friends' Tuscan wedding celebrations (2011). Amazing location and family owners, and the manager Catia was supremely helpful. Some of our best memories from this trip, with Castelvecchio really making it a phenomenal experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We recently stayed here whilst in the area for a wedding. The property is delightful but one must be prepared to not have usual guest services. We arrived at about 2.30pm and the guest check in did not open until 3pm. Catia was very helpful and showed us our room in the main house. There was a complimentary bottle of wine and 2 small bottles of water in the mini bar ( which was actually cold!). The bed was a decent size although creaked a little! The bathroom was big and had a gret view from the loo! The borgo is about 15-20 mins drive from pienza. Be warned that the website directions are vague & sat nav is set to take you to an inaccessible entrance.
There is a great main pool with loungers and towels are supplied. In the hot weather we really wanted cold drinks so get prepared and buy them before you arrive as there is no facility for this. There is a main road down the valley which passes the borgo and you can hear the occasional traffic/ speeding motorbikes. Argo the house terrier welcomes you through the door when you come back from your day trips in the area. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank therealthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The ambience and surrounding of this place is very nice!
Although I wish the beds were more comfortable, showers work great with hot water, and the rooms are clean.
Simone and Allen, the owners welcome you warmly, and their mascot dog is soooo cute!
Food is absolutely delicious!
Nice place to visit with family!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pineappleprincess92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: area fantastica gestita con intelligenza e civiltà, senza disturbi rumorosi nelle ore di riposo,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pensionatogaudente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mejor buscar otro sitio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoDiCastelvecchio, Proprietario at Borgo di Castelvecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contignano
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Passalacqua
Agriturismo Passalacqua
#3 of 3 in Castiglione D'Orcia
30 reviews
16.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Fattoria Bellandi
La Fattoria Bellandi
#2 of 2 in Contignano
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Podere San Giorgio
Podere San Giorgio
#1 of 3 in Radicofani
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Montalla Agriturismo
La Montalla Agriturismo
#1 of 2 in Contignano
48 reviews
8.2 mi away
Fattoria La Palazzina
Fattoria La Palazzina
#2 of 3 in Radicofani
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo di Castelvecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Castelvecchio

Address: Loc. Castelvecchio, 53040 Contignano, Radicofani, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radicofani > Contignano
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Contignano
Price Range: £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo di Castelvecchio 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Castelvecchio Italy/Contignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing