We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

A previous reviewer has commented on the new owners being in the process of updating the Hotel. it has a touch of faded grandure about it but our room was clean and comfortable .My wife and I stayed here with friends for a mid week break in early December 2012 in the midst of a snow storm. Staff were wonderful, very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. Food excellent and staff went out of their way to meet our special dietary requirements. Beautiful setting. Hope to go back and stay when the weather is better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClinchFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    154
    69
    32
    20
See reviews for
101
296
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

New owners are in the process of improving this hotel. Our room in the courtyard was a bit dated but clean, comfortable & warm on a very cold break! The staff, service and food were all excellent. This is a classic country house hotel in a beautiful, peaceful setting. Would definitely recommend it to those who enjoy walking/biking & exploring the countryside. Worth returning to & a very good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabbyhill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We have stayed at Hackness Grange on several occasions and will definitely go back again if the prices are kept competitive. The main building bedrooms were being refurbished during our stay so we were in the courtyard which was fine by us as it is very quiet. There are new LCD TVs with a good choice of Freeview channels. There is WiFi in the main hotel which was a bonus as not seen it advertised. Food very good as always and lots of choices for me as I am Gluten Free. Always good to see the same Staff who are always friendly and helpful. Although it was cold & frosty outside it was lovely and warm in the lounge with the open log fire roaring away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetNewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We arrived in a rainstorm, and left driving through floods, but while in the hotel, we were warm, dry and content!
Our room (double in the main house) had windows to the front and side of the house, overlooking the little lake. It was comfortable and attractively decorated, but a bit awkward to plug a hair drier in by the dressing table (socket on the wall behind the table), and later we had to get out of bed to turn the lights off as there was no bed-side switch.
The bathroom was a bit odd. It looked like it was in the process of being re-furbished, with new tiles and surfaces on top of an old basin unit. The bath was very kitsch: doubled ended and up a couple of steps, with frilled shower curtains that drew from either end! The shower was very powerful, and there was plenty of space for shampoo etc bottles. The room was lovely and warm
As the rain showed no sign of easing, we took our newspapers to the lounge and had tea in front of a blazing fire, served by a very pleasant waiter. Later, dinner was very good. I was feeling a bit under the weather and didn't want too heavy a meal, so the chef cooked me the chicken without the advertised cream and peppercorn sauce. The chicken was delicious and moist. My partner enjoyed his more substantial braised beef very much as well.
Breakfast was good, and again attentively served.
If we have a trip next year up to the area, we would certainly stay again and explore the valley more thoroughly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just returned from a short snowy break at Hackness grange. Staff are so friendly and accommodating, food was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble .Excellent value for money and look forward to returning in the spring with hopefully warmer weather.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Really not a lot else one can say. Food brilliant (both breakfast and dinner), service brilliant, setting brilliant and staff brilliant. Even the price was brilliant!! A wonderful place to go to spend a couple of days away. Close to Scarborough and Whitby and, of course, the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

A hotel in a beautiful setting with excellent & friendly staff. The food was delicious & we will certainly be back. Thank you to all the staff ( especially Chris ) for a lovely winter break. Good luck to the new owner & all his staff in your new venture you deserve all the success.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.3 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing