We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheryl & Davids treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheryl & Davids treat”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Hackness Grange. We both enjoyed a lovely relaxed weekend being superbly looked after by the excellent staff and the manager of this beautiful hotel. The food was beautifully presented in a wonderful dinning room. We couldn't have asked for anything more.
The bedroom was spotless, warm and a very cosy bed. Would definitely like to try a lake view room on our next visit. Which hopefully we won't have to wait too long for.
Good luck for the future to the new owners of this impressive hotel, set in the most wonderful grounds.
The peace and quiet was most welcome, and great not to have a mobile signal. After all that's what a proper weekend away should be. Peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 870cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    162
    77
    33
    22
See reviews for
115
311
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed with my husband after seeing it last year while staying at a different hotel and it looked ok and pictures looked good. However we left feeling very disappointed, the hotel is dated, the room was ok but cold. Theres no phone signal so had to speak to family while we where out or try and find some signal in the grounds, but that is hard in the dark. The hotel seems to be getting done up and thats maybe why hardly anybody was staying. We also felt although the staff where fine there wasnt enough of them. We have stayed at a few hotels in and around scarborough other the years and considering the price we payed for things feel they could do more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 244bluesun244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you feel dissapointed about your stay. Unfortunately not knowing who you are / when or which room you stayed in makes it very difficult to make any sort of informed reply on your comments.

I am unable to do anything about phone signals. This needs to be brought to the attention of your own network provider to boost their signals to rural areas. We do have telephones in the rooms which you could have used.

We have had very adverse weather conditions this year, and being a period Georgian building it is difficult to battle the elements. We keep a 'stock' of portable oil radiators and blankets should guests feel cold.

You say "hardly anyone staying" followed by saying there were not enough staff. It is difficult to comment on this as yes, there are occassions when there are few people in. This can be due to many reasons, from including the weather, time of year, local events and the like. We will however keep on the appropriate number of staff for the number of guests that we have in house to ensure the guests are looked after.
.
Finally, you comment that the hotel is dated. We have carried out the refurbishment of the hotel in period Georgian furniture and have not chosen to go the route of modern/boutique. The majority of our guests prefer we keep to the traditional feel of a country house hotel. I do understand however that it is not to everyone's taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just back from a 4 day break at hackness grange , a great hotel , great staff , geat food

no mobile phone signal, good to have dinner without anyone on a mobile all hotels should

have this feature,open fires in bar etc, i stay at a lot of hotels in my work and pay a lot

more money that this hotel , and nowhere near as good as this, will come back later this year

doug&joy

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this country hotel , Well appointed and comfortably furnished,The public rooms in keeping with the house period, the dining room with good atmosphere and furnishings.Bedrooms comfortable and well equiped.
Food was excellent in choice, quality and presentation.Staff friendly and helpful. The general manager particularly efficient and friendly.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in North Yorkshire.
New ownership working hard with this venue.

Room Tip: Main house rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We met another couple here for a two night travelzoo offer. It was a time of thick snow on the ground coupled with torrential rain. Overall we had a good stay with a generous and warm room, our friends accomodated next door, good enjoyable and generous food with a different menu the second night, wood fires in the main hotel to sit by etc. Close to Scarborough where we spent an enjoyable day despite the weather!
But we all four felt independently they weren't going that extra mile, although it was difficult to put your finger on it, and I see from other comments that new owners are working to improve the hotel. We couldn't contact reception on the phone because the instructions on it and in the hotel guide were wrong which would be a problem in an emergency and no one seamed concerned, there was unadvertised excellent free WiFi in the main building but you had to ask, and especially; on arrival in torrential rain and snow on the ground we got into reception with our cases to be told we would have to go back out and make our way to the courtyard. The path was dark, unlit, and the paving was up and down all over the place. We were not offered help, no umbrellas were provided, it was dangerous and we got very wet. We discover later that we could have gone half way through the hotel and avoided the path. There was virtually no one in the hotel and we wondered why they didn't accomodate us in the hotel. The outside lighting was on next night.
The Hotel has a lovely setting and we would consider a visit in better weather.

Room Tip: Avoid annex in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogeratHackness, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your comments and firstly I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are making improvements throughout the various areas of the hotel from the grounds work, common areas and bedrooms decoration/refurbishment.

Just to follow up on a few of your comments; the hotel phone system was upgraded consequently resulting in a few number changes which, as you rightly pointed out, left the room guide as being incorrect. When I was informed of this I immediately had it updated.

Wifi is advertised as being available in the main house on various booking sites and our site, but I have taken on board what you have said and now highlight it at the reception desk as being available.

I have reminded reception that when explaining how to walk to the Courtyard Rooms to ensure that both routes (through the hotel as well as the outside route) are mentioned.

Ordinarily the lighting in the Courtyard is on a timer, that said, we had been updating the electrical and wiring system throughout the Courtyard which may have knocked out of sync the timing switch for your first night. As you pointed it, it was working correctly the next night.

Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have umbrella's, though I believe in years gone by they used too. However many ended up 'disappearing' and so it was deemed being no longer viable to keep this going. Incidentally I did look at applying for planning permission to put up a covered walkway to the Courtyard Rooms, however I was advised that this would be refused.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Have not stayed for a few years but decided to try it again.Lovely setting and grounds- super staff especially at breakfast. The food was excellent and it was great value for money. I hope they continue to do well under new ownership.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fountain-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

2 night stay on a travel zoo voucher. This hotel is as it says a country house hotel with large original draped curtain windows. No lift. All is very clean and staff pleasant. Breakfast and dinner was waiter served and very good. Asked for fruit at breakfast and it arrived. It is having the care put back into the inside and the garden. It is about 7 miles from Scarborough in a quiet peaceful setting with a lake. Rooms are available in the courtyard as well as the main house. We had room 4 and the view was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackness
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,878 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,548 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
898 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
97 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackness Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Hackness | Hackness, Hackness, Scarborough YO13 0JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Hackness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hackness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hackness Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Country House Hotel in Scarborough is set in acres of private grounds on the edge of the North York Moors National Park. Surrounded by woodland and overlooking its own tranquil lake, Hackness Grange Country House Hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Hackness Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hackness Grange Hotel
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing